Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun for all - and addictive!, 28 Dec 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
I am new to gaming, having only bought a PSP in April, but soon had a load of fun curtesy of Wipeout Pure. I was never brilliant at it but somehow that didn't matter - there was enough gameplay to keep me occupied for hours.

When I saw Pulse was to be released I immediately put it at the top of the wish list, and rued the fact it was delayed 3 months, but the wait was worth it.

This time round the graphics are excellent (They were not exactly poor with Pure though) and on a few tracks you almost feel your sense of balance going askew as the track really does undulate at great speed. The hexagon system already described took a bit of getting used to, but at least it forces you to attempt events you may have ignored on Pure, just because it was convenient to do so. No way can they be avoided here, but you may surprise yourself as to how well you do on events you thought were unbeatable.

Having played the two games, I would say this one takes a little of getting used to. It might be just my inexperience, but the ships on this feel a little more 'twitchy' which means tighter control is needed when cornering. Something that can be adapted to within a few races. The only frustration (in a nice way - it will get you screaming at the screen!) is that you do not get rewarded in race mode if you are in the lead and have had some good clean laps - the opposition seems to always be tight around you thus the frustration when you get obliterated with weapons :) The pay off is if you are not in the lead you rarely find you have much time to make up, so wins are always possible.

Weapon use has increased. Some are useful, others I have found don't really add much, but are useful to absorb, because believe me - in race mode you will need them.

Overall I am having a great time with this game and would recommend it to those new to Wipeout, but also to those who have purchased Pure. There is enough new or adapted content to keep the concept fresh. I am now just keeping an eye open for the promised downloads to enhance what is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, 19 Dec 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
I think this game is great fun - being a avid wipeout fan thats not surprising - well, there have been wipeout games that were pretty poor (the firs ps2 one for example). This is essentially the same engine as wipeout pure - the graphics have been jazzed up - alot more detail, funner weapons, amazing sound effects - much more apt for whats going on on screen. Im not up to the phantom league yet but so far ive not notcied any slow-down (which happened in w pure).
Online play works well, so much more fun than ai ships (ai is much improved - can set to easy, mid, hard).
New single player modes where you have to complete a series of blockbuster style grids - a mixture of single races, speed laps, time trials and zone races - i think this is a good approch - better than just having the time trial, races all in individual sections. (used to think time trial was the dull thing u did when u won all the races - not so)
oh and you get loyality points! like a tesco clubcard - not sure what this gets you (hopefully £). you get bonus points for perfick laps etc..
overall this is much more fun than the previous wipeout game - a smile will come accross your face when you blast your opponent - nice welcome return is the energy drain - which looks and feels so satisfying when in use.
Is it a big enough step up from wipeout pure, probably not, is it more fun YES, graphics, speed, general goodness makes this worth it if you liked the previous wipeout game(s)
GO>>>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WipEout Pure to WipEout Pulse, more than 3 letters difference?, 26 July 2008
By 
Jam "jamydoja" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
I was hesitant to buy this product since i already owned WipEout Pure for the PSP and many reviews said that this game was too similar to Pure.

I have found that this game is less of a seconed WipEout and more of an improved version of WipEout Pure. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who has owned and enjoyed WipEout Pure, this game is different enough to be worth your £20!

Gameplay: The ships seem to handle easier than in WipEout Pure, but the AI is also better, so that levels it out. Overall a brilliant racing experience.

Graphics: Amazing for the PSP, this game has better graphics than WipEout Fusion on the PS2!

Sound: Brilliant techno music and powerful weapon noises.

Lasting appeal: This game will last you a long time, it has a lengthy Carrer Mode and the Racebox option is great to pick-up-and-play for short journeys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
Item was in perfect condition, works as it should, looks like brand new and the box is even in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
love this game - probably the best racing game available on PSP. good gameplay, graphics and soundtrack. the only downside is the loading time before each race
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 29 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
The game was in good condition, worked perfectly, fast delivery but the only probablyis the disc had a few scratches, apart from that all good :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raise your pulse!, 23 Dec 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
I've enjoyed all of the Wipeout games so far, including Wipeout Pure on the PSP. But in terms of gameplay, for me it never got any better than Wipeout 2097 on the original Playstation. And then along comes Wipeout Pulse.

Pulse takes all of the best elements of each game and wraps them in the best graphics yet seen on the PSP; the new tracks are simply stunning to look at. This time, instead of simply selecting from the simple Single Race/Tournament/Time Trial/Zone options, Pure mixes them all up into levels of of grids containing all four game modes. It also throws in a new 'Elimination' mode where the aim is simply to destroy more of your rivals than anyone else.

I've not yet tried the online racing, but this is now an option, as is direct access to the Wipeout website. If you access it on your PC, you can customise the livery on your favourite craft, save it and then download it and race with it on your PSP.

If you're not sure, the demo version of Pulse is now available on the Playstation Network site. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check your pulse!, 27 Jan 2008
By 
L. P. Hanson (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
This is one of those games that really has the show off factor. The graphics are excellent and the soundtrack contains thumping (recognisable) tunes. Added to the fact that it can be eye-meltingly fast, it is the ultimate PSP show off game.

The new addition of 'mag-strips' that keep your ship stuck to the track allow for some crazy and creative track designs. Having said that, the majority is tried and tested Wipeout fare. Speed pads, weapon pick ups, etc. The variety of races that you are forced to enter to continue is pretty good and allows for some variation. Load times are quite laborious, and allowing to see the stat ticker on these screen would have been a real bonus.

Multiplayer is quite nice, although you will often spend a fair amount of time in a games lobby, waiting for the host to start the game.

Overall, an excellent racer. A must-have if you own a PSP and are into your racing games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, would play again, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Wipeout Pulse (PSP) (Video Game)
10/10, would play again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wipeout Pulse (PSP)
Wipeout Pulse (PSP) by Sony (Sony PSP)
Used & New from: £3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews