Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm, wishful and sophisticated
This is a remarkable new turning point for Stacey Kent.

For the past 10 years, she has been mainly singing numbers form the great American Songbooks. However, on this CD, she sings lesser known beautiful songs (such as 'Landslide'), 3 French songs ('Ces petits riens', 'Samba saravah' et 'La saison des Pluies' - my French friend told me that her French is very...
Published on 17 Sep 2007 by Hiro

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs a new song writer
Is Stacey a true jazz lady full with an amazing voice that is stunningly beautiful to listen to? Yes.
Is her band a group of highly accomplished musicians who make wonderful music? Most definitely yes.
Do they need to find some decent material to work with? Oh hell yes!

With lyrics like "eat some waffles, forget your troubles" that made a concert...
Published on 4 May 2009 by ME


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting comparison with Madeline Peyroux, 10 Nov 2012
By 
David S. Holloway "DSH" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breakfast on the morning tram (Audio CD)
First heard a track from this CD (Breakfast on the morning tram - The Ice Hotel) and was taken by it, so bought the CD. Reminds me much of Madeline Peyroux in voice and type of songs she sings and that both sing in some of their pieces in French. Very pleased with the purchase and intent to listen to more of this artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She Enjoys Her Growth, 12 Feb 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Breakfast on the morning tram (Audio CD)
British-American singer Stacey Kent's new album, "Breakfast On The Morning Tram," shows the youthful jazz chanteuse with the sweet, yet strong voice, to be enjoying unprecedented growth in her career. She's put together a bigger band, with a number of talented musicians, and she's allowed them lots of room to stretch on this disk. She has also, for the first time, recorded original compositions: this album has only three songs from the Great American Songbook, on which she had so successfully relied until now. She has also moved on from her first recording label, the small independent Candid, to the prestigious jazzy Blue Note.

Kent, who was born in South Orange, New Jersey, met her talented husband, saxophonist, now producer/arranger/composer, Jim Tomlinson, with whom she works, while both were students at London's 125 year old Guildhall School of Music and Drama. The singer, whose clear voice and delivery lie somewhere between the flirtatious sound of Norah Jones, and the ever-popular smoky barroom sound now delivered by Diana Krall and Claire Martin, among others, was initially championed by British critic and jazz trumpeter Humphrey Lyttelton. She credits Joni Mitchell, Nick Drake, Nancy Wilson, and Cannonball Adderley as the biggest influences on her work. She has won the 2001 British Jazz Award, and the 2002 British Broadcasting Corporation Jazz Award for Best Vocalist. She has a large, devoted following that should be pleased by this release.

"Breakfast" gives more than a nod to France, where Kent did post-graduate work, and is exceedingly popular: she was, in fact, signed by the Paris office of Blue Note. The French gave the 2006 BOY NEXT DOOR Gold Album status within six months of its release. They've greeted "Breakfast" by giving it, within six weeks of its release, Top #20 status on the general charts, and Top #10 status on the jazz charts; they've also given it an enthusiastic sell-out audience at Paris's legendary Olympia Music Hall. The new album includes two songs Kent identifies as her personal favorites from the works of the French singer-songwriter Serge Gainsbourg, "Ces Petits Riens," and "La Saison des Pluies." It also includes a cover of that rhythmic tune from "Un Homme et Une Femme," (that'll be "A Man and A Woman," to us), "Samba Saravah," by Pierre Barouh.

"So Many Stars" is another lilting samba on this Latin-tinged record, music by the Brazilian Sergio Mendes, words by the American powerhouse duo Marilyn and Alan Bergman. In addition, Kent covers "Landslide," by Stevie Nicks of Fleetwood Mac, in tribute to the Colorado Rockies, where she and Tomlinson enjoy spending their down time. "Never Let Me Go," "Hard Hearted Hannah," and "Wonderful World" are from the Great American Songbook that's served the singer so well.

Finally, "Breakfast" boasts four unusual, outstanding new compositions, all with lyrics by British Booker Prize winning novelist Kazuo Ishiguro, who wrote the liner notes for the 2003 release IN LOVE AGAIN and music by Tomlinson, with whose saxophone Kent sings in delicious close harmony. These songs, the Latin-grooving "Ice Hotel," the title song, "I Wish I Could Go Travelling Again," and "So Romantic," allow Kent's whispering voice to suggest, as Ishiguro has noted, almost a private, inner conversation, with its hesitations and asides, that remains close to the rhythms, inflections, and informalities of everyday speech. But then, so many of her listeners feel that Kent is singing for them alone, telling a wistful story, as she likes to do. Famous jazz lover Clint Eastwood asked her to perform at his 70th birthday party. Most of us can't quite afford that, unfortunately, but I've been lucky enough to catch her a few times in her month-long stands at New York's esteemed Algonquin Hotel: and, yes, she's also played that city's Carnegie Hall. You want to catch her if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy listening jazz, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stacey Kent has a wonderful silky smooth voice and a great accent to boot. The songs are well constructed, with good lyics and well supported instrumentally. She also sings the French very well. This is great easy listening jazz and a well recommended addition to anyone's jazz collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Breakfast on the morning tram (Audio CD)
I have everything Stacey has ever recorded except this one, till now. I was put off by some negative reviews but why did I listen! This CD is pure class with Stacey's voice still as good as ever and her interpretation is second to none. It is worth having in your collection for "What a wonderful world" alone - gives me goose-bumps every time. I am glad I waited for this CD now as I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I like it. I have seen Stacey in concert 3 times and she never disappoints. Hope she tours here again soon but, in the meantime, just sit back and enjoy another excellent collection of songs beautifully sung. Bliss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breakfast On The Morning Tram, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. H. Bragen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breakfast on the morning tram (Audio CD)
This is a very well crafted record. The musicianship is spotless. If you like soft dinner jazz with a modern twist then this is for you. I personally don't like vocal gymnastics and Stacey Kent doesn't go in for that... but she's always "on the money".

My personal favourites are the title track and "Ice Hotel".Although I could have done without hearing "Hard Hearted Hannah" again, she does sing a very nice interpretation of the old Louis Armstrong hit "Wonderful World".

All in all this is well worth the few pounds I paid for my second/hand copy here on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs a new song writer, 4 May 2009
By 
ME (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breakfast on the morning tram (Audio CD)
Is Stacey a true jazz lady full with an amazing voice that is stunningly beautiful to listen to? Yes.
Is her band a group of highly accomplished musicians who make wonderful music? Most definitely yes.
Do they need to find some decent material to work with? Oh hell yes!

With lyrics like "eat some waffles, forget your troubles" that made a concert audience snigger behind their hands, somebody has made a grave error of judgment turning this into comedy, not a class act. Sadly to ensure Ms Kent's future career, Mr Tomlinson needs to stick to making music which he does excellently, but be banned from writing her lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've really warmed to this album...and now I love it, 9 Sep 2009
I noticed that Stacey was appearing in concert in my home town (Liverpool), but was not familiar with her work and so got hold of this album. I was impressed enough to go and see her in concert (of which more later). I liked the album when I first heard it, but have grown to really love it. The only exception to this is the title track, which I think is the weakest song in the collection and doesn't quite come off as well lyrically or musically as the other homegrown efforts. The choice and variety of songs on the album is excellent however, and I think, superior to her other albums of standards which although executed well, are similar to the route followed by so many other artists.

I am a big Diana Krall fan, but really think she has gone off the boil on her latest, 'Quiet Nights'. I have found myself listening to Stacey Kent more and more instead - there's something about her voice that really 'gets you'. I would also recommend 'Dreamland' if you haven't heard that one.

Stacey in concert was a bit mixed - her, and her bands performance was brilliant, but I found her stagecraft left a lot to be desired. The most annoying aspect of this was her constantly standing with her back to the audience. This annoyed my wife so much that she can't understand why I still like her as an artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patchy and lyrically awkward, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Robert O. Davidson (glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breakfast on the morning tram (Audio CD)
I am a great fan of SK and have been to gigs in Glasgow, Perth and London where she and her band have never failed to disappoint. However, she disappoints here. I have had the album since it was released and have delayed reviewing it because i thought over time that i would warm to it more and whilst that is what has happened to an extent, i still feel that it is a below par effort. The new songs are lyrically awkward - the words don't flow well. The melodies seem forced and a bit contrived. I can understand why she would want to move away from a strictly american songbook approach and be viewed as less MOR and more in line with people like Abbey Lincoln and Cassandra Wilson but it hasn't entirely worked this time around. I doubt if it will win her any new fans and i suspect it will not be up there among the favourite albums of her existing fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a glorious voice., 9 May 2009
Superb voice, I have seen Stacey in Concert, what a fantastic singer she is.
This album is different from her early covers, but is still an excellant choice for an evening's listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She sings and you get lost in the Music., 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breakfast on the morning tram (Audio CD)
I love her voice & Style. She sings and you get lost in the Music.
I been fortunate enough to meet her & her band on twice before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breakfast on the morning tram
Breakfast on the morning tram by Stacey Kent (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews