Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars32
2.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£8.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 4 January 2008
I enjoyed the bowling on "Wii Sports" so much I thought this would be a bigger, better version.
I can honestly say, in my opinion, this is very much poorer than the free Bowling given with the Wii.

The ONLY improvement is the graphics you receive when you get a strike or pick up a spare.
I couldn't use my own "Mii" and like many golf games, the characters you pick all have different qualities.

Instead of being fun I gave up on this game after playing less than 10 frames. Maybe I missed something but I urge you to think twice before forking out hard earned cash on this lemon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on 11 January 2008
Having seen the Wii Sports version of bowling I leapt on this with joy. The perfect all party Wii experience I thought; something that anyone can pick up and have a bit of a laugh with. It is amazing how wrong you can be and having seen the other almost universally negative reviews here and elsewhere I only wish that I had done my usual thing and checked the reviews before committing to purchase! It is difficult to know where to start with the condemnation that this so richly deserves.

Given the nature of the Wii console and its motion tracking ability it is incomprehensible that the motion of the bowling avatar bears no relationship to the motion that you perform. You find yourself doing the opposite and imitating the avatar in some vain attempt to impose some input on to your character. Couple this with the fact that no two throws seem to go the same way the level of chaos that the random event generator throws into the mix allows absolutely no development of skill or physical technique. My children had some fun dreaming up the most obscure hand moves they could do to still get the ball to roll down the lane.

The career mode is doubly frustrating as the machine appears to have decided in advance how you will do and no amount of subtle tweaks on the Wiimote appear to make any difference - if you need three strikes in a row to narrowly win one of the early league matches then this is exactly what you will do and pins will fall over - almost by magic - regardless of speed power and direction - on one occaision bowling as close the gutter as I could the ball swerved elegantly to achieve a perfect strike:O

It beggars belief that the developers invested so little thought or effort into game play and experience - when I have a moment I am going to ask them for an apology and a full refund.

The opportunity to creat a classic Wii experience and build on the ready made market for a more professional approach to bowling introduced by Wii Sport has been cruelly abused and I am weeping tears of frsutration.

If you still want this game I will sell on Ebay to the lowest bidder...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 23 January 2008
This game should have been an advancement on the WII sports bowling.....
It isn't. The game is no fun and seriously flawed

The bowling action is not in time to the WII movement but delayed and the action is after your WII movement. Worse the viewpoint you bowl from is at an angle rather than straight on so you can't accurately bowl.

Stick to the WII sports bowling or you will be exchanging this game for credit.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 21 February 2008
You will be desperately disappointed, I endorse all the above statements and comments. If there had been a zero rating it would have had it.

G. Ireland
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on 2 October 2007
An encouraging start but quickly disappointing as the instruction booklet offers virtually no help in learning to control the ball. Throws are almost random and seem to follow no pattern of what you are doing...

Until I can find a site where someone can tell me how to play this properly, I am already frustrated with it enough to swap the game out of the Wii for something else...

Stick to the Wii Sports Bowling for the mo...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 9 January 2009
There are a lot of bad reviews about the Brunswick Pro Bowling for the Wii and the only reason for that is these people do not have any Patience to learn something new.
If you really like the bowling on the Wii Sports package and are thinking about purchasing a bowling game then this is the one. But what you have got to remember if everything you've learnt from the Wii Sports version you can forget.
This is aimed for gamers who want to experience something as real as possible in a game.
The quick game mode is just a simple 3 frame game with pre set players to choose from with set skills.
The Career mode is where the fun starts... you first get to change the looks of your character (All choices are based on hillbilly looking trailer trash) and then your off. You start with the basic rental ball until you start earning cash in tournys and challenges from other players you meet along the way. Then you are able to upgrade your ball depending on the oil markings on the bowling alleys (all of this needs to be taken into consideration, hence how realistic). You can buy new trainers and also wrist guards which provide a better throwing hook if you require.
Once you've first set up your player in career mode you are able to have practice rounds so you can get used to the oil markings on the alley's and your best stance before you start playing against pro players.
This is a great game and is the best bowling games released for the Wii console.
Hope this review helps
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 25 December 2007
Just got this for christmas if you ask me the game should have never been made.

And yes stick to the wii sports game as it is the best version ever....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2010
Overall this game is not really interesting. My kids find it very difficult to play. As it is difficult to play, it's no longer a fun game. I wasted money bought this game just by looking at some trailers at game websites. Therefore I won't recommend anyone buying this game for kids below 10 years old.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
A great bowling game from one of the most well known bowling companies in the UK and the USA. There are one or two bugs apparent in the software, which periodically make you lose control and the whole things runs slow for about 20 seconds. Sometimes the programme will jump from scores back to the start of a game without saving it, and it is not possible to add your own names to the two to four player mode, needing to use pre-determined bowlers. This is rather disappointing if you like to play challenges with the family or grandkids. However, for those people who for one reason or another cannot continue their bowling career for real, it has all the action you would want, with league play and all the ball control you could wish for. Great fun all round despite a few small drawbacks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2008
The most annoying thing about Brunswick Pro Bowling, and it was SO annoying that I never gave the game a real chance, is that your player character gets in the way of your view of the pins.

Unlike Wii Sports, where your Mii is semi transparent, allowing a good view of the alley, your character is solid, and stands right in your line of sight.

I'm sure the fancy things like having to allow for the alley surface make it a more realistic game than the Wii Sports version, but I lost patience very quickly with the game because of that one silly little thing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Wii Sports (Wii)
Wii Sports (Wii) (Nintendo Wii)

More Game Party (Wii)
More Game Party (Wii) by Midway Games Ltd (Nintendo Wii)

Amf Bowling World Lanes-Nla
Amf Bowling World Lanes-Nla by Bethesda Softworks Inc. (Nintendo Wii)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.