Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKIN' ROLLERS!!! BUY, BUY, BABY!
As a long-time avid fan of the Rollers, I can tell you that this is the real deal.....Original recordings, exceptionally well-produced, and the packaging is first-rate! This set includes some hard to find tracks as well! This is one of the BEST Bay City Rollers collections I've ever seen or heard! What a bargain! A MUST-HAVE for all Rollers fans! We can only wish that...
Published on 1 Oct. 2009 by John P. Pripusich

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another opportunity missed!
When I first heard of this release, I thought, "a DOUBLE Rollers CD - Finally!" Thinking the band's unfairly less celebrated output (i.e. self-penned album tracks) would at long last be given its day in the court of public opinion, I hoped this CD would be the one I could proudly give to family and friends for Christmas. Not so, though.
Yet again have compilers of...
Published on 31 Oct. 2007 by H. Jonsson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKIN' ROLLERS!!! BUY, BUY, BABY!, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
John P. Pripusich "Jack P." (Glen Ellyn, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Give A Little Love: The Best Of (Audio CD)
As a long-time avid fan of the Rollers, I can tell you that this is the real deal.....Original recordings, exceptionally well-produced, and the packaging is first-rate! This set includes some hard to find tracks as well! This is one of the BEST Bay City Rollers collections I've ever seen or heard! What a bargain! A MUST-HAVE for all Rollers fans! We can only wish that great-sounding, fun pop/rock like this were on the air more often today! BUY, BUY, BABY!
"Les, Alan, Derek, Eric, and Woody....Thanks for the great music...This is a 5-star GOODIE"!
(Once again, I must mention a nit-pik. NOT about the CD's...but about packaging. Lots of 2-CD sets (alas, including this one) have the CD's locked into the center spindle so tightly, you need to be really careful removing them, for fear they might break or crack, and it's an unfortunate chore! Be patient and really cautious here...It's 10 times worth it once you get to play this terrific set! Now, put on your tartan and stripey socks, crank the volume up to 11, and Enjoy!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another opportunity missed!, 31 Oct. 2007
By 
H. Jonsson "Tuesday's child" (Nowhere, someplace) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give A Little Love: The Best Of (Audio CD)
When I first heard of this release, I thought, "a DOUBLE Rollers CD - Finally!" Thinking the band's unfairly less celebrated output (i.e. self-penned album tracks) would at long last be given its day in the court of public opinion, I hoped this CD would be the one I could proudly give to family and friends for Christmas. Not so, though.
Yet again have compilers of BCR CD's fallen into the trap of being lazy and pre-judgemental and picking mostly the Rollers' covers of well-known classics ("Be My Baby", "Rebel Rebel") in favour of the original group material.
In spite of this, I did rejoice, however briefly, in that the compilers should choose to include early single sides "Manana" and "We Can Make Music" (both flops at the time, now on CD for the first time) only to discover that the latter track isn't included at all on this CD! Inexplicably, 1975 B-side "She'll Be Crying Over You" is in its place, so the track listing amazon has up isn't entirely accurate.
The other problems I have with this release are numerous. One being that original U.K. single versions of a couple of songs ("Give a Little Love", "Summerlove Sensation") are excluded in favour of later, string-laden versions made for the American market.
Another strange omission from this compilation is the song "Dedication", which is very conspicious by its absence here as the only Rollers U.K. or U.S. hit single which is omitted. Finally when songs such as "Don't Let the Music Die" (a big hit in Japan) and "Don't Worry Baby" (an Australian hit) are included, this stupid mistake is made! ((And, on the same note, when and where will the extended "Don't Stop the Music" - a sizable 1977 Canadian and German hit - EVER make its CD appearance?!))
Meanwhile, a couple of the Rollers' worst covers ever get their upteenth airing on a compilation such as this. Bacarach-Hilliard's "Please Stay" (a Drifters Doo-Woppy original, although the Rollers version is aching to sound more like the Crying Shames' wonderful Joe Meek production, but misses by miles) and Bowie's "Rebel Rebel" (I got what Eric Faulkner meant by this in 1977 - he wanted to be taken seriously as a "real" musician - but 30 years on this is just painful) are not good examples of how the Rollers could take a classic pop song and make it their own - for that we have "Bye Bye Baby" and "I Only Want to be With You".
The real shame here, though, is that these things are chosen in favour of excellent album tracks of both diversity and depth ("Inside a Broken Dream", "Wouldn't You Like it", "La Belle Jeane", "Strangers in the Wind").
However, other more than decent but rarely compiled covers like the Beach Boys' aforementioned "Don't Worry Baby" and the Raspberries' "Let's Pretend" (which actually betters the original, no less) do get their chance, and that should be applauded.
Nonetheless, as someone once said, too much filler, not enough killer. And, as I previosly said, another opportunity missed.
Well, maybe next time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tartan gang, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give A Little Love: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Its got all the hits great little pop songs. 2 cds great value. Brings back teenage memories . It also has some lesser known tracks but still good pop songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best rollers album ever, 8 Sept. 2009
By 
Mrs. L. J. Thomas "lillian 61" (Portland, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Give A Little Love: The Best Of (Audio CD)
A brilliant album put together of the Bay City Rollers, on disc one all the hits, and on disc two a selection of album tracks/b sides, well worth the money, lots of memories of the 70s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Give A Little Love: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Bought for a childhood memory like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give A Little Love: The Best Of (Audio CD)
great cd brings back lots of memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Bryan J. A. Smith (stafford england great britan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give A Little Love: The Best Of (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give A Little Love: The Best Of
Give A Little Love: The Best Of by Bay City Rollers (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews