Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great CD
It is not often you buy a CD and like all tracks but this is just a fantastic collection with nice vocals and a fantastic sound.
Published 14 months ago by Lindsay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm. Not what I was expecting.
Reading other reviewers' comments I expected more than this less than memorable sequence of uncatchy and slightly poppy tunes. Granted I've only listened once (and will post another review if it grows on me) but this collection for me appears to share no DNA with the magnificance of One Morning Dove.
Published on 28 Sep 2008 by G. Boggia


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm. Not what I was expecting., 28 Sep 2008
By 
G. Boggia (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
Reading other reviewers' comments I expected more than this less than memorable sequence of uncatchy and slightly poppy tunes. Granted I've only listened once (and will post another review if it grows on me) but this collection for me appears to share no DNA with the magnificance of One Morning Dove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great CD, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
It is not often you buy a CD and like all tracks but this is just a fantastic collection with nice vocals and a fantastic sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In which Dot Allison channels the spirit of folk, 25 April 2011
By 
S. D. Nunn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
Dot Allison could probably be accused of inconsistency, as every album she releases seems to be driven by a need to radically depart from her previous style. This would be a major issue if she wasn't such a darn fine song writer.

On 'Exaltation of Larks' - a title I assume references the likes of Vaughan Williams - Allison becomes a folk-driven singer-song writer, replete with accompanying banjos, folk violin, lots and lots of pretty lo-fi style picked stringed instruments and the spectre of Nick Drake lending an ephereal guiding hand. She seems to have adopted a very old fashioned way of recording her voice so that it is simultaneously dense yet fragile ... in truth some people aren't going to like this much. In places it veers dangerously towards parady; but for the strength of the material and the sincerity of the performance, this could work to the detriment of the album.

Of course the opposite comes much nearer to the truth, that 'Exaltation of Larks' plays out like a melencholic tribute to a moment where female innocence is emancipated without denying the emancipation of woman. Thus Allison gets to put together a beautiful set of songs about love and loss, without once straying into slushy sentiment (witness 'You Dropped your Soul').

Blinding stuff - the stuff of legends. One day she'll be discovered - maybe this will be a good thing, maybe not. In the meantime she gets better and better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally exalting, 17 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
unlike anything you've ever heard before. understated, breathlessly beautiful, warm, intoxicating. like floating into outer space in an ocean of love. the 3rd installment in an extraordinary series of albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exaltation of dot, 5 Sep 2007
By 
attack-nyc (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
again and again dot allison is able to dip into the zeitgeist, transform it and transcend it. quietly, she has emerged as a bit of an aural-auteur, a master and commander of her own form, medium, and moment. she soared above the ambient tripout with ONE DOVE, delivered peerless pop with her solo debut AFTERGLOW, out-classed the whole of electroclash with WE ARE SCIENCE and now, this haunting, ethereal masterstroke, redefining the notion of nufolk, psychedelia, what have you...she has woven her own tapestry steeped in a real connection to her influences and forefathers and mothers (Dusty, Emmylou...Gene Clark, Brian Wilson, etc) and made a heart-stopping masterpiece. full stop. bravo dot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...take a bow...", 23 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
I was really into Dot's WE ARE SCIENCE and had heard some One Dove so didn't know what to expect but I started hanging out on her myspace page and hearing samples and stuff and I really liked where she was going - I really dig songs on her last record like "Lover" - it's modern but very spacious, like country from Mars or something and this expands that to a delirious degree! This is just a beautiful album from start to finish and I can't get with what that other guy said (that jerk who dissed the record!)- if you wanted another electro album, go buy some crummy nu-rave or some of the other retread copy-cat music the kids are making today - if you're buying this record you want to hear the voice of a true artist evolving, spreading her wings...from the first song it envelops you - and hello!! KRAMER is a legend - he's produced some of my favorite stuff ever - Galaxie 500...LOW! EXALTATION is sort of like a slo-core symphony.
"These tall flowers must take a bow..."
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIKE NOTHING YOU'VE EVER HEARD BEFORE - AN UNEARTHLY MASTERPIECE, 29 Aug 2007
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
I couldn't agree more. The astonishing DOT ALLISON, after a career-long habit of breaking with tradition and giving her fans so much more than they could ever have expected, has finally given us the masterpiece we have all so patiently waited for. Thanks in part to genius producer KRAMER (Shimmy-Disc, Galaxie 500, Low, Daniel Johnston and so much more) who contributed arrangements and performed so elegantly throughout, this collection of songs is absolutely unlike anything you have ever heard before. THIEF OF ME and ALLELUJAH stand out, but it seems negligent to offer these 2 above the others when each and every song herein is a tiny masterpiece in and of itself. Not since Neil Young's HARVEST have i experienced an entire LP from beginning to end that just doesn't miss a beat. But don't let that comparison confuse you, as this otherworldly, subtle LP is nothing less than utterly peerless, priceless, incomparable, uniquely nestled in its own world. Honorable mention must go to the near-perfect ballad SUNSET (ummagumma-era pink floyd, eat your heart out), which could effortlessly melt a glacier in 5 minutes flat. It's also the one song in this pantheon of human emotion co-written by Dot & Kramer, heralding a collaboration that this listener thinks will stand the test of time and remain a memorable hallmark of this drab musical era's otherwise worthless offerings, long into the future. Nothing less than a MASTERPIECE. How on EARTH can she possibly top this? I can hardly wait to see. The amazing Dot Allison just gets more and more amazing. 10 STARS out of 5 and i am not kidding. Spread the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An un-earthly case of larking about, 6 Oct 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
The critics have been rather beastly about Dot Allison's third solo album claiming it's anything from MOR mush to as flat and dull as East Anglia. I don't think that's fair at all , I rather like East Anglia and oohhh I was talking about Dot Allison. That most definitely isn't fair either ,Exaltation of Larks might be slightly mono paced but it's a truly lovely languorous pace . The sort you might use walking through some serenely picturesque dappled glade in high summer.
Over speckled keyboards, indolently strummed guitars and fulsome orchestration Dot Allison exhales breathily over ten songs that like "Spirit Of Eden "Talk Talk or Joanna Newsome's "Yss" don't do verses or choruses but seem to emerge organically from your speakers. Banjo springs sprightly up on "Thief Of Me" , "You Dropped Your Soul" and "Quicksand" and even that old seventies thing the mellotron creaks into "Sunset" and "M,Aidez Call" courtesy of producer Kramer who does much of the playing , even the toy flute on "Tall Flowers".
Dot Allison co-writes a lot of this album but this curiously doesn't lead to much variety in the music. Only final track "Longitude And Latitude Of Mystery" asserts itself somewhat with a somewhat poppier arrangement , sort of like Julee Cruise's "Rocking Back Inside My Heart" mixed with Cat Stevens, though not quite that bizarre because that would be silly .Dot,s voice quavers and glides serenely over the billowing arrangements but occasionally her gauzy reverie cracks .With "In Deep Water" she has been compared-again unfairly - to Enya but I feel she sounds more like Liz Frazer before she learned to enunciate properly . Its quite intoxicating. Her vocals on "Alleujah " are lovely to the hilt of something lovely , why it even cracks a little at the top of her register which is a trait I personally love.
Once or twice the album drags a little ."Tall Flowers" is as dreary as the albums detractors would have you believe the whole album is and "Shivering " out stays its welcome but overall Exaltation Of Larks is a gorgeous exhumation of effulgent emotion and melody . But at times it requires patience and maybe even a little concentration to distinguish what is going on under the wafting strings and horizon blotting keyboards. Clearly most music critics have better things to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A great voice is never enough!, 17 Sep 2007
By 
D. J. Hoggett (norwich, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exaltation Of Larks (Audio CD)
'Exaltation of Larks' is a massive disappointment if you expected progression from the wondefully lo-fi 'We Are Science'. I was expecting a slighty higher budget, more sophisicated version of her former album, but sadly this not the case. What we have in its place is a painfully regressive piece of work, which sounds as if Dot has been stuck in Ireland too long with only a copy of 'Leonard Cohen's Greatest Hits' for company.

I just can't understand the purpose of releasing an album like this. She has such a great voice, but this is wasted with such dated and unoriginal material. There must be many contemporary producers who would love to work with her, but instead we get this rather celtic self absorbed offering. Perplexing.

This is definitely a case of 'borrow instead of buy' to save yourself a few pounds. If Dot does another album, it will be better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exaltation Of Larks
Exaltation Of Larks by Dot Allison (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews