Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of real emotion
This was an experimental rent from a video shop and but I've had to buy it since, as I go back to it again and again. In contrast to the other reviews I find this movie full of emotion and eroticism, especially from a woman's perspective. It's about a modern young woman's sexual journey and finding the new dimension that love can add to her lust. The scenes of when they...
Published on 6 Dec. 2009 by T. Gupta

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mildly Erotic Canadian Love Story
This is a soft-core Canadian movie.
The female lead, Lila, is a twenty-something, reasonably attractive, redhead, who has a rock-chick thing going on with her appearance and clothing. By her own admission, she's a nymphomiac, who likes masturbating to porn, and picking up guys in nightclubs for one night stands. Her firm belief is that men's hearts are in their...
Published 5 months ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mildly Erotic Canadian Love Story, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lie With Me [DVD] (DVD)
This is a soft-core Canadian movie.
The female lead, Lila, is a twenty-something, reasonably attractive, redhead, who has a rock-chick thing going on with her appearance and clothing. By her own admission, she's a nymphomiac, who likes masturbating to porn, and picking up guys in nightclubs for one night stands. Her firm belief is that men's hearts are in their genitalia.
One evening she meets a chap at a club, and five minutes later, she's outside with the guy, treating him to fellatio. As she's doing this, another couple are sat inside a nearby car, watching them, and soon the two couples are watching each other.
The male lead, David, looks like a Galician Spaniard, with dark hair, strong eyebrows, a Roman nose and a prominent chin. He's the guy who was sat in the car watching Lila give head. Sometime later, he's following her along a street, they end up in a park, and she reveals herself to him, a bit like a childhood game of doctors and nurses. One thing leads to another and they're soon in a flat making out. Lila knows that her new lover is cheating on his existing girlfriend, but this doesn't cause her any pragmatic or moral qualms.
This is relatively mild soft-core material. You see the chap sucking his girlfriend's breasts, and the couple have sex scenes - you see David's bouncing buttocks, and there's some fleeting glimpses of full-frontal nudity, but nothing else stronger really. After the first coupling, David and Lila go on a proper date, and the relationship develops from there...
Lila and David are a good-looking couple and they clearly have a good chemistry together. However, neither of them has a particularly interesting character, and you get to learn little or nothing about their backgrounds, save that Lila's parents are separated. Still worse, Lila is extremely immature and petulant, not to mention narcissistic, and this is hammered home for the viewer in the final fifteen minutes. The film also suffers from a lethargic pace, and you don't get to see the couple share anything much other than their bodies - they don't have anything in common except a strong sex drive.
In a nutshell, this is a tale of a girl who loves sleeping around and having animalistic sex, where personalities and feelings are completely irrelevant, but then, suddenly, she changes character when she meets a good-looking (but rather anodyne) guy, with whom she's prepared to be monogamous.
The French and Spanish generally make this sort of film much better - sexier (more explicit), with better character development, and more involving - Q is one example - Q [DVD]. Don't Look Down is another example - Don't Look Down [DVD].
This film is okay, but I'd rate it at only two stars if David and Lila were less physically appealing characters. Both Q and Don't Look Down are much sexier films, of a very similar nature, and better to watch if you're in a relationship, or single.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of real emotion, 6 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie With Me [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This was an experimental rent from a video shop and but I've had to buy it since, as I go back to it again and again. In contrast to the other reviews I find this movie full of emotion and eroticism, especially from a woman's perspective. It's about a modern young woman's sexual journey and finding the new dimension that love can add to her lust. The scenes of when they are in love are amazing and very intimate. Watching the extras on the DVD makes you realise how the director managed to achieve this and all the credit to him for creating an atmosphere where the acting is such that you really think the two of them are in love. The sex scenes are honest and for me full of charge, the movie captures well the raw emotion of the first few encounters in any relationship. The additional characters are limited but are just perfect. I couldn't think of anything that was out of place here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerful movie, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie With Me [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is not for everyone but I totally loved it it was a great love story, with really emotions and I am a really big fan of Eric Balfour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 22 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Lie With Me [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Both other reviews have a point, although I felt the higher review to be fairer. Whatever the movie's failings, it is very powerful and sensual. It was very refreshing to see the sex treated in such a forthright and enjoyable way, and to finally see a film in which the body is a natural and intrinsic part of life, not something to be hidden away or be coy about. All the characters were natural and uninhibited, and the scenes were beautifully shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta watch this film!!, 23 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Lie with Me (Amazon Instant Video)
Very enjoyable film I'm glad they got the happy ending. Watched with my mum who was literally crying throughout the whole film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching if you want to see something real., 18 April 2014
This review is from: Lie with Me (Amazon Instant Video)
Nice movie, I wasn't sure if it was going to be a low budget, bad acting number, but actually it was heartfelt and took me on a journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If you want a film that explores love through frank sexual intimacy I recommend Nine Songs, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
Saturno (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lie With Me (DVD)
I thought this was absolutely awful. I had to forward wind to the end just to check I didn't miss anything. There was nothing to miss. If you want a film that explores love through frank sexual intimacy I recommend Nine Songs, which has some substance to it. I feel sorry for the two actors in this who do the best they can with nothing. Everything about this film is unspeakably dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars i'm writing this review actually after having seen this movie ..., 11 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i'm writing this review actually after having seen this movie a few months ago, and hell i need to struggle to think what was this movie about... yes a few sexual scenes and an average attempt to picture confused, troublesome personalities.. and that's about it..
There is something that lives you very ambivalent about the acting about the plot and about the entire thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a MUST BUY, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lie With Me [DVD] (DVD)
I'm so glad I've finally had the privilege to view this film. It was more deep then I expected. Eric's character was so entertaining & sad at some points. But so was she. It is right up there with Now and Later. Oh my goodness..... Purchase this film for your private collection, rather than rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive, tedious soft porn..., 17 May 2014
This review is from: Lie with Me (Amazon Instant Video)
...with minimal plot and a pretentious voice over. The girl is very pretty, the boy less so but fair play to him for baring his all and one star for his nice bum. Could do without seeing the old guy in the buff though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lie With Me [DVD]
Lie With Me [DVD] by Clément Virgo (DVD - 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews