Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midsomer Humour
Purchased these for my wife as she is a great fan. As ever the stories live up to expectation, bizarre murders and behaviour in this most dangerous area of English countryside with a lot of black humour. Excellent !!!

The order was delivered promptly and in fine condition.

My only beef, which is not Amazon's fault, is the habit that the publishers...
Published on 4 Feb 2010 by BlueBoy

versus
19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
The quality of the pic and am amazed that a recent TV series has been put out on DVD with NO SUBTITLES!!! When are hard of hearing and deaf people going to be included????
Published on 17 April 2008 by MizzK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midsomer Humour, 4 Feb 2010
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
Purchased these for my wife as she is a great fan. As ever the stories live up to expectation, bizarre murders and behaviour in this most dangerous area of English countryside with a lot of black humour. Excellent !!!

The order was delivered promptly and in fine condition.

My only beef, which is not Amazon's fault, is the habit that the publishers have of releasing more than 1 style of boxset. We have been collecting the 10 DVD collections but these are now overlapping with release of softpack series collections ( normally 6 to 8 episodes) so it pays to be careful. This collection (the fifth) was a reasonable price but others, like the 4th are outrageous so we currently have a gap in our collection.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will the killing never end? I hope it doesn't!, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
In this fifth collection of Midsomer Murders, the inimitable DCI Barnaby is joined by a new sidekick, the doughty Sergeant Jones; very different from the rough and ready womaniser DS Scott. However, little else has changed, and the pair successfully investigate a slew of rural slayings, involving jealousy, adultery, sex, sado-masochism, and sheer insanity.
The series shows no sign of outstaying its welcome, and John Nettles cements his status as an iconic TV sleuth for our times. Great macabre escapism; let's hope Causton's finest fail to find themselves twiddling their thumbs for some years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
Worthwhile purchasing if you like the Midsomer Murder series - good to watch again although now being repeated on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another set of unbelievable crimes, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
Another good selection of not too serious crimes to enjoy. Maybe these two should be quicker finding the criminal before this massacre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 17 April 2008
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
The quality of the pic and am amazed that a recent TV series has been put out on DVD with NO SUBTITLES!!! When are hard of hearing and deaf people going to be included????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midsomer Murders (in french Inspecteur BARNABY), 18 Aug 2008
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
I agree with the 2 french comments : why don't you propose this DVD's with other languages? I thought of buying Midsomer Murders but the comment of the other person with an hearing weakness convinced me not to. I could have read the subtitles in English but as there are none, then I won't buy it. Why do you limit your sales territory to english speaking people only? Most of the DVD's we can buy in France include languages such as english, spanish, etc... We are European aren't we?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French and Deaf aside..., 11 Sep 2008
By 
M. Ward (Newark, Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
This is a fantastic collection of episodes, as with all the previous ones, there is just as much to watch here as in the other series.

I've never seen such weird reviews on Amazon. To be honest, loads of DVD's don't have subtitles or language changes. No need to bad mouth it. Cracking set.

Check out other sites to get it a bit cheaper. Ebay, play etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to the mark but still fun, 5 Oct 2008
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
I too am not sure that complaints about lack of subtitles etc are really pertinent. That said, I didn't think this one was quite up to the standard of previous boxsets. As well as a few uninspired plots, there's also some lazy writing, exemplified by the careless, unsatisfactory explanation for the change of Barnaby's sidekick part-way through the set. On the whole, though, still fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beaucoup de chance, 19 Sep 2007
This review is from: Midsomer Murders : The Fifth Collection - A Further 10 Investigations [10 DVD Boxed Set] (DVD)
Vous avez beaucoup de chance vous les Anglais, de pouvoir acheter directement cette très bonne série. Chez nous en France elle n'est mème pas distribuée, il faut attendre qu'il la sorte sous forme de collection (vous allez acheter votre DVD chaque semaine chez votre marchand de journaux) ou encore par abonnement. La qualité technique des DVD n'est pas toujours au rendez-vous. Enfin!!!Pour cette nouvelle série qui passe actuellement sur l'une de nos chaines de télévision (France3), il va encore falloir attendre pour l'avoir. Il n'est mème pas sûr du tout qu'elle soit un jour disponible . Toutes mes excuses pour ce commentaire en Français, mais je ne parle pas Anglais.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews