Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used for mango wood coffee table / draws
After recently buying a new 6 draw Indian mango wood coffee table I needed something to 'treat' it with. Plumped for Briwax because of reviews and it was a good price...well cheaper than most others. Never used it before.

You need to be prepared to work hard at this. It took a good while, only rubbing small areas with wax at a time. The wood (well the mango...
Published 18 months ago by Privateofcourse

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
the smell was unbearable to work with.
Published 8 days ago by sylv


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used for mango wood coffee table / draws, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
After recently buying a new 6 draw Indian mango wood coffee table I needed something to 'treat' it with. Plumped for Briwax because of reviews and it was a good price...well cheaper than most others. Never used it before.

You need to be prepared to work hard at this. It took a good while, only rubbing small areas with wax at a time. The wood (well the mango wood) 'soaks' it up quickly, and I kept applying more until it seemed not to take any more and then moved on to the next area. Don't underestimate the time it will take you to do it either. Lots of surfaces on my coffee table and I also did the drawers inside and out to protect them. The final buffing (when the wax dries) takes some elbow grease and time as well and you need to rub it until there is no resistance from the wood surface..and then use a finishing cloth to make sure there aren't any streaks. But it is well worth it as the finish is superb. Transformed my new but dry looking coffee table into something quite special. A friend remarked on how amazing it looked in the front room..and the friend is a man of few words so it must look good.

I think I'll do another application in a few months time; as the wood acclimatises to the new environment I suspect it will need it.

Make sure you cover up any floor areas you need to protect if applying polish to an item in situ. The wax becomes 'bitty' and little lumps drop off as you use it so it is a bit messy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
Does the job, but for a product I thought was fairly natural it is pretty toxic. Gave me dizziness and headaches, even though I was working in a well ventilated area. My cabinets look lovely though and it gave a nice finish to my metal cabinets that I painted with my own chalk paint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great wax, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
love this wax!! use on annie sloan painted furniture and wooden painted floorboards - gives a stunning finish. really easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
Briwax polish is an extreamly good product. Yes you have to put in a bit of effort went finishing wood working projects but if you use Briwax it will transform your work of art into something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briwax, 6 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
Have used this product for years.
If you want to treat your cladding, doors, staircase, furniture, this is the stuff to use.
I use the wax instead of using varnish, apply with steel wool "0000" gauge and buff up with a soft cloth for a deep pleasing finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 23 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
So my wife recently undertook furniture restoration as a new hobby/interest so part of her restoration work is to 'wax' down a finished product. Presumably this adds effect to the finish - I don't know, its lost on me.
However, I'm assured that this wax did the trick. Essentially she rubbed down the item, undercoated it, two or three top coats, brushed down with wired wool and then rubbed in this wax to create an aged 'shabby chic' effect. While the item isn't cheap, it did do the trick and the finish is rather impressive (even if I dont admit that to her! ;) )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Polish, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
This Polish leaves a good surface and shine ! Excellent value for the exceptional results! I wouldn't use anything else on wooden furniture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good wax, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. K. Seirlis "Paleo Faliro" (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
very good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briwax, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
Found this product to be perfect for giving a good finish to my chalk painted shelf unit.
And would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent product which was easy to apply and gave the wood a lovely even finish., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear (DIY & Tools)
I bought this product to coat an wood box that I made in wood class. Completely changed the look for the better and with very little work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Briwax 400g Wax Polish - Clear
£10.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews