Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is everbody so unhappy?
When I saw all the poor reviews I felt I had to defend this film. This is not highbrow drama, made to make a bold statement about the human condition. This film is entertainment. Yes its unbelievable, Yes it has some dodgy plot twists and the end is not as conclusive as we have been led to expect in happy ending hollywood films. But does this matter. As a bit of a...
Published on 17 Mar 2008 by S. J. Kelly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok - not developed as far as it could have been
Next is a reasonable and watchable film. It's ending suggests a follow up in the near future. Either that or the producer couldn't quite think where to go next. Jessica Biel is wasted as not much more than eye candy. Whilst Julianne Moore does a great job as the FBI agent who eats nails for breakfast. Nicolas Cage looks a bit off colour in this, as if he used too much...
Published on 17 April 2008 by Charles Gosling


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is everbody so unhappy?, 17 Mar 2008
By 
S. J. Kelly (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw all the poor reviews I felt I had to defend this film. This is not highbrow drama, made to make a bold statement about the human condition. This film is entertainment. Yes its unbelievable, Yes it has some dodgy plot twists and the end is not as conclusive as we have been led to expect in happy ending hollywood films. But does this matter. As a bit of a brainless film to watch its great. Doesnt pretend to be anything else. Goodies, Baddies, superpowers and the end of the world. Who needs more after a hard day. I saw it in the cinema and still bought the DVD. It honestly isnt as bad as its made out to be by some, just dont expect Shakespeare
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEXT Please. Sit down and enjoy the hookum, 4 Feb 2008
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
I think Nic Cage was excellent in this film. There are some people who won't watch a film if Cage is in it but overall he can make a film worth watching. He never comes across as being too serious in the parts he plays but he is a favourite of mine so I will be biased on this film. I thought it carried along just at the right pace making it an enjoyable romp from start to finish and his ability to look into his future by only a few minutes with the exception of his love interest helps make this a good film worth watching. Plenty of action keeps it rolling along with a little tongue in cheek. Enjoy it as your NEXT film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This fine film will split its audience, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, it is excellently produced, with first-rate graphic effects, camera work and direction.

The story itself is typical Philip K. Dick - a level above normality, yet a normality in itself.

The ending leaves the viewer dissatisfied, but afterwards on reflection it is the perfect ending as the film looks from the viewpoint of the main character rather than (what is actually) the subordinate plot.

Well worth seeing, and the ending will give cause for thought and perhaps a feeling that one has glimpsed through the eyes of Philip K. Dick rather than merely reading one of his stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rmb, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
This film is unusual in that it almost Sci-Fi but borders on the paranormal.Very well acted by the cast.has lots of twists and turns in the story and what I like about this film is you never know whats coming 'next'. you will want to watch it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stuff, 1 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never quite understand why so many folks dislike Nicolas Cage as an actor. I thought he came over very well in this film. The story must have been quite difficult to adapt into a film and the director should be pleased with his efforts.
I really enjoyed the movie and and would recommend it to those with similar tastes in entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok - not developed as far as it could have been, 17 April 2008
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
Next is a reasonable and watchable film. It's ending suggests a follow up in the near future. Either that or the producer couldn't quite think where to go next. Jessica Biel is wasted as not much more than eye candy. Whilst Julianne Moore does a great job as the FBI agent who eats nails for breakfast. Nicolas Cage looks a bit off colour in this, as if he used too much stage make up - not an imporant point, just couldn't help but notice. Over all just ok viewing not as good as I had hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JennyG - better than expected, 15 Nov 2007
By 
JennyG (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
Wasn't sure what to expect but this was actually quite good. A little difficult to follow at times but if you didn't try too hard it was an entertaining movie. Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Next, 13 Nov 2007
By 
The Evil Doctor (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
When I bought this film the plot sounded really good. A guy can see 2 minutes into his own future, and can therefore change it. This is an action packed film, and from the start does a convincing job of revealing the plot. Obviously the law enforcement agencies are keen to find this person, but there search also leads terrorists to him.

I didn't dislike the film overall, but some parts just really make you wonder.

First off, Biel plays Cage's destiny. Obviously he has a few attempts at saying the right thing using his ability, but surely it would take more than a few cheesey one-liners to get a nice woman to drive you across the country?

Second, some of the special effects are really poor. The car jumping across the traintrack at the start, and the logs rolling down the grand canyon are really badly keyed. Although things get much better later on, it was surprising to see something so unconvincing in a high-budget action film.

Lastly, the ending of the film is really bad. I won't spoil the plot but it ends so abruptly that I wondered whether I'd pressed the NEXT button on my remote. Its all a bit unrewarding for the viewer, but the film still remains as entertaining viewing up to that point.

Not a bad film overall, but certainly not a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Boys, 7 Nov 2007
This review is from: Next [DVD] (DVD)
"Next" starts promisingly...the opening scenes have Cage showing off his powers (being able to anticipate events up to 2 mins into the future) and are great fun to watch. However the filmmakers seemed to have decided that there wasn't enough mileage in the concept and so they start to change the rules only 10 minutes in...the outcome is like a Jerry Bruckheimer version of Groundhog Day, perhaps not a bad thing in itself but sadly the bad guys aren't very well drawn and the final act doesn't work at all. In addition Nicholas Cage looks really weird, he's always been a fairly interesting looking soul but he's starting to show the tale-tale signs of a man fighting his age; unnaturally taut skin with a shiny, mahogany look...a sort of Barbie Uncle Ken if you will.
Next is okay, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time enough for love, 2 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Next [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A Las Vegas magician may be more than he appears to be. Nicholas Cage plays the part of Chris Johnson a man with a secret. He has the ability to look two minutes into the future. An FBI agent played by Julianne Moore discovers him. She requires his ability to prevent a catastrophe.

Will Chris Johnson look forward to helping or does he realize that once he is discovered he will be incarcerated for life and treated like a freak?

Just as FBI agents and other nefarious entities are pursuing him, he also has a vision of the future love played by Jessica Biel. What can he do? He must follow his vision; this complicates things.

We have the thrill of following Chris through his trials and tribulations as he balances his social responsibility and his need for love. We must always keep in mind that no good deed goes unpunished.

This is a formula film, which you have seen the formula many times such as in "Run Lola Run" (1998). On the other hand, a more action packed "déjà vu" (2006). I seen the Blu-Ray version of this film and it is well designed for Blu-Ray both in visuals and in sound. Be sure to look at the extras like "two minutes in the future with Jessica Biel". It may not be thought provoking but its darn good entertainment.

Déjà Vu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Next [DVD]
Next [DVD] by Jim Beaver (DVD - 2007)
2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews