Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Golf DVD out there, on a Legend of the game!!!
Superbly made film about a sporting Hero. This traces Seve's life from his poor up-bringing to his legendary status in the Golfing World. Seve takes us through how he learnt to play through to some of the greatest moments in his career.With interviews from some of the top golfing stars, all giving their favourite memories of shots / moments from Seve. It wasn't just that...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by BA

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not a DVD of the film
I thought I was buying a DVD of the film, In effect a collection of old TV clips, Never the less something to look at in the Winter nights
Published 5 months ago by golfer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Golf DVD out there, on a Legend of the game!!!, 9 Oct 2007
By 
BA (South East) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
Superbly made film about a sporting Hero. This traces Seve's life from his poor up-bringing to his legendary status in the Golfing World. Seve takes us through how he learnt to play through to some of the greatest moments in his career.With interviews from some of the top golfing stars, all giving their favourite memories of shots / moments from Seve. It wasn't just that Seve won, but how he won & how he played the game, that made him a legend. This is the best golf DVD out there about the most charismatic golfer to play the game. Must own for any Golf/sport fan..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four stars because it wasn't long enough...., 3 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this, well worth your cash. Could easily have watched another two or three hours of this informative and entertaining content...let alone listen to Seve recall past glories. Would also like to see the 3 wood out of the bunker as mentioned by another reviewer. If anyone has had the dubious "pleasure" of reading "Dream On" and agrees with me that it was best avoided...this DVD does genuine justice to Seve and makes you feel closer to him in spirit than could ever be achieved by John Richardson in his candy floss book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic documentary!, 9 Oct 2007
By 
David Dares (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD yesterday as Seve is one of my sporting heroes and it is one of the best documentaries i have ever seen. The participation and openness by Seve and the stories and thoughts from the world of golf, such as Tiger Woods, Tom Watson and Nick Faldo really make this an enjoyable and fascinating watch. The program charts Seve from a little boy growing up all the way through the ups and downs of his career (mostly ups), with Seve talking about his life and experiences, containing some brilliant footage (you forget HOW amazing he actually was!), through to his retirement this year. A must see for all golf and sporting fans, the story of a genius!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A golfing genious, 11 Jun 2011
By 
Alistair Drake (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this video just shortly after his death to remind me of how much of a gifted player he really was, and for all at least blessed with the golfing bug, it won't disappoint.
He was the most naturally gifted player that ever lived and his genius is captured for all time. No player could do what he could with a golf club and ball, not even Nicklaus, Woods or Trevino.
What also comes across in the video is the passion of the man and his humbleness at his own unique talents. He will be sadly missed but this video will bring a smile to your face and you will feel the warmth of his achievements as you watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just sit down and enjoy!, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
For many, Seve, has become an "iconic" figure inspiring many golfers. This DVD, made before his tragic early death, gives us a reminder of his unique talents. Being critical one could have done with more of his play but this only a minor point. His sheer determination to win is encapsulated in this DVD and it his hardly surprising that his spirit inspired the "Miracle at Median."
A must for all golf fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seve, a video feast., 11 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this video, as it showed clips of his genius from his very early days to his sad retirement from the game in 2007.

As an ardent Seve watcher, I have viewed a lot of the action before, however there are still many amazing shots which I had not seen at all. On the other hand, I still have not seen on video his miraculous fairway bunker shot with a 3 wood at the 18th hole in the 1983 Ryder Cup to halve his match with Fuzzy Zoeller.
I was hoping to see it as it is described enough by friends and in many book and magazine articles. Where is the clip? Help!

However, this DVD is great value and I would also recommend that Seve's newly published autobiography would compliment this DVD very well for any true golf lover.

There is a scene where Seve tries to copy his younger days as he endeavours to get his leg over a wall to enter his local golf club. Priceless!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not a DVD of the film, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
I thought I was buying a DVD of the film, In effect a collection of old TV clips, Never the less something to look at in the Winter nights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars and it's great. This Seve is a long, 6 Nov 2014
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
You're right, I bought the wrong DVD too. Just got the real film in Tesco's, though, and it's great. This Seve is a long, sometimes interesting but sometimes interminable wind through Seve's career, basically a reel of clips. The Seve film has a proper narrative, all the best footage, plus some exceptional new stuff this DVD doesn't have. It's expertly edited and really pulls you along with its score and the drama of Seve's youth which lends a true theatrical aspect to proceedings with a great combination of play and archive process.

Still, this is a well-told (Jimmy Nesbitt) extensive roll through Seve's career, albeit for fans only. As a Seve fan I like both. My wife loved the film, but was bored rigid by this. 'Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More of Seve's talent on DVD please, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. W. S. Mcluckie "mcluck6" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is a treat for all Seve fans. Great insight into Seve's career, including lots of rare tournament footage (e.g. shot played through trees while on his knees!). Includes some really insightful snippets from contemporaries including Ben Crenshaw and Tom Watson. Loved the banter between Seve and Olly when Seve missed his downhill putt at the Ryder cup to leave Olly a nasty return to win the match. I don't think Olly will let him forget that one any time soon! Having watched Seve throughout his career, I'd love to see more of his exploits in the 70's and 80's, e.g. DVDs of the Masters wins and Ryder cup matches. This DVD will keep me happy until then - terrific stuff indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stocking filler, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD] (DVD)
A gifts so not yet experienced service was excellent and ideal price for a stocking filler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seve : The Definitive Story Of A Golfing Genius [DVD]
£3.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews