Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lost Soul worth finding
Following the superb debut album `Back to Bedlam' was never going to be easy for James Blunt but this album, originally released just over a year ago was an excellent effort. Songs like the compulsive `1973' and the moving ballads `Same Mistake' and `Carry you Home' are the standout tracks. However, scratch below the surface and there are more classic James Blunt songs...
Published on 1 Dec. 2008 by S. C. Trump

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nay- enjoy the fact that he is a good song writer ...
I can understand people slating him, but I for one am not afraid to say,admit,nay- enjoy the fact that he is a good song writer and this is a solid album
Published 10 months ago by MRwhatHeThinks


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lost Soul worth finding, 1 Dec. 2008
By 
S. C. Trump "stevect" (Upminster, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Following the superb debut album `Back to Bedlam' was never going to be easy for James Blunt but this album, originally released just over a year ago was an excellent effort. Songs like the compulsive `1973' and the moving ballads `Same Mistake' and `Carry you Home' are the standout tracks. However, scratch below the surface and there are more classic James Blunt songs lurking. `One of the brightest Stars' is a truly moving piece whilst the softly starting `I really want you' (here presented in a vastly superior `radio' mix which includes added instrumentation) grabs your brain and you just can't stop humming it. `Annie' is co-written by Jimmy Hogarth (he, who is `Jimmy' in `So long Jimmy' from `Back to Bedlam') and along with `Give me some love' is one of the two riff based songs on the album. Other ballad highlights elsewhere are `Shine On' and `I can't hear the Music', the former being a highlight of James's live show.

So what else can you possibly add to this already superb album ? Well there's the one new song recorded by James and premiered on his recent tour `Love, love, love'. I didn't actually go too much on this song when I heard it live but repeated listening proves that its is another classic. Three live cuts then make up the extras on disc 1. Noddy Holder and Jimmy Lea's first number one hit for Slade `Coz I luv you' was a rousing live song which featured James running off the stage and into the crowd to the rear and waving to those sitting at the back (as I was at the O2). He then continued the song at a piano off-stage from the rest of the band and the cheers you can hear on this rendition from Glastonbury bear this out. `Young Folks' is a gentle song performed on a radio broadcast and then finally we get James's version of Supertramps `Breakfast in America'.

The second CD (which is a DVD) features a pot pourri of live cuts of which the first three songs are recorded live at the Abbey Road Studios and the next two feature a concert recorded in Paris where the audience singing in `Goodbye my lover' is particularly evident (and loud!). There are promo videos for the singles off the album along with short documentaries on their making. The collaboration with Sinik entitled `Je Realise' is a welcome inclusion here as are a `Return to Kosovo' (where James served in the Army) and a short profile of James.

Worth buying ? If you're a James Blunt fan you have to have this even if you already own the album. If you haven't got the album already, then what are you waiting for; buy this version now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Back to Bedlam, then you'll love this too!, 3 Feb. 2008
By 
K. Williams (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All The Lost Souls (Audio CD)
Back to Bedlam was such a fantastic album which did really well so All the Lost Souls is bound to be over-critiqued. I've read some iffy reviews on sites and I personally think it's fashionable to slate James Blunt because of who he is (i.e. posh and well-spoken) rather than actually listening to his music, which is a shame because the UK should be proud that we've got an exceptional singer-songwriter again who manages to put emotion and feeling into what he sings. Anyway, I think that All the Lost Souls is a well-written and well produced album with some great songs such as Carry You Home and I Really Want You. I am a big fan of both albums and would say that if you liked Back to Bedlam, then you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophomore Album, 15 Oct. 2007
By 
Gena "Queen G" (My Castle, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All The Lost Souls (Audio CD)
I found myself almost unable to decide what I thought of this album when I first listened to it and immediately listened to it completely again.

One of the best things about this CD is that it's not a CD with ten songs thrown on it. It's a collection of powerful and intensely moving songs that work perfectly together.

The feeling and passion in which this CD was obviously written combined with the amazing talent of which was obviously utilized in the recording process....I can come up with nothing more simple to describe this CD as 'TRUE MAGIC'

Anyone with an ounce of appreciation for music will find something admirable and astonishing in this album and should BUY IT TODAY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music You Should Hear, 16 Oct. 2007
By 
M. Dexter "Trixie" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In this day of quick and easily forgettable songs written for the Top 40 Hitlists only, it is pure joy to listen to an album written from the heart and soul. Every song full of emotion and meaning with melodies that command the listener's attention. An album with the ability to be an active part of anyone's music collection for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like 'Beautiful' but this is wonderful, 25 May 2008
This review is from: All The Lost Souls (Audio CD)
I have to admit that from the first time I heard James Blunt first hit (played endlessly and everywhere), I was put off listening to any of his material. I heard '1973' one day on the radio and loved it, then the next single - eventually I had the chance to hear the whole album and it is up there with the very best. I am not sure why James Blunt gets dismissed as a bit of a light weight, but he does. Its a bit like David Gray, you look at him and cannot believe what he can conjure up. Every track on this album is perfect and will hook you from the first play. The songs seem to be deeply personal and you imagine. I am writing this review to exercise my guilt over how I dismissed JB after that initial single!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album that sounds superb on this DVD version!!!!!!, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I owned nearly all versions of this album this was one I missed until now, playing through a great DVD player and an amp with some quality speakers the DVD quality shines through. Although not the best of Blunts albums to date he has improved with each release, this being the second of his four studio albums. Listening to it again James Blunt shows what a quality artist he really is, superb writing is his forte and his voice can never be mistaken, a true one off he deserves every accolade he receives. Moving slowly away from the laboured tracks of the first album, there are some superb uplifting tracks here, James proving he can provide a beat, more electric guitar than he is really comfortable with at this stage, but it doesn't show in the recordings themselves. If all you know James for is Your Beautiful, you need to have a listen to this album, yes there are still some beautiful moments on here but all in all James Blunt knew he had far more in his locker to come. His live shows are a real treat, always ending with the first single from this album 1973, he uses his piano as a surf board riding it like a pro. Don't be fooled by those who scorn him as a one hit wonder or say he only appeals to the young girls known for following him around the world making sure they are in the front row at every show. He is a true artist and gentleman who puts his fans first giving all who support him a great evening whether you are at his concerts or listening to a fine album such as All The Lost Souls, SUPERB!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the lost souls, 21 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Lost Souls (Audio CD)
This is a slick well produced album. This is not an album that you need time to get to grow on you, this one is there from the start. Melodic,smooth and sweet. This is music that can be played any time and needs no real 'mood' to enjoy.
This album holds no surprises but that doesn't mean it's just a re-hash of Back to Bedlam. This does have a lighter less depressive edge than the previous album.
Easy middle of the road listening that is a worthy addition to any music collection.
Worth buying; if you are looking for 'edge' no. If you are looking for an album that you will still be listening to in ten years time ; a resounding YES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected., 11 April 2010
By 
Jikky (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All The Lost Souls (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because I love "Carry You Home" and wondered what a full album would be like. I wasn't disappointed. After all the taunts of "James BLAND" etc., I found it to be a very gentle album, very easy-listening,it's not bland, but don't expect anything too dramatic or rock-y. You either like or dislike James Blunt's voice - he's not the best singer around, but I find his slightly sandpapered voice good to hear.
I haven't given 5 stars because he does tend to sing everything the same way, there isn't much contrast. I'll certainlly give his first album a go after hearing this.

Since I wrote this review, I have bought another 2 of his albums. The more I listen to Blunt's voice, the better I like it. He has quite a wide range and moves up and down the scales effortlessly. His songs are often gently sad and very catchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 16 Oct. 2014
By 
P. Bradford "Paul Bradford" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good album. Went to see him in Carcassonne in July and he was as good live as on the album. He isn't universally liked, but his songs always tell a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The amazing return of James Blunt!!!, 12 Nov. 2007
This review is from: All The Lost Souls (Audio CD)
A brilliant second album from James Blunt...An amazing production together with an incredible voice and very talented muscians could only bring a masterpiece to our ears. 'All the Lost Souls' will blow your mind from start to finish, the quality of James' vocals technics are so crystal clear, the lyrics so heartfelt and true to James Blunt. This album is a must for anyone who loved `Back to Bedlam' as well as for the few who did not as it offers a surprising range of new musical styles which will reach out to any generation; it is an absolute must for any fans of the 70's. Like `Back to Bedlam', it is worth listening to `All the Lost Souls' as loud as possible on your sound system once you have gotten to know it...But for first time listeners, it is recommendable to play `All the Lost Souls' on an Ipod (or at least with headsets if using a hi-fi) in a quiet environment with your eyes closed...in order to capture the true emotion of this chef d'oeuvre. This album will keep growing on you!!!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All The Lost Souls
All The Lost Souls by James Blunt (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews