Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
78
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 October 2007
KRULL of course can not be compared to LOTR, EXCALIBUR or CONAN THE BARBARIAN, but it is a very watchable and quite honest fantasy movie (and there is not a lot of good quality productions in this field).

The story is about the planet Krull where humans reached Middle Age level of development, with some magic involved here and there. Suddenly, one day, an alien spaceship arrives and its one and only crew member, known simply as The Beast, sends his offsprings/soldiers/slaves, half-intelligent Slayers to conquer the planet. Faced with certain destruction two rival kings, rulers of the main powers on Krull, decide to unite their forces by marrying their children and then abdicating. By creating one united empire they hope to be able to face the army of Slayers and other monsters the Beast creates. Unfortunately, The Beast has other plans - and the wedding will be a very tragic one. All of this is just the very beginning of the film...

KRULL is well paced, full of adventures, quite spectacular visually and is reasonably well interpreted. Ken Marshall, whose promising career somehow stopped in the middle of the 80s gives here a very honest performance as Crown Prince Colwyn. Alun Armstrong plays here Torquil the Bandit Leader, who helps Colwyn in his quest - and he really finds here a role right for him and especially for his face... Liam Neeson, who in this time was in the early stages of career, plays another bandit, knife playing Kegan who is Torquil's right hand.

There are many interesting ideas in this movie, which nobody found before and which were not used since. The greatest finding of all was to make the Black Mountain mobile - the main citadel of The Beast is his old giant spaceship, which has the shape of a dark mountain, and which vanishes every day during the sunset, to reappear in a totally different place on the planet. It presents to the heroes a very unique problem - they are all willing and ready to face the villain, the problem is they simply never know where the heck he will be next morning...

Another good finding are the Slayers. We do not know exactly what are they, but it seems they do not have a mind of their own and they certainly never speak. It looks like they are a kind of biological robots, with a part of Beast's living flesh as their hard drive, heart and brain in the same time. They certainly are dangerous - they climb walls, they walk under water and they shoot some primitive energy weapons (one shot per weapon - and clearly they can not reload out of their fortress) before going to close combat with wide blade short spears. There are also some other nice ideas in this movie, but you desserve to discover them by yourself.

All in all, this is a very honest and very watchable fantasy movie, now a little forgotten but worth (re)discovering. Not exactly a masterpiece but a very nice watch.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2000
I first saw this film as a wee, ankle-biting nipper, hot as it was on the heels of such sci-fi epics as Star Wars and Battlestar Galactica. This tale delved very much more into the territory of sword and sorcery, immersing you in the story of Colwyn as he seeks to save his girl from the "Beast", an interstellar-travelling, Stalinesque villain. The special effects may look dated when compared to the more modern day oeuvre, but you'll marvel at the bad 80s hair, Lysette Anthony's overdub, the early performances of pre-Qui-Gon Liam Nesson and EastEnders' Mark Fowler, and the fact that Bernard Bresslaw can play anything other than Sid James's sidekick. Freddie Jones also turns in a fantastic performance as Colwyn's Obi-Wan Kenobi style advisor, so you'd be mad to miss it! It also takes a much darker tone than many other space-based dramas, so watch out for a few surprises at the end.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Old and dated fantasy classic!Like other reviewers state this will play on uk bluray players if you have a top menu or title menu on your remote.Just hit title menu after it tells you its not region compatible and play from main menu.As for the film yes its cheesy and dated but still holds a charm if you like fantasy and magic films.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Just inform any potential fans of Krull that this newly released Blu ray from US label Mill Creek is indeed locked to region A meaning that it will only play on multi region players. However i have found a way to get around this lock and if your UK Blu ray machine has a Top Menu button on the remote so could you. The trick is when the wrong region message appears on your screen simply press the Top Menu button and like magic the Blu ray jumps straight to the menu where you can proceed to watch the film. I'm not saying it will work on all players but was fine with my region B only Panasonic BD80. If your a fan of krull the Blu ray is worth a look considering how cheap it is here on Amazon. The Blu ray is a no frills release in terms of extras and packaging but the transfer is suprisingly strong. The image is presented in full HD 1080p in its correct aspect ratio (2.40:1) and features a nicely defined hi-def experience with good detail, black levels and contrast. The sound too gets the HD upgrade and is presented here in DTS-HD Master 5.1 and as with the visuals is a good upgrade. Action and music sound very robust given the age of the movie and the cheapness of this Blu ray. Battle scenes pack a punch and while these will never sound like a modern movie its certainly the best I have ever heard Krull sound.
Recommend to fans
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2002
This is a movie from the good old days when effects weren't considered to be the be-all and end-all of a good action film.
The film is good fun, and the heroes are likeable. This is one where you'll be supporting the good guys throughout.
The various challenges that the protagonists face throughout also add to the fact that this is more than just a no-brainer action movie.
A fair few good guys get wasted along the way which is nice to see every now and then as it brings a bit of darkness to the film and provokes different emotions depending on who goes.
Although when the Prince fights the 'end-boss' it ends up a little cheesy (you'll know when you watch), you'll still be satisfied as to the outcome at the movie's conclusion.
The plot, acting and even the dated effects are all good and set this film in the right frame as one of the best fantasy films so far alongside Willow (although it can't touch The Lord Of The Rings, which no other fantasy film can do anyway.) .
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Firstly, although this is a US import region A it played fine on my UK Blu Ray player. The message comes up about not being compatible, but when this appears just press the disc menu button - this takes you to the play movie screen. So the film has a wide range of reviews from 1 to 5. I think this depends on whether you saw the film on it's release all those years ago. At the time we were all busy playing Dungeons & Dragons or reading Fighting Fantasy books, and this film played into all of this perfectly. I watched this film with a sense of nostalgia I suppose but it still is a perfectly good example of the genre. To those much younger, I guess they would not see it the same way, maybe you had to be there?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Took a gamble on this region A blu-ray import and it actually plays no trouble on my ps3, so its region free! Hurray

A menu comes up saying this isn't compatible for your region but if you press the ' top menu ' button on your remote (or square button on ps3/ps4) it goes through to the actual menu which lets you play the movie fine! :)

Its a very very bare bones release : it has no chapter select, no subtitles and no extras but im just happy to have it on blu-ray as its actually a really good transfer :)

If you also have the dvd, you could pick up one of the 2 disc 11mm amaray bluray cases off ebay maybe (costs about £1.50~) , and put it in the same case with the blu-ray if you wanted keep it for the extras n stuff that the DVD has.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
I remember seeing this movie in the cinema when I was in my 40s and loving it as I was then and still am a big kid. I have to say I am not disappointed with this purchase it is as good as I remember. The transfer to Blu-ray is much better than more recently made movies I have bought, the picture and sound quality cannot be faulted.I rate this movie A1 for kids of all ages. I do however have two gripes, [one] there are no special features like there are on the DVD version, [two] regretfully it is region A locked. I do however have a multi region blu-ray player, but many people do not. It annoys me that in this day and age they have not gotten round to making all DVD and Blu-ray player region free, I personally think that they should.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Plays fine if you ignore the "Wrong Region" message -- thanks for the tip from a couple of other reviewers.

Love this bit of cheesy 80s fantasy tat. The disc is as vanilla as can be but the picture and sound are fine and the price is buttons so it's a no-brainer if you're not a special feature addict.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Innocent and unpretentious early 80s fantasy adventure. Beautifully filmed and well made. A bit cheesy and a bit corny in places but as long as you recognize it for what it is which is a family fantasy adventure then it is well worth a watch over an Easter weekend or the Christmas period/holidays.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse