Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kick booty movie
I thought this film was ace when i first saw it at the cinema. if you like lots of fighting, some blood sucking and a little romance then this is the movie for you. if you haven't seen the first movie titled underworld, then watch it before you watch this. Selene and micheal are back for some more action and adventure. the film carries on 24hours after the first one...
Published on 16 April 2006 by Movie fan

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
I like the Underworld films. I heard of them years ago and have to say that they sounded rubbish, but a friend said watch the original and i did. I liked it. So when the sequel came out, i was first in line to see it and i loved it.

Underworld Evolution is a rubbish film, but it is enjoyable rubbish. The plot is so silly that you can't help but enjoy it. One...
Published on 6 Oct 2006 by Mike Jonze


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kick booty movie, 16 April 2006
By 
I thought this film was ace when i first saw it at the cinema. if you like lots of fighting, some blood sucking and a little romance then this is the movie for you. if you haven't seen the first movie titled underworld, then watch it before you watch this. Selene and micheal are back for some more action and adventure. the film carries on 24hours after the first one left off with the death of viktor and the repercussions of that night. this movie however delves into the origins of the vampires and lycans and why they are at war and where they come from. it really is a good movie and i would recomend it to anyone who loves vampire movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but confusing at first !, 4 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sexy, leather clad Selene (Kate Beckinsale) and hybrid Michael (Scott Speedman) return in the second instalment and epic conclusion of the Underworld saga.

Whilst I have never pretend to be the smartest tooth in a vampires mouth I certainly feel that I am not the dullest, but for the first third of this movie I was beginning to get totally bemused as to what exactly was going on, who was who, and whom had allegiance to whom. But I do urge the viewer of this film to stick with it, as all those questions and internal confusion in the back of your mind are all answered remarkably well before the end of the movie. However I get the feeling that those of you with the mind of a `Frankenstien's monster' will either turn it off in utter bewilderment, or just sit there open mouthed through the gore fest.

The main plot of the sequel answers many unanswered questions, and introduces a host of new characters implied or mentioned only in brief in the first movie. Marcus (Tony Curren) has risen from his sleep - if you remember the blood dripping into his tomb within the vaults of the Great Mansion at the end of the last - and sets out to find his brother William, the original werewolf. But first he has to get hold of the two-part key to the prison in which William has been imprisoned, one part of which is held by our heroine Selene and the other by a mysterious figure with his own small militia - who turns out to be none other than Alexander (Derek Jacobi), the father to both Marcus and William.

As well as a lot of history being revealed and graphically shot at the start of the movie , Bill Nighy also returns as Victor, and the real reasons for him leaving Selene alive after slaughtering her family become more evident as the movie goes on. Len Wiseman and Danny McBride certainly did a terrific job in the writing of the story line.

There is a lot of blood in this movie - which I guess goes in tandem with Vampire and Werewolf movies these days, but I never felt it was too far over the top - though watch-out for the helicopter scene at the end of the movie, something you can see coming a mile off.

The only disappointing thing for me was some of the occasional shots and special effects of the werewolves, and I felt myself remembering the original Howling movie and American Werewolf In London on occasions. But this was certainly never enough to ruin the Underworld experience.

A dark and sinister, thoroughly enjoyable 102 minutes, and I certainly wouldn't mind a pound for every set of contact lenses used in production !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but so entertaining that doesn t matter too much..., 15 April 2006
"Underworld: evolution" is the sequel to "Underworld", the supernatural thriller regarding an old feud between vampires and lycans, and as such is more of the same. By that, I mean uncomplicated fun for those who from time to time enjoy watching a fast paced film that has elements of fantasy in it, and that lacks food for thought but makes up for that with lots of entertainment value.

Are you, like me, one of those people I mentioned above? If the answer is no, do not lose your time, this film is probably not the right one for you. If the answer is yes, I recommend you watch this movie, but only after having enjoyed the first one.

Now I am going to talk a little about the plot of "Underworld: evolution", so if you still have to watch the first movie in the series stop reading now, in order to avoid spoilers. The plot of this sequels picks up where the last one left off, and does an excellent job of allowing us to catch up with Selene (Kate Beckinsale), the beautiful vampire death-dealer, and Michael (Scott Speedman), the young lycan she has feelings for. Michael was turned by Selene into a hybrid of lycan and vampire in order to be saved from certain death, but that act of defiance and the fact that Selene killed an ancient vampire ruler to protect Michael, means that they are both on the run.

But what exactly has Michael turned into, and will they be able to survive? And what will happen when Marcus (Tony Curran), another of the vampire elders, turns into a hybrid of a different kind, and finally achieves the power to free his dangerous brother, William (Brian Steele)? Things become even more complicated when we find out that Marcus was the father of all vampires, as William was the father of all lycans. On top of everything, Marcus and William s father, Alexander Corvinus (Sir Derek Jacobi), decides to meddle and help Selene and Michael to stop his sons. The alternative is chaos, and a world full of crazed lycans running free and wreaking havoc.

In my opinion, Len Wiseman (director) and Danny McBride (scriptwriter) did a great job filling some of the blanks left in the first movie, and continuing to tell us about an alternate universe where vampire and lycans fight for supremacy among mankind. The result is that their story is more believable, and thus more engaging.

All in all, I can say that I really enjoyed watching this film, and that I believe that is even better than the first one. Of course, "Underworld: evolution" is not perfect, but it is so entertaining that does t matter too much. Highly recommended!

Belen Alcat

PS1: To Len Wiseman,please hurry up and make another sequel, I want to know what happens next to Selene and Michael :)

PS2: To parents, this movie has quite a lot of violence and a nude scene, so it is not adequate for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as much of a classic as the first, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underworld 2 - Evolution [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The sequel to a film that is a personal favourite of mine; the incredible Underworld. This means that I first watched this film with a constant hope that it would be something special, luckily it really doesn't disappoint. The action, the brutality; everything has been ramped up to eleven and everything has been given an expensive sheen, sure it loses the rawness which ensures the first films continued dominance but it certainly puts up one hell of a fight.

Underworld Evolutions action scenes have more going on in them than something with a lot of things going on, or something, they are very busy and sometimes busy means messy but the only mess here is the ramped up gore levels which can at times be amazingly grotesque often in a subtly disgusting way that might be missed unless you are concentrating on everything at once. It is always highly detailed, normally evoking a scrunched up face and occasional unintended (on the part of the viewer) smirk.

Underworld Evolution pushes the story forward while filling in more of a back-story, something that the first film was incredibly good at. Here we are introduced to the father of the vampires and lycans, who is also the first immortal. The story involves Marcus, the first vampire and his attempt to track down and free his brother (the first lycan). The further we get the more we see how Selene is tied into the whole story and the more action packed the film gets.

The film looks a lot more expensive than the first and the blue filter (?) everything is filmed with gives a beautiful pin sharp quality to the film that helps it to stand out even if it means some of the `feel' of the first film is lost in the process.

While you don't have to have watched the original film to enjoy this one it is recommended that you do for maximum enjoyment. A worthy successor to a film that should be labelled a classic. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 6 Oct 2006
I like the Underworld films. I heard of them years ago and have to say that they sounded rubbish, but a friend said watch the original and i did. I liked it. So when the sequel came out, i was first in line to see it and i loved it.

Underworld Evolution is a rubbish film, but it is enjoyable rubbish. The plot is so silly that you can't help but enjoy it. One good thing is that the action sequences are brilliant. They're big, bad and gory.

Plus Kate Beckinsale is HOT!!!! Find someone who looks better as a moody vampire. Scott Speedman is underused again, his super powerful yet keeps getting his ass kicked, but you let that go for the utter enjoyableness of it all.

This is well worth your attention if you liked the original, but whatever you do, don't pay full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice One-timer, 25 Sep 2006
By 
Wim Nelis "Wim" (Geel, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nice special effects, (very) nice Kate...:-) and....well that's about it, I guess. You can see from miles where the movie is going and the storyline is not that intelligent. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes vampire movies and lots of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SEXY!, 31 Aug 2006
I was always a fan of the original Underworld, I thought it was a elegant piece of film. Highly entertaining, and extremely well done with its minimal use of CG effcts. Stunning in fact. This is no exception. Allthough U:E is rawer, bloodier and heavier in use of cg, it is a masterpeice, and a wonder to look at. The use of color and sound is breathtaking. And the original was very regal, seen through the eyes of the aristocratic Vampires, this one is seen through the eyes of the thougher and wilder Lycons. Which delights me. This is why its bloodier and sexier. The Vampires are all about beauty, the Lycons are all about surviving. Victims of the war, missunderstood for centuries.

That is the majour reason why people did not take to this as much as the first, the carnage, sex and violence. But if you start to think of it was the Lycons version of the story, it all makes sense!

I for one, want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once bitten - you'll want even more, 26 July 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
For those of you (or should I say "us") who really got into Kate Beckinsale's azz-kicking gory days in Underworld, here's your chance for more of the same. Even though three years have passed in our time, Evolution takes up right where the first movie ended, but thanks to the magic of flashbacks we get some more background info on the blood feud and how it all began.

Way, way back, Alexander Corvinus had two sons, Marcus (Tony Curran) and William. The first was bitten by a bat and became a Death Dealer with the fangs to prove it, and the second was bitten by a wolf to become the forefather and prototype for the Lycans who get all furry and howl at the sight of a full moon. William however, was unable to control his blood lust, and made quite a nuisance of himself, until he was hunted down and locked away forever, much to Marcus's dismay and anger. Having been double crossed by Viktor (Bill Nighy), Marcus is out for revenge, and of course for blood.

Back to present day, the war between Vampire and Lycan continues, and Marcus is awakened with some new tricks up his wings and a burning desire to set William free. Standing in his way is Selene, the hottest vampire action heroine in recent movie history (Beckinsale naturally) and her trusty sidekick Michael the hybrid (Scott Speedman). Between them they unknowingly hold the key and the map to William's prison, and soon find themselves in Marcus's sights.

In between the fighting and hiding from the sun and such activities, the two leading characters manage to squeeze in a little nookie time, which of course provides some eye-candy for us the viewers with its strategic placement between all the carnage. The story line is a bit confusing if you haven't been making notes, and don't ever ask Selene her age, but as far as action, CGI and drama goes, this one is a non-stop thrill. Recommended for vampire lovers and blood suckers everywhere.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Sequel, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underworld 2 - Evolution [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well not sure what to say really.... this is a good movie anyway and BluRay as enhanced the experience - it helps if you have the other movies in the collection as you can have a night of good quality images and sound with a storyline that is OK, but as Kate looking great in her skin tight suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underworld 2 - Evolution [Blu-ray], 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underworld 2 - Evolution [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
another lacklustre uk release.

still no mpeg-4 video encoding or lpcm sound like the us or australian editions.

doesn't even have subtitles for the commentary.

abysmal value even at 5.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Underworld 2 - Evolution [Blu-ray]
Underworld 2 - Evolution [Blu-ray] by Michael Sheen (Blu-ray - 2007)
5.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews