Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With trilogies comes great responsibility.
Peter Parker is very happy, he's in love with the sensual Mary Jane Watson, his studies are going great, and America loves his alter ego, Spider-Man. But his world is quickly turned upside down as he comes under attack from Sandman, Goblin Jr and an alien substance that transforms Peter into something far darker than his super hero better self.

There is a...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disjointed and slow
Sam Raimi reinvented the superhero movie with his brilliant Spiderman film and its equally impressive sequel. Can he repeat the magic a third time? Sad to say, Spiderman 3 is a somewhat confused end to the trilogy. Too heavily reliant on CGI, it feels disjointed, moving from action set piece to discussions about the nature of the superhero to Peter's arguments with his...
Published on 3 Aug 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With trilogies comes great responsibility., 18 Nov 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Peter Parker is very happy, he's in love with the sensual Mary Jane Watson, his studies are going great, and America loves his alter ego, Spider-Man. But his world is quickly turned upside down as he comes under attack from Sandman, Goblin Jr and an alien substance that transforms Peter into something far darker than his super hero better self.

There is a school of thought that says that sequels are always the tricky films for directors to take on, that may be so in most genres, but for comic book adaptations, all films are tricky. By the time of director Sam Raimi releasing Spider-Man 3, he had not only shown the world that he clearly loved the Spider-Man characters, he showed that he also knew how to better the franchise with the second instalment. So really, if we are all honest here, it was going to take a monumental effort to not just only better parts one and two, but to merely make a film to sit alongside those finely crafted pictures as well! That he managed neither is no great surprise when watching it now after the dust has settled a few years later. In his over eagerness to entertain us the fans, and with studio interference that Raimi to date refuses to over elaborate on (Venom-AKA Eddie Brock-it was-ahem-requested he find room for), Raimi lost sight of the less is more policy that made the first two Spidey movies great.

When I first came out of the cinema after my original viewing, my head was chocked full of villains, not only that, but also Peter's love life struggles, it is in short, way too much for one movie. I had enjoyed myself for sure, hell! Raimi knows how to give his fans a good time, but when you break it own there are so many missed opportunities it grates substantially on the discerning movie watching fan. Thomas Haden Church is a fine actor, but as Marko he has little to do, so come the excellent transformation into Sandman, Church is a forgotten prop. Then there is the almost unforgivable act of losing James Franco {Goblin Jr} in amongst the collage of goings on, his Harry Osborn has a neat complexity to him and more attention to detail with this character arc would have provided great rewards I'm sure. Kirsten Dunst returns as Mary Jane but appears to be regressing in acting ability, is she bored I wonder? Or is she just not that very good an actress? The less said about Topher Grace as Eddie Brock/Venom the better, tho in fairness Raimi never wanted the character in the film, so it's hardly surprising that the best thing about the character is the entertaining effects as Venom snarls and snaps. Bryce Dallas Howard is sparky as Gwen Stacy, and J.K. Simmons as usual owns every scene he is in.

Yet in spite of my grievances, after my HD revisit to the film I find myself warming to the Raimi franchise misfire. Clever themes such as power and its devilish off shoots are fleshed out, while the humour here is possibly the best of the three films thus far. The romantic angle between MJ and Peter is given serious thought and dare I say it, an adult make over. Whilst Tobey Maguire really has improved as an actor with each subsequent film, not withstanding an ill advised Saturday Night Fever sequence, Parker's venture to the dark side is excellently realised by Maguire. But ultimately it's with the action sequences that many younger viewers judge a Spider-Man film by, and part three is not found wanting, with a double team ultimate smack down raising the bar in gloriously over the top enjoyment. 7/10

At the time of writing the above Raimi had agreed to do Spider-Man 4, I feel sure that lessons would have been learned, as it is now, both Raimi and Maguire have left the franchise. The head honcho executives have other ideas for the next instalment.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This promised so much..., 7 April 2008
By 
Gareth Franklin "Monsieur Ugine" (Ugine, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...and for the most part delivered. Being a huge Marvel fan, I queued on the opening day, with a horde of shouting kids, to see what promised to be one of the best films ever. And it almost was. Sure, I could gripe about the minor details that don't agree with the comics, but that's neither here nor there. The one thing that did disappoint me was the lack of screentime for Venom, who could and should have been amazing. But he was as scary as a bouquet of flowers. Having said that, I do like the way it's left open for a certain other symbiote to appear in the future... To finish, although it's not as good as the second installment, it's certainly worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disjointed and slow, 3 Aug 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (cheltenham, england) - See all my reviews
Sam Raimi reinvented the superhero movie with his brilliant Spiderman film and its equally impressive sequel. Can he repeat the magic a third time? Sad to say, Spiderman 3 is a somewhat confused end to the trilogy. Too heavily reliant on CGI, it feels disjointed, moving from action set piece to discussions about the nature of the superhero to Peter's arguments with his girlfriend with little to apparently link them. The inevitable bad guys appear and disappear again for no particular reason, and the result is a bit of a mess.

The lot of the modern superhero is not an easy one. Not only does he have to save the world three times a day, but he has to battle with his psychological motivations, girlfriend trouble and his own personal demons. This time round Spiderman has three villains to contend with, some alien goo which brings out his dark side, and on top of this his relationship's in trouble. Tobey Maguire's geekiness has always grated but he is so pathetic as Peter you just want to shake him. And the sequence where 'bad boy' Peter enjoys his new self- yes, I know it's supposed to be a joke, but I'm afraid it's just risible. Kirsten Dunst does a good job as MJ but she doesn't have the greatest presence, and none of the villains are powerful enough to fill the screen.

That is not to say there aren't good ideas. Raimi's films always look fantastic, and Spidey 3 is no exception. There is at least one interesting idea- how does the superhero keep his ego in check when faced with his adoring fans- but it is quickly forgotten in the rush to the next computer animated set piece. Once again, the girlfriend's main role is as bait for the villain to lure Spider-man to save her- feminism lives! The tame ending left me wishing for the good old days when superheroes turned up, beat up the bad guys and went home without so much as a moment's doubt in their heads.

Still, millions of people love it, and I'm sure this is not the last we've heard of old Spidey. Next time, I hope someone has the guts to give us an old-fashioned superhero flick and leave the psychology at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You've taken your eye off the ball....., 7 Feb 2014
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Everything is lining up great for Peter he's finally got the love of his life, MJ to marry him.

But one night when a strange meteor crashes it clings on to Peter bonding him with an alien symbiotic suit.

Once the symbiotic is attached to him it changes his life.

Peter realises that he is doing everything wrong he decides only one way can make it right by getting rid of the alien symbiotic suit by ripping it off which eventually leads to the birth of Venom.

Peter now must faces all his darkest demons...

When I first saw this movie back in 2007, I thought it was really good, a tad too long, but good nevertheless.

Seven years later and several viewings later, I realise now that Raimi took way too much on with this, and should have concentrated on just the feud between him and Harry, bit throwing in his uncles killer, relationship problems, Gwen Stacey, and Venom, of course.

It becomes bloated very quickly, and is at least twenty minutes too long. The whole Parker turning into a goth/Simon Le Bon wannabe is pointless and not part of this film.

Church and Grace are good in this movie, but hey are sidelined, as is many characters in this film.

There are signs of brilliance though, the first meeting with Harry and Spiderman is awe-inspiring and one of the best set pieces of the series, and Franco really shines in this, totally watchable whenever he is on screen.

The same cannot be said for the main character. When you start to find Parker annoying, you know that the film is in trouble.

It's not a bad movie, just really overlong, bloated, and at times, quite depressing that it's gone downhill like this, so rapidly.

The big disappointment of summer 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark Spidey, 22 April 2009
By 
C. NEALE (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the immense success of the first two films, I was really excited to go and see Spiderman 3. The whole ad campaign for this film was about internal darkness 'The battle within', as the posters said. I expected a darker and more serious Spidey, however this film turned out to be responsible for some the silliest and craziest scenes I've ever seen in a superhero movie (that dance scene in the street, for example. Funny? Yes. Needed? NO.)
One major disappointment was the way this film handled the villains. Sandman is an okay character but perhaps too sympathetic. With Doc Ock, Raimi really made him feel human, to make his transformation all the more shocking and real. Sandman's backstory, however, is just going over the top. He's the father to a really poor family who's got a dying daughter and is a misunderstood ex-con and didn't mean to kill Uncle Ben and only wants to be loved.... it just felt forced to me, despite Thomas Haden Church's nice performance. And his origin scene? I don't recall Sandman's creation in the comics, but it definitely wasn't: Guy falls into giant sandpit. Big metal things spin really fast. Sandman is born! It's a small part of the film, but a scientist says 'It's probably just a bird. It'll fly away.' when they notice a creature in the test pit. If scientists are so reckless these days, no wonder supervillains keep popping up (however I have a suggestion for Spidey 4's villain: Sandbird, the misunderstood pigeon turned supervillain)
Venom is introduced waaay too late, accompanied by an underwhelming performance from Topher Grace. While the black suit's visuals are amazing, its story is totally ridiculous. In the comics, the suit is a symbiote, bonding with its host until it sucks out the good and creates an all powerful creature of pure evil. In the film, it's an alien that gives you an emo hairstyle and makes you thrust to 'Fever'. They should have developed Sandman more and introduced Venom at the end, as a cliffhanger to Spidey 4. Or just don't have Venom! You don't always have to please the fans! Just leave Venom be!
That said, I did enjoy parts. Like Harry's character throughout the series. He's gone from troubled rich kid to vengeful billionaire, and now, in a sinister turn from the great James Franco, the heir to the Green Goblin name.
The special effects are awesome, the performances from MOST cast members are excellent (Tobey MacGuire, Kirsten Dunst, James Franco, a nice cameo from Willem Defoe and the always great JK Simmons as J Jonah Jameson) but I have one question: Do we really need a touching speech from Aunt May in EVERY movie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality DVD and average film, 17 April 2008
By 
Mr. C. D. Murphy "Krayg" (St Brelades) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well the film is average to poor with too many characters a bit of a boring story line.
I mainly just wanted to point out that I have had trouble with this dvd and the fact that it skips whole chapters.
I dont know if anyone else has had this trouble. Be cautious on buying this cheap dvd.
In terms of the film, loved one and two but this one just seems to erase the ending of the last one, was particularly disappointed with the fact that they didnt continue the green goblin story despite setting up the story line at the end of the last one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film very entertaining. Blu-ray is spectacular, 17 Oct 2007
By 
R. A. Locke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I really loved this film, it's a bit more tongue in cheek than the first two films and a lot less serious but if you want a film to watch that will entertain you from start to finish then there is nothing wrong with Spiderman 3. The blu-ray is spectacular. The images are incredibly crisp and fast but it was the sound that really blew me away. The bonus blu-ray disc is also a nice bonus with a lot of interesting featurettes. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spiderman 3 - the hero movie of movies, 4 May 2007
By 
M. Snell "snellyboy84644" (South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
May 3rd, 2007, most possibly the highlight of the year (so far).

Having been a fan of the first Spiderman movie, and a little more critical of the second, I walked into the cinema with some mixed expectations to say the least.

Upon hearing that there would be a number of 'bad-guys' really impressed me, but at the same time confused me. Surely Green Goblin (Jr), Sandman, and Venom, seemed to overload the already full screenplay. And that isn't even mentioning the addition of a new love interest.

The storyline (without giving much away), follows Parker in a city where Spiderman is loved and Mary Jane loves him back. But he has to combat the combined threat of an old friend seeking revenge, a convict desiring wealth, a young man wanting what he doesn't have, and finally his greatest enemy - himself.

Surely my rating shows that I wasn't disappointed.

The opening credits introduced a brief but completely relevant history of Parker's story , thus meaning that everyone knows approximately where the previous movie finished. From this point, one of the many things that impressed me was the just how funny the film is, which, given that the storyline gets somewhat dark and very serious at times still manages to make you laugh, where perhaps similar situations would make you cry. Although some could argue that this is over-done, it works very well with the storyline; where some similar comic-turned-movies have suffered.

The second thing that struck me was the amazing special effects, which made some of the most seemingly impossible actions seem convincing; almost like you see them on the streets every other day. Notably, the effects of the both Venom and Sandman were absolutely superb, surpassing films such as the Matrix trilogy for the awe factor. The combined use of these effects during the amazing fight scenes and the quieter bits, make it visually stunning.

But, the one thing that really stopped me liking this film and started me loving was how the film was structured. Mr Raimi is ultimately responsible for this (as the director). As i mentioned earlier, the screenplay is pretty damn full, yet somehow the movie is not too short, nor too long; so (your thinking) everything must be 'crammed' in; the answer is simply no. While there may seem to be too much content covered, it is done at a depth which neither wants the viewer to speed up or slow down; again something very rarely done to such a high standard.

These points combined with a fantastic cast make the movie. All the cast perform wonderfully has their respective characters, Maguire is on fine form, and Franco makes the Goblin live again. Grace (Venom) and Church (Sandman) also perform superbly. The only member of the cast who disappointed me was Kirsten Dunst, who didn't quite seem to be on the ball, as she was in the previous two. The surprise for me was J.K. Simmons (Jameson), who was superb as the editor of the Bugle.

Overall, I would advise any movie goer to watch this movie, since it displays so many fantastic qualities; which are far too many to list. Although, it may be a little too much for a small child to sit through, but it will leave many kids (and adults) with their mouths wide open.

The reason for the four stars you ask? If I could choose fraction a below five, I would. The reason for this slight drop is the fact that we will almost certainly never get a Spiderman 4 (which is probably for the best), but its the 'end of an era' kind of feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 3, 16 Feb 2008
By 
K. Simpon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film was simply the best out the Spider-Man trilogy. It had fantastic visuals, a fantastic feel and great acting and dialogue. I've seen that a few people are complaining about how short Venom's screentime is, but can you honestly imagine an entire movie with him in it? I think he had just enough time. The beginning feels rushed, but only a bit, but it manages to catch itself before it goes out of control. It looks and sounds great in blu ray, I reccomend that you get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's not that bad guys!, 16 Nov 2007
By 
D. W. Chester (Woking, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As pointed out there is perhaps too much going on, but did we say that about the old "Spaghetti Westerns"? No of course not. This is an exciting movie which ties up loose ends. The picture quality on Blu-Ray is awesome and so is the sound. It's not meant to be a serious piece of work, it is meant to be an entertaining movie and it accomplishes that perfectly. Finally, I loved "emo" Spidey! Very clever idea and very cleverly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man 3 [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
Spider-Man 3 [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] by Sam Raimi (Blu-ray - 2007)
£4.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews