Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Glorious!
When Natalie Imbruglia burst onto the music scene in 1997, many critics were quick to write her off as another generic soap star-turned-pop star, expecting her just to fade into obscurity after an album or two. Ten years later, Natalie has exceeded everyone's expectations and is releasing the first collection of her hit singles entitled `Glorious: The Singles -...
Published on 16 Sep 2007 by Mr. M. E. Longley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not a bad cd...
I bought it as I like three or four of her well- known hits, and for those alone I was not disappointed...
Published 3 months ago by ian mcvicar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Glorious!, 16 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. M. E. Longley "mikylongley" (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
When Natalie Imbruglia burst onto the music scene in 1997, many critics were quick to write her off as another generic soap star-turned-pop star, expecting her just to fade into obscurity after an album or two. Ten years later, Natalie has exceeded everyone's expectations and is releasing the first collection of her hit singles entitled `Glorious: The Singles - 1997-2007'. Additionally, Natalie has included five new tracks, including new single `Glorious' as a taster of what is to follow. Here's a brief review of every track.

1. Glorious (23): The lead single from this collection. Very upbeat and summery, lovely breezy guitar riffs and even mentions London's `Frith Street'. One of Natalie's best single releases - 9/10

2. Counting Down The Days (23): The second single to be released of Natalie's third album of the same name. A haunting track about being far away from one's love. Chimes are thrown in towards the end which add a certain charm and there's a slightly odd whale noise throughout the song - 7/10

3. Torn (2) - Natalie's debut single and the most successful release of her career. A very angst-y track with soaring guitars and is among Natalie's best releases 9/10

4. Wrong Impression (10) - The second and most successful single from Natalie second album `White Lilies Island'. Again, a very sunny and upbeat track with fast-paced, twangy guitars, reminiscent of The Sunday's - 9/10

5. Smoke (5) - The forth release from Natalie's debut. A heart wrenching song about domestic violence (?). Here we see Natalie experimenting with electronica and showing us that she really can write brilliant pop songs and sing! 8/10

6. Shiver (8) - Natalie's `comeback' song and the biggest UK airplay hit of 2005. An insanely catchy soft rock tune that I'm sure we all will know. Definitely one of the highlights of Natalie's career - 9/10

7. Wishing I Was There (8) - The third single from Natalie's debut. A very rocky and catchy track which just screams late 90's! Arguably Natalie's most impressive early release - 10/10

8. That Day (11) - The lead single from Natalie's sophomore release. A beautiful rock-tinged song with fast-paced guitars and impressive drum work. Lyrically, this is one of Natalie's finest moments with references to depression and coming out of it - 9/10

9. Big Mistake (2) - The second single to be lifted from Natalie's debut. Another angst-ridden track about an unfaithful partner asking for forgiveness. This one builds up nicely with mid tempo verses and a huge angry chorus, eventually climaxing and leaving the listener quite satisfied indeed. Another great release - 9/10

10. Beauty On The Fire (26) - The third and final release off Natalie's least successful album, White Lilies Island. Arguably Natalie's most experimental single, combining pop, rock and electronica. Smooth angst-y verses are coupled with a sun-drenched soaring chorus and the most impressive middle-8 to create, what is known to many as the best (and most underrated) Natalie single -10/10

11. Be With You - An unusual track for Natalie. This one has a thumping baseline which carries the song. Paired with some delightful piano work, this is one of the best non-single tracks on the CD - 8/10

12. Amelia - Another impressive non-single track and is very reminiscent of `Honeycomb Child' from the `Counting Down The Days' album. A very mellow and sweet track which is nice to chill to -8/10

13. Against The Wall - The heaviest non-single track on the album. Not much to say about this one other than the fact that it makes for a decent album track - 7/10

14. Stuck On The Moon - Another piano-driven downtempo track. Natalie always produces lovely ballads and this one is no exception. A highlight amongst the new tracks - 8/10

STANDOUT TRACKS: Beauty On The Fire, Wishing I Was There, Glorious, Torn, Shiver

To conclude, as you can see I rate this CD very highly, which is a label I do not give to many albums. There is honestly not a bad track on the entire CD and if you are thinking of purchasing this release, just go for it. This is certainly one of the best hits collections out there and I look forward to hearing much more of Ms. Imbruglia in the future. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music, 21 Aug 2007
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of songs. I've been listening to Natalie's music since she released her first track.. Her music is written very well and she clearly puts a lot of time into her albums. She hasn't released many but it's all about quality not quantity with Natalie.

All my favourites are here, Smoke, Big mistake, That day................................

And there are even new tracks on here. We need more artists like Natalie.
First rate brilliance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Underrated, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
Natalie Imbruglia has to be one of the most underrated female artists of the last 15 or so years. Granted, she doesn't have a huge back catalogue (four years between each album is pretty much the norm) but every album she has released since 1997 has been consistently strong and engaging. This compilation album, Natalie's first, gives the listener a nice overview of all her singles up to 2007, my favourites being Smoke, Beauty on the Fire, Wishing I Was There, Torn, Wrong Impression and Shiver. The five new tracks are great, especially Glorious and Be With You. My only complaint, and it really is a minor one, is the collection could have done with a little padding out by adding some rarities and b-sides, tracks like Contradictions, Only You, Broken Thread and Troubled by the Way We Came Together. It would have also been nice if the fan favourite Identify had been included on all editions of the album and not just as a bonus track on some editions. This is a great starting point for an incredibly underappreciated artist, just make sure you check out her four studio albums if you haven't already as some of her best songs were never released as singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not a bad cd..., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
I bought it as I like three or four of her well- known hits, and for those alone I was not disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marry me, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Thomas Edward Alexander Moore (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
I've loved this girl since the glorious neighbours days. To me she is perfect and I would marry her tomorrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As a fan what other score is possible, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
When you buy a CD it is generally because you like the artist. It is highly unlikely I'd rate any CD I bought as less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
If you haven't got the individual albums then this compilation is a good selection of her songs/hits.
However the only downside was the booklet was incomplete with the words for the songs - only number 1 then songs 11 to 14 - appears it was a printing issue. The CD has been withdrawn from sale until it is rectified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
I bought this best of for my niece as I love Natalie Imbruglia and wanted her to discover her music but although some of her big hits are included I was a bit disappointed that there were not more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
the very talented ms Imbruglia has a great voice and the songs are just right for a nice relaxing summer afternoon with a beer in your hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Talented lady!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glorious: The Singles 97-07 (Audio CD)
I remember Natalie bursting on to the scene in the 90's. Love Torn from the album. I think there are a mix of strong tracks with others not quite as good. I can only wonder why she is not such a big hit nowadays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glorious: The Singles 97-07
Glorious: The Singles 97-07 by Natalie Imbruglia (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews