Customer Reviews


280 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 169 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Lego - Sadly Few Larger Bricks??
This is a great box of Lego if you want to expand your collection. The included Lego blocks come in nine different colours: yellow, red, blue, orange, brown, lime green, green, white and black. The orange, lime green and brown bricks are fairly rare so this set will allow you to build up your brick numbers in these colours. But most of the parts are smaller, there are...
Published on 23 Jun. 2009 by father2

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough standard sized bricks
These days, Lego tends to come in pre-determined sets with instructions to build a defined item (or two). As a child, I recall the days of having lots of mixed lego in order to create my own designs or build houses, etc.

This box of standard bricks promised to be the answer to my house building recollections - with 650 pieces. An excellent price from Amazon...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. C. Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough standard sized bricks, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
These days, Lego tends to come in pre-determined sets with instructions to build a defined item (or two). As a child, I recall the days of having lots of mixed lego in order to create my own designs or build houses, etc.

This box of standard bricks promised to be the answer to my house building recollections - with 650 pieces. An excellent price from Amazon and as always delivered within days.

However, on receipt of the item, I quickly realised that the set comprised many smaller bricks, i.e. approximately..

132 single bricks
224 1x2 bricks
136 2x2 bricks

...Nearly 500 small bricks in total !

There is then a mixture of single line bricks, 2x3's, and a couple of 2x8's. The standard 2x4 size bricks which I had hoped to find in larger volume only numbered 39 !

The smaller bricks are perhaps useful for building the smaller animal figures or adding a bit of detail or shape to your builds, but there is not enough to build anything significant - without having rows of smaller bricks.

Lego is a great toy, and I guess that is why it is expensive. There is the option to buy bricks in singular blocks on the lego website which may be the route to go down so that you know what you are getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


163 of 169 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Lego - Sadly Few Larger Bricks??, 23 Jun. 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
This is a great box of Lego if you want to expand your collection. The included Lego blocks come in nine different colours: yellow, red, blue, orange, brown, lime green, green, white and black. The orange, lime green and brown bricks are fairly rare so this set will allow you to build up your brick numbers in these colours. But most of the parts are smaller, there are hardly any larger bricks at all which is pretty disappointing.

Please note that these sets are currently available from the official Lego web site, which another reviewer has stated correctly are being offered for sale at £12.75. As a result I cannot understand why sellers here on Amazon.co.uk are currently offering this 6177 set at nearly twice this amount. Seems a bit of a rip off really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


199 of 212 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Product Description - Rip Off, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
I won’t say much - the price is completely ridiculous at 20 quid. I might be persuaded that half this price was reasonable if it included postage. As other say the brick mix is awful, the box gives full details of the piece makeup, but the product description on Amazon does not provide this (wonder why – maybe because it’s so lame).
I have counted the types of brick up on excel for everyone - here is the breakdown :
1 peg bricks – 132
2 pegs bricks – 224
4 peg brisk (squares) – 136
3 peg bricks – 36
6 peg bricks (rectangle) - 36
4 peg bricks (long) – 26
8 peg bricks (rectangle) – 39
6 peg bricks (long) – 10
12 peg bricks (rectangle) – 3
8 peg bricks (long) – 6
16 peg bricks (rectangle) - 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good expansion, 24 Nov. 2009
By 
Sean OToole (Derby, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
As it says on the box, this is just 650 pieces of assorted lego basic bricks, which whilst can be used to make anything that you can imagine, the end product will basic in itself without the inclusion of wheels, wings, roof tiles, windows, doors and all of the other special elements which make lego more interactive, and personally more fun.

The box also comes with an abundance of small bricks, 1x1 and 1x2 studs which are only really useful when making small scale models, though there is a reasonable amount of large bricks included also. The picture on the box itself is a little misleading, as it shows the bricks in roughly the same amount, whereas in the box there is considerably more red, blue, yellow and white bricks, with the other colours lacking.

For these reasons, it would be better to leave this set as an expansion to an existing lego collection, as there are limitations to what you can really do with this set as a starter. The creator buckets (Lego 5573 Build & play - limited edition - 643 pieces) would be more suitable for a first time buy, as it also comes in a handy storage box, though this in conjunction with one would be the perfect set for a starter. Though remember to shop around, as lego prices fluctuate heavily from place to place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a rip-off (retailer, not toy), 5 Feb. 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
This £12.75 from the Lego factory outlet! I award a zero overall rating for this retailer, who is charging double the proper Lego price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Basic Bricks, 22 Sept. 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
I have looked in shops and struggled to get basic bricks. Amazon had just what I wanted and it arrived on the day it was supposed to. My son has build several houses with it since and loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Lego, 15 May 2011
By 
Mrs. A. M. Owen "anjobowde" (Rye East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
These basic bricks allow children of all ages to use their imagination and experiment instead of instructing them how to build either an object or house etc. Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TESCO WAS EXACTLY HALF THE PRICE, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
This is ok, basically exactly what it says a mixed box of bricks.

My main problem is that after purchasing the item, the same day I found out that Tesco were selling it for exactly half this price. Amazon should check this out so customers are not ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please!, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
Lady Smith "Kal" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
These basic sets of bricks are becoming hard to find. Nowadays, you are expected to buy a set which builds into something specific. I think this is robbing children of the opportunity to create their own constructions. The basic sets of bricks available when I was a child, was all that was required to see the building of miriad projects. Lego need to produce sets of bricks; roof tiles; wheels and doors and windows, so children have the chance to use their imaginations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of small bricks, picture very misleading, 29 Jun. 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe (Toy)
This product contains lots of very small bricks, but if you look at the pictures of the models made on the box, very few small bricks are used as you would expect. As such the 'advertising' misrepresents this product.

As the patent on Lego has now expired I shall be looking for an alternative (even one that it's less expensive), where I can buy lots of bricks for making largish things (like houses).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO 6177 Basic Bricks Deluxe
£44.30
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews