Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review Behringer SF300 Super Fuzz Pedal.
So me and the guys decide to play Muse - Time is running out and K.O.L. - Crawl, both of which require fuzz on the bass. After much research and getting some idea of the equipment used by Chris Wolstenhome (Bassist from Muse) and finding out that not only would it be very expensive to replicate his rig and sound but it would also be near impossible since his equipment...
Published on 8 April 2012 by Grzegorz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boost handy but fuzz unpleasant
This is not a fuzz in the conventional sense. It has a pretty nasty tone that is difficult to work with. Sometimes (it seems by accident) you achieve a usable sound, but with minor changes to the settings it's gone. It can occasionally surprise you, but more often than not it just gives you a headache. The reason for this is because the circuit mixes in some ring...
Published on 8 Mar 2012 by Captain Sensible


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review Behringer SF300 Super Fuzz Pedal., 8 April 2012
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
So me and the guys decide to play Muse - Time is running out and K.O.L. - Crawl, both of which require fuzz on the bass. After much research and getting some idea of the equipment used by Chris Wolstenhome (Bassist from Muse) and finding out that not only would it be very expensive to replicate his rig and sound but it would also be near impossible since his equipment dates back to the 80's.

I did some shopping around and decided that it was either BOSS or Behringer that would get my business. Needless to say I bought the Behringer since I am writing this review. The reason I went for this pedal is that the price was almost 4 times cheaper than the Boss alternative. I have never used pedals before but had to start, the imediate reaction from the other guys in the band was superbe, the addition of this pedal gave that extra something to the performance of both the affore mentioned songs. The only down side is that the pedal is made of plastic, but saying that the plastic is very thick and sturdy, not sure that I would want to stomp too hard on it though. Changing the battery is very simple, it gives control to Bass, Treble, Gain and Level, provides 2 Fuzz sounds and a Bass Boost function on the small 3 possition switch. And another plus is that if there's a power cut and you are running it on battery you could probably use it as a torch because the power LED is blindingly bright :)

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works okay, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
a bit tricky to set up but once set up it works well.It takes a bit of experimenting with the controls to get the right sound. It is very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
First pedal i've ever bought, would definitely buy off behringer again because its good quality but without the stupid price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
Great piece of kit and well built ! my son loves it and sounds great. Turns a boring lead guitar into rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boost handy but fuzz unpleasant, 8 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
This is not a fuzz in the conventional sense. It has a pretty nasty tone that is difficult to work with. Sometimes (it seems by accident) you achieve a usable sound, but with minor changes to the settings it's gone. It can occasionally surprise you, but more often than not it just gives you a headache. The reason for this is because the circuit mixes in some ring modulation which can make things messy and discordant - minor chords give a scrambled, metallic result. On the other hand, root and fifth give a very powerful sound.The boost function is excellent by the way with plenty of volume on tap.

There are other fuzz pedals that have a range of sounds (and respond well to varying the guitar volume) but this one is tricky to dial in. However, some of the anarchic noises it can produce might be just what some people are looking for. Those looking for Fuzz Face / Tonebender tones might want to avoid it - and that blue LED is painfully bright !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nasty, but in a good way, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
I'm no fuzz expert at all, though I understand there are many different types and many fuzz aficionados out there who are far better qualified to talk about such things. Still, these are the things I found notable:

The first fuzz setting is horrible, horribly amazing though. A more modern sounding, slightly blunter take on fuzz than "FUZZ 2", it makes a Ramones riff sound like Damaged era Black Flag in the push of a pedal! Turning up the bass makes things sound pleasantly sludgy.

The second setting is DIRTY. With treble way up, it can impregnate a woman at 50 paces, and makes you sound like the better guitarist in a 60s garage rock band! Turn up the bass, and you have instant doom! Treble up or down, there is a sound within what this setting does that is like the audio equivalent of shrapnel or broken glass, and the setting has a sharper, clearer sound than FUZZ 1.

The gain boost is fun too, I find it's good to play surf with - that and a bit of reverb (or my replacement, the flexible Behringer Vintage Delay 400, with the repeat rate turned way up). This being said, it doesn't do much besides boost the gain, as it says.

The batteries I can't comment on - since my Chord OD pedal ate through several in no time, I've been a user of power supplies instead. Endless fun! The build of the pedal is solid, despite being plastic, the design is most aesthetic, and it's very user friendly.

As for problems, it would be that both fuzz settings distort too much, burying more subtle sounds and making sevenths and such sound terrifying rather than smooth. Fuzz is also less noticeable on higher pitched notes. I don't know if it's just this pedal or fuzz in general, so don't hold me to this.

Still, it's a lot of fun. If you want to play some psychedelia or garage rock you could do worse than this, especially considering the price, and it'll have many uses for punks and metalheads too. Watch some demos or something though, because christ, I hardly know what I'm talking about and this is the only fuzz pedal I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huge fun.., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
Not for the faint hearted. A snarling monster of a pedal. Scares bats. In fact, scares everything.Huge fun..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the money, but.., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
It works well putting a fuzzy noise when you play, but it the downside is that it doesn't come with a power source so if you want to play with it immediately i suggest you go and get one, i wouldn't use the battery tho coz it eats its way through them in no time. Overall it is a good piece of kit for the money and is very fun to use(:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Pedal, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
great product, but make sure you read the paper work? I bought it & didn't realise it didn't come with the transformer to plug it in, not the companies fault, Mine, but be aware! the pedal itself is great, well made & works a treat, thanks, Martin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good - battery not included, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz (Electronics)
i really liked it , it worths its cost but it does not include a battery so you have to charge it all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behringer SF-300 Super Fuzz
20.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews