Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars29
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 November 2007
I didn't know quite what to expect from this double-album. One album of studio recordings of live favourites - 'Hvarf'. The other a live album - 'Heim'. Hhhhmmm.
I certainly didn't expect anything quite so stunning, beautiful and incendiary. 'Hvarf' is wonderful beyond words - this is what music can be at the utmost points of feeling and emotion. It touches deep in the heart, in the soul. Music where you feel transfixed and unsteady on your feet after hearing it - it will reduce you to tears such is its impact.
'Heim' is lovely too - with all kinds of instrumental variations on known themes.
But 'Hvarf?... the sun, stars, moon and beyond...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Saw them live, this is amazing. Cannot praise it enough. Moves me to tears every time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 November 2007
So, Sigur Ros are never a band for doing things the conventional route. They could have returned oh so quickly with a new album, on the back of their songs being used from everything from the X Factor to Planet Earth. Instead they release a DVD and this, a two disc collection that feels like an affirmation of their unique and engaging musical vision.

Two discs that are different in tone - 'Heim' is compromised of B-Sides and other rarities. This is an interesting disc, but occasionally feels like a 'completists' selection. Individually the tracks are as mesmerising as ever, but there isn't really enough focus here for something on the scales of () (and possibly that wasn't the intention). If i was to pick out individual moments, I would say that 'Staralfur' is engaging as anything Sigur Ros have done and 'Von' typifies their approach to the swells and falls of achingly beautiful music.

'Hvarf' is an 'acoustic' disc (both cds are wonderfully sepearted by a fantastic double sleeve), that takes many of Sigur Ros' tracks and seeks to reinterpret them in a much rougher and organic sense. The results are occasionally mixed, but a comparison between 'Von' (also on Heim), exemplifies the subtle and delicate approach of this second disc. The stripped back nature suits songs from () ('Samskeyti' and 'Vaka') and sheds light on lesser known songs that were originally found on their debut album.

Its fair to conclude that Sigur Ros' 'EP' or 'transitional' CD between 'Takk' and whatever lies next, feels anything but samey. This is vital for Sigur Ros fans and still compelling to those that are unfamiliar with their work. As others have wrote - its hard to be objective about their work, because at its route is something compelling and vital. Certainly worth a listen.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
Brilliant, I don't speak Icelandic, so they could be calling me all the names under the sun, but it wouldn't matter I would still buy their albums. Ever their early stuff which I thought was a bit weak and after alot more plays I even like them now.
As for this album Hvarf/heim its another melodic masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
simple music that goes deep into your soul.

dont hesitate to buy their cd's.
you will be glad you did...... but be prepared for some emotional times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
As every single Sigur Ros album, wonderful...it makes you want to close your eyes and dream. The service great, I received in 3 days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
A superb album for Sigur Ros fans and also recommended to those only just discovering Sigur Ros for the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Bought to replace older formats of the same album in my collection - it was always going to get 5 stars!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
Big Fan - with a listen even if you are not.
Came within the specified time, good price, Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Without a doubt an atmospheric band at its very best,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)