Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is everbody so unhappy?
When I saw all the poor reviews I felt I had to defend this film. This is not highbrow drama, made to make a bold statement about the human condition. This film is entertainment. Yes its unbelievable, Yes it has some dodgy plot twists and the end is not as conclusive as we have been led to expect in happy ending hollywood films. But does this matter. As a bit of a...
Published on 17 Mar 2008 by S. J. Kelly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Next
When I bought this film the plot sounded really good. A guy can see 2 minutes into his own future, and can therefore change it. This is an action packed film, and from the start does a convincing job of revealing the plot. Obviously the law enforcement agencies are keen to find this person, but there search also leads terrorists to him.

I didn't dislike the...
Published on 13 Nov 2007 by The Evil Doctor


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is everbody so unhappy?, 17 Mar 2008
By 
S. J. Kelly (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw all the poor reviews I felt I had to defend this film. This is not highbrow drama, made to make a bold statement about the human condition. This film is entertainment. Yes its unbelievable, Yes it has some dodgy plot twists and the end is not as conclusive as we have been led to expect in happy ending hollywood films. But does this matter. As a bit of a brainless film to watch its great. Doesnt pretend to be anything else. Goodies, Baddies, superpowers and the end of the world. Who needs more after a hard day. I saw it in the cinema and still bought the DVD. It honestly isnt as bad as its made out to be by some, just dont expect Shakespeare
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEXT Please. Sit down and enjoy the hookum, 4 Feb 2008
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
I think Nic Cage was excellent in this film. There are some people who won't watch a film if Cage is in it but overall he can make a film worth watching. He never comes across as being too serious in the parts he plays but he is a favourite of mine so I will be biased on this film. I thought it carried along just at the right pace making it an enjoyable romp from start to finish and his ability to look into his future by only a few minutes with the exception of his love interest helps make this a good film worth watching. Plenty of action keeps it rolling along with a little tongue in cheek. Enjoy it as your NEXT film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Next, 13 Nov 2007
By 
The Evil Doctor (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
When I bought this film the plot sounded really good. A guy can see 2 minutes into his own future, and can therefore change it. This is an action packed film, and from the start does a convincing job of revealing the plot. Obviously the law enforcement agencies are keen to find this person, but there search also leads terrorists to him.

I didn't dislike the film overall, but some parts just really make you wonder.

First off, Biel plays Cage's destiny. Obviously he has a few attempts at saying the right thing using his ability, but surely it would take more than a few cheesey one-liners to get a nice woman to drive you across the country?

Second, some of the special effects are really poor. The car jumping across the traintrack at the start, and the logs rolling down the grand canyon are really badly keyed. Although things get much better later on, it was surprising to see something so unconvincing in a high-budget action film.

Lastly, the ending of the film is really bad. I won't spoil the plot but it ends so abruptly that I wondered whether I'd pressed the NEXT button on my remote. Its all a bit unrewarding for the viewer, but the film still remains as entertaining viewing up to that point.

Not a bad film overall, but certainly not a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Boys, 7 Nov 2007
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
"Next" starts promisingly...the opening scenes have Cage showing off his powers (being able to anticipate events up to 2 mins into the future) and are great fun to watch. However the filmmakers seemed to have decided that there wasn't enough mileage in the concept and so they start to change the rules only 10 minutes in...the outcome is like a Jerry Bruckheimer version of Groundhog Day, perhaps not a bad thing in itself but sadly the bad guys aren't very well drawn and the final act doesn't work at all. In addition Nicholas Cage looks really weird, he's always been a fairly interesting looking soul but he's starting to show the tale-tale signs of a man fighting his age; unnaturally taut skin with a shiny, mahogany look...a sort of Barbie Uncle Ken if you will.
Next is okay, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent Thriller, 5 April 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Next [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When I first saw the trailer for "NEXT" I thought it seemed a bit too corny and a bit too full of CGI to even give us a credible storyline. However I was proven wrong when, after a recommendation from a friend I decided to get this on Blu-Ray.
From the first few minutes of this film I knew my first impressions of this film were clouded by partial judgment, as within the first few minutes we were subjected to a slick and stylish action thriller.

The story is that a small time Vegas strip magician known as Cris Johnson has an extraordinary gift to be able to see 2 minutes ahead. This to Cris is a curse as he is never surprised and as a child subjected him to rigorous testing which left him bitter and lonely. After Cris sees that a man is about to rob the Casino, he tries to stop him which leads to a misunderstanding and means that Cris has to leave. After stylishly dodging each security guard he manages to escape the Casino and the clutches of the FBI who are chasing him for another reason. A group of Russian terrorists gain possession of a Nuclear device and threaten to set it off in L.A. The Russians want to kill him and the FBI want him to help them prevent this major terrorist situation, the only problem is that Cris is always two minutes ahead of schedule.

Nicholas Cage has never really been my favourite actor, but in roles such as this he really pulls off the character brilliantly. Cris Johnson is a man that has never been surprised, he's always been able to tell what happens next and this has helped him escape some sticky situations.

Jessica Biel plays the love interest, that admittedly has no real depth to her character or any sort of dimension that would make us care for her and their relationship.

Julianne Moore plays the hardarse FBI agent who simply wants him to help prevent the possible deaths of 8 million people. She simply wants him to help prevent the tragedy then to send him on his way, but as she comes to know Cris and how he feels and works she becomes more emotionally involved and it eventually becomes a relationship that is more than just business.

Overall the film is quite intelligent and quite slick, the scenes where we see Cris consider all possible scenarios before he takes the appropriate action are very well done. The character of Liz really drags down this movie as the relationship seems rushed and simply doesn't work as the character is very much one dimensional anyway. I honestly think Cage shines in this film and action movies are something that I think Cage can actually carry on his shoulders.

This is a very good popcorn movie although it did have its flaws there's no doubt it's entertaining and can give you a good night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok - not developed as far as it could have been, 17 April 2008
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
Next is a reasonable and watchable film. It's ending suggests a follow up in the near future. Either that or the producer couldn't quite think where to go next. Jessica Biel is wasted as not much more than eye candy. Whilst Julianne Moore does a great job as the FBI agent who eats nails for breakfast. Nicolas Cage looks a bit off colour in this, as if he used too much stage make up - not an imporant point, just couldn't help but notice. Over all just ok viewing not as good as I had hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 10 Dec 2007
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
I've been somewhat of a Cage fan since his brilliant double act with Sean Connery in "The Rock". Alas, nothing he's done since has come up to that standard (but then Connery tends to lend class to anything in which he appears). This cute little film is no exception. Nevertheless, I found this story of a guy who can see two minutes ahead to be rather entertaining - the trying out of various approaches to the girl of his dreams is particularly funny, as his his escape from the casino, in knowing precisely where to stand and where to turn every time, to avoid pursuing Federal agents. The terrorist plot, with its bizarre babble of languages, is, well, bizarre and unconvincing, and Julianne Moore has little to do except appear grim and determined. However, the ending is rather neat and surprising. Perfect fare for long airline flights and times when you don't want to be mentally stimulated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Next' - the quiz., 1 Oct 2007
By 
A. Miles (Al Khor, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
1) Who do the terrorists who wnat to blow up LA represent?
2) Why do they want to blow up LA in the first place?
3) Why do the FBI think that it is a good idea to get psychic Nic Cage involved?
4) If it is such a good idea, why have they never thought of it before?
5) Why is Nic so unwilling to help humanity that he runs away?
6) Why is Peter Falk in it for 5 minutes at the beginning?
7) Why bother claiming that this is a PK Dick film when it has almost nothing in common with the original short story?
8) Etc. Dont look to the film for answers to these questions.

Next. would be pretty good as a straight no-brainer action film but the enormous holes in the plot and massively contrived storyline stopped me from enjoying it. It's spoilt by aspiring to more than it's capable of being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Next, 23 Sep 2007
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
Marketed as a sci-fi-action movie, "Next" was a huge box office failure. And it's a somewhat strange mix of genres. It starts out as more of a drama about a psychic, Cris (Nicolas Cage), working in Las Vegas, who meets Liz (Jessica Biel), a woman he's previously seen in visions. We're also introduced to Agent Ferris (Julianne Moore) and her team, who are looking for a missing bomb and asks Cris for help. He reluctantly helps them when he realizes Liz may be in danger.

Then the viewer is rather abruptly thrown into fast, but quite uninspired action scenes with lots of shooting. Sometimes, Cris's special gift of seeing into the future seems a bit too convenient a way for him to get out of trouble. Before long, the movie is over, and the ending is something of a letdown.

"Next" felt like a pretty short movie, and it was not a bad way to spend an hour and a half, although I wouldn't recommend it for those looking for a non-stop action movie. It's entertaining, but not without flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Mrs. D. A. Northgate (Hornsey, North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
Didnt see myself enjoying this (sorry for the pun..), However I was very supprised. I found this to be very original and entertaining, although it perhaps could have moved a tad quicker in places. I would really like to see a sequel, as I think there is a lot of potential. Cage gives a great, if not samey performance, - far better than Ghostrider! I did find Biels acting a little weak - she seemed to portray little depth of character, but then the script i dont think helped in this area. A good an unexpected ending, although I did feel a little bit cheated as I wanted to see more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Next [DVD]
Next [DVD] by Lee Tamahori (DVD - 2007)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews