Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shazam and Move
After 10 years of finding and locating the lost master and multi-track tapes the Move are back better sounding then ever!It was to utter amazement that there is a review moaning of clipping.I have looked at the wave in soundforge and there are no clipped waves at all!No sign of compression to create those horrid loud distorted CD's which are mostly done these days.I have...
Published on 14 Sep 2007 by A Footman

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Which idiot hit maximise?
This was a great album on vinyl, unfortunately some twit has tried to improve it. Better than nothing, but the sound is not good - boomy and spacey.
Published on 31 Dec 2008 by SDH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shazam and Move, 14 Sep 2007
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
After 10 years of finding and locating the lost master and multi-track tapes the Move are back better sounding then ever!It was to utter amazement that there is a review moaning of clipping.I have looked at the wave in soundforge and there are no clipped waves at all!No sign of compression to create those horrid loud distorted CD's which are mostly done these days.I have compared these remasters to the original lp's that i own and have converted to cdr from a audiophile turntable.Even removing the clicks and pops with professional software.The remastered CD's sound better by far.I cannot see how anyone can say the Movements set is better it really sounds horrid.I would recommend you visit the FTM site and hear the mp3 previews of all the tracks on these remasters for yourselves.Even in MP3 mode they sound great.The CD's sound fantastic.Rest assured these are the best sounding CD's of the early Move you will have heard!The bonus songs are great and the new stereo mix's really are something else.Also you will have access from the CD's to 5 songs on the web that you can download!All in all bargain and well worth the long wait!
Andrew Footman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one disc!, 15 Sep 2007
By 
The Tedster (West Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
Information on Amazon describing this as a 2 disc edition is incorrect. It is one disc with bonus tracks. The remastering is excellent, and the Busher review below which only gives it 2 stars is actually a review for the first album 'Move', so you can ignore it! Pricing seems a little erratic too; on Amazon the 2 disc first album costs considerably less than the single disc Shazam! Both should be bought by connoisseurs of 60's pop and proto psychedelia. Where on earth was the 'Yellow Rainbow' leading us to?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Kapow! Bam! Holy Late Sixties Rock with Prog Undertones Batman!', 15 July 2008
By 
Iain (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
Yes, i like the super hero cover to this overlooked classic from the Brummie quartet. With only six songs on the album and with rock bands of the era in general getting more indulgent and less creative (it was very much longer tracks, deeper grooves and wider trousers at this point in rock history folks) you may approach with caution. But crucially, the Move haven't forsaken their melodic nous and if this album does mask a writer's block on the part of Roy Wood (3 cover versions and a retread of 'Cherry Blossom Clinic' complete with extended classical coda that conjures up images of Nigel Tuffnel's guitar heroics) the results are still worth hearing.
Highlights include 'Beautiful Daughter' which features my favourite Carl Wayne lead vocal and an epic take on Tom Paxton's 'The Last Thing On My Mind'. Opening track 'Hello Susie' sounds like something Oasis would put out now - actually the bonus track 'A Certain Something' has a string arrangement by Tony Visconti that i'm sure 'inspired' the Oasis track 'Whatever'.
Other bonus tracks include 'Curly', a kind of folk/bubblegum crossover and 'Wild Tiger Woman' which nails Queen's modus operandi a couple of years before they formed (the track is about a femme fatale and sounds like a forerunner to 'Killer Queen'). The cherry on the cake to top things off is a slightly different mix of the hit single 'Blackberry Way'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar, 20 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
Greetings from the states. Man, I almost missed out on this release listening to that knucklehead reviewing the wrong disc. As a kid in America, thanks to Rolling Stone, I bought Shazam, partly because it was on A&M, a label (formerly) known for its quality and adventurous spirit. Stateside, Shazam did zilch, but not in my household. I've been buying CD versions (japanese and reissues) out of love ever since. Finally a friend of mine put me straight, and when I cracked this version open, I was stunned by the quality. While I'm as bored as the rest of you buying and rebuying classic favorites, this one is nestled near the top of the list. The drums sounds, guitars, and vocals are amazing. The liner notes are informative. It's a miracle the music didn't reflect the flux that was happening inside of the band. BTW, I've always wondered, on "Fields of People," who Carl Wayne is talking to and laughing with. I won't spoil it for you because the answer lies within. Thanks to this label (who also released the JD Souther comp) for doing such a loving job of reissuing Shazam. And, once again, don't listen to that yabbo who has his head up his you-know-what raving about compression. I believe another keen reviewer put him straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Moving!, 24 Nov 2006
By 
A. Jackson "DVFM" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
"Shazam" is a glorious mess! That's a good thing.

Over-produced and muddily-mixed, this 1970 offering from The Move will possibly blow up your speakers!

The original album boasted just six tracks, the first three by Roy Wood. Wood is a pop genius. Here he can boast stadium rock ("Hello Susie"), McCartney-esque balladry ("Beautiful Daughter") and power pop ("Cherry Blossom Clinic Revisited"). Coupled with fine covers of "Fields Of People" (country hard pop!), "The Last Thing On My Mind" (psychedelia) and "Don't Make My Baby Blue" (all out heavy metal) - it all makes "Shazam" a very fine rock album indeed.

Interspread between the tracks are spoken vignettes with the general public which, although making very little sense, give a seemlessness to the proceedings.

As "Shazam" was released, vocalist Carl Wayne left to be replaced by a certain Jeff Lynne. But The Move never sounded as wired as they did here again. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs another Oasis album - 'SHAZAM' is back, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Kevin Kunreuther (Dallas TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
The other vinyl album tucked away in the Gallagher brothers LP collection that ISN'T a Beatles record and probably the real influence behind such Oasis concert staples as "Wonderwall" and "Champagne Supernova", The Move's long lost but sadly neglected classic 'SHAZAM' is back.
Perhaps one of the most long awaited and stellar remasters released this year, The Move's long lost and fully restored masterpiece returns to the shelves for a new generation of fans, a sonic smorgasboard of late sixties Brit brand turbine-powered pop, gargantuan sludge metal crunch, take-your-breath-away-oh-so-pretty balladry, ethereal psych-a-delicate classical folk guitar rock wizardry, a raga rock passage Concorded in from the Monterey Pop Festival, and loads and loads of beery good natured Brummy humour, as an identifiable a Move trademark as its big brown purple shake-your-ass-down-to-your-soul bass guitar. Lovingly restored, with a great collection of period photos and knowledgable entertaining essays, this also includes wonderful restored and remastered bonus tracks and alternate takes, such as the number one hit, Blackberry Way and the sexy rocking careening but criminally-neglected should-have-been hit Wild Tiger Woman. A geezer can't go wrong, here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic start to a genuinely exciting reissue series, 5 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
What can I say? Reissues may come and go featuring The Move, but none have ever been treated as well as the first two albums recently issued. I must own most CDs that have ever come out by the band over the years, and this is the first time that the sound on straight remasters has sounded so good, let alone the tracks which have been remixed to stereo after all these years.

If all goes to plan, the further album reissues, the double BBC set, and four CD anthology style box set (now due in February 2008 I hear from a good friend) shall all be a joy to behold and should fill all the holes in the band's past.

Truly remarkable. Go buy, you know you need to. Even if you have the albums already, the bonus tracks alone are worth it - and there are links to more unreleased tracks on a special area website (FIVE more tracks available there to buyers of both the first two albums, as I write this review).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good music, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
i bought this cd for my husband and he is happy with this and brought back memorys playing the cd delivery was quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THAT DIFFICULT SECOND ALBUM, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
Shazam sees The Move, not only in a transitional phase, but also pulling in two different directions at once. The original LP saw side one dominated by three original Roy Wood compositions, with a heavier edge and/or `proggier' touch than the recent hit singles displayed. Side two, on the other hand, was a showcase for Carl Wayne, who dominated the three lengthy cover versions, almost as if they were a demo for his up and coming cabaret career. Having said that, all the music here is beautifully crafted and performed, and even the cover versions have been adapted to the band's then style. `Cherry Blossom Clinic', an extensive reworking of an older song, is the standout track, and points the way towards the follow-up `Looking On' album. As it happens, being given one side of an album was not enough for him, and Carl Wayne `moved on' shortly after Shazam, to sing the theme song to `New Faces' and set up home with `Miss Diane' from Crossroads. He would subsequently be replaced by Jeff Lynne and, as they say, the rest is history. The reproduction on this reissue CD is wonderfully bright (I could hear things I'd never noticed before), and the extra tracks are interesting, if not actually essential. A fine addition to any collection, even if `Shazam' is merely the third best of the Move's four albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Juicy Slice of Pop History, 6 Aug 2002
This review is from: Shazam (Audio CD)
Mix near-equal quantities of pop and pop-rock, add a cup of hard rock, some jam, stir artfully and let simmer for a touch over 30 years. The result will be a juicy pie full of the unique flavors of late-60s/early-70s eclectic music. "Shazam" from The Move may not be a "must have" addition to your vintage collection banquet, but it's a tasty item that deserves a place on the table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shazam
Shazam by The Move (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews