Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important information
It is important to note that if you are going to buy "The Sarah Jane Adventures: The Complete First Series" you have no need to purchase this disc, it is EXACTLY THE SAME as disc one of the box set.
Published on 15 Sep 2009 by That Doctor Who geezer

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, but too much for only a single episode!
This episode of the Sarah Jane Adventures was delightful. It has the main elements of Doctor Who, but is not as scary, so it is suitable for younger audiences as well. But to sell a single episode, a mere 60 minutes, for 8.99 is criminal.
5 stars for the episode, but 3 stars at the price.
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by Jeffrey Lehman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important information, 15 Sep 2009
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
It is important to note that if you are going to buy "The Sarah Jane Adventures: The Complete First Series" you have no need to purchase this disc, it is EXACTLY THE SAME as disc one of the box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Little Kid's Programme That Adults Can Watch, 25 Aug 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
This is more of an official spin off from Doctor Who than Torchwood, by that I mean that it feels like the parent show and invokes the flavour of the 1970's Doctor Who stories that feature Sarah Jane.
There is no written rule that says a spin off has to mimic the parent programme, but I feel that Torchwood was possibly too far removed from Doctor Who to appeal to many hard core Doctor Who fans, Torchwood is good but not really Doctor Who. The Sarah Jane adventures are Doctor Who from the 1970's but without the Doctor himself and that is how it should be.

The fact that Sarah is my favourite companion ever goes a long way towards my enjoyment of this episode despite the fact that it is really for children, children's television does not mean that it is second rate and not worth the attention of adults if it is made well and I had a very enjoyable hour on New Years Day when it was transmittered watching this with my 10 year old daughter, she loved it.

It is very nostalgic in a way and reflects the children's drama programmes that I used to watch as a kid, such as King of the Castle, The Feathered Serpent and Into the Labyrinth and of course the original spin off from Doctor Who, K9 and Company starring Elisabeth Sladen.

Elisabeth Sladen slips back into the character of Sarah Jane with ease, just as she did in School Reunion a few months earlier, in Doctor Who she was always just 'the assistant' however good, but here she takes the lead and new facets to her character emerge, ones that were not necessarily evident in Doctor Who and I look forward to seeing how she develops in the tv series.

Elisabeth Sladen's co-stars are children of course and there have been many shows from the past spoiled because of the inability of many children to act convincingly, but here they have struck gold, the main girl in the show is a lovely little actress and gels instantly with Sladen and sets up the series nicely.

All in all this is a pleasant little kids adventure that is entertaining to adults also and will provide more of that 'Doctor Who' atmosphere than Torchwood ever can. Roll on the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 5 July 2008
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen the series on tv but never saw the pilot episode so it was interesting to see how Luke had come about, being an archetype created by the Bane, an alien species that had infiltrated a soft drink being marketed as organic, everyone who drank it become affected, in a brainwashed kind of way, trying to get other people to drink it too. It was a great story and I loved the menu section of the dvd, which scanned the interior of Sarah Jane's apartment. The dvd also had a history of Sarah Jane section, showing some of the earlier Doctors. I have been wanting to obtain the whole series on dvd ever since it finished its run on tv, I don't know why it's taking so long. All the stories were fantastically good, especially the one with the nuns, which was very creepy. I hope they don't make us wait too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, but too much for only a single episode!, 19 Nov 2007
By 
Jeffrey Lehman (Market Harborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
This episode of the Sarah Jane Adventures was delightful. It has the main elements of Doctor Who, but is not as scary, so it is suitable for younger audiences as well. But to sell a single episode, a mere 60 minutes, for 8.99 is criminal.
5 stars for the episode, but 3 stars at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SJA...The very start, 6 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Well, i bought this DVD because i loved watching it on the telly at NEw Year, and what a dvd it was. In my view, this is the best SJA episode yet and i am glad it was the first one. A great return for Sarah-Jane back it the public eye. I 100% loved this DVD. It is packed with great special features including a great Sarah-Jane time-line with clips from classic episodes. Buy this DVD now...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flippin` fantastic!, 4 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
OK,let`s get this straight:This is the first episode of a brand new series
starring Elisabeth Sladen as Sarah Jane Smith.{But i`ll let you in to a secret:For a first episode,I think it`s fantastic!}The Bane where brilliant monsters and it was a great way to set a alien plot:having the aliens in the form of a new fizzy drink.Whoever wrote this must be genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - but what about the rest of the series!!?, 12 July 2008
By 
Alan Wright (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
It's all very well releasing the pilot on DVD, but what has happened to the proposed DVD release of series 1? Amazon had volume 1 listed for a while, but then took the listing down. And why can't we have a box set of the whole series, as with Doctor Who and Torchwood? Would someone from the BBC kindly explain what's happening and why we're having to wait so long? The second series will be airing soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a great show !!, 22 July 2010
By 
Jingleman "ChasDude!" (Irvine, Scotland, Earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, the Sarah Jane Adventures is a fantastic children's show for fans of Doctor Who. The quality of the character's, aliens and stories are every single bit as good as the original DW programme. This DVD is a fantastic addition to my collection. It features the 2007 New Year's Special, Invasion of the Bane, and a load of special features including trailers, character/alien profiles, an interview with Lis Sladen, Blue Peter stuff, photo gallery and a Sarah Jane timeline. I would reccomend this DVD to any Dr Who fan. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Children Entertainment, 7 May 2008
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
My son who is only 5 is a Doctor Who fan and totally caught on to SJA. SJA is a great children's version of Doctor Who but I don't think the quality is diminished. My son totally loved it. A great first series, I think it is more cost effective as a 2 series compilation, but a 40 minute episode is just the correct amount of time as an after school treat, it has just the right amount of action telling the story and introducing the characters and enough for children to understand and keep their attention. I enjoyed it too, though my son is the one who can watch it time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Fun, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Good Wolf (South West, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] (DVD)
Warm, funny, charming, exciting, very 'Doctor Who', with a brilliant script from Russell T Davies and Gareth Roberts. The child actors are thankfully excellent and Elisabeth Sladen is as wonderful as ever. This is a welcome addition to kids' television in an age when very few quality series for children are being made. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD]
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews