Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best!
I bought this set because I have owned it for a long time having first purchased it on vinyl LP. I have heard many versions of Traviata and in my view this recording was the best, and despite recent excellent competition it remains so. Ileana Cotrubas sings Violetta perfectly. Her portrayal is spellbinding throughout and in my opinion cannot be surpassed.

As...
Published on 26 Jun 2010 by Dr. P. M. Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not quite achieve greatness
Cotrubas is easily categorised: Callas without the genius. The voice is far too closely miked so that every breath is clearly audible. Domingo is a good musician, but his portrait lacks variety and vocal 'heft'. Kleiber favours quick tempi and keeps the whole thing moving. If you want a good quality recording, you won't go far wrong with this one. If you don't mind a poor...
Published 2 months ago by Daniel Collins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best!, 26 Jun 2010
By 
Dr. P. M. Wilson (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
I bought this set because I have owned it for a long time having first purchased it on vinyl LP. I have heard many versions of Traviata and in my view this recording was the best, and despite recent excellent competition it remains so. Ileana Cotrubas sings Violetta perfectly. Her portrayal is spellbinding throughout and in my opinion cannot be surpassed.

As ever, Domingo and Sherrill Milnes sing superbly, and Carlos Kleiber's conducting gets the very best out of Verdi's score.

This is a performance I have returned to again and again over the years. I knew that eventually I would have to buy it on CD and I have no regrets. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best., 29 April 2010
By 
IevaB "IevaB" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
I've had this recording on a cassette tape for over 12 years now and obviously it's time for me to update to a CD. But I can honestly say this is one of the best versions of La Traviata I've heard. Probably the best. The emotions permeate the singing, it really touches the heart. Would definately recommend as the ultimate version of this timeless opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest La Traviata but the best is yet to come, 18 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Wt Makhathini "thandam" (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
This verdi masterpiece has been recorded by many artists.Without waisting time lets get on it, Contrubas,the choice of La Traviata is greatly defined by the soprano voice and mostly Act 1 'simpre libera" & Contrubus is not afraid to hit the high notes but what she has is that she has a more controlled voice, her diction of words is clear enough, perhaps personally I would not rate her as the best Violetta but certainly one of the better voices.To me the best Violetta is Victoria De los Angelos with Serafin -EMI even though she is happiest after the taxing Act 1.Now Alfredo, Placido Domingo sings with great artistry, young and ardent man in love with a Violetta.Once again the choice is defined by the suitable Alfredo and Domingo suits the part very well, his "felice ......." "romorse infamous...." "o parigi o cara' excellent all the way. To me nothing is as touching deep down than the infamous selfserving Germont Pere sung by the incredible Sherril Milnes, his "pure angelo ....'is excellent especially when he tells Violetta that one day your beauty will fade....you are young and beautiful ....allow Alfredo to be with his family.....etc but my favourate part is "Di Provenza.....aria, for some reason I dont know why CD compilations ignore this aria,there is a lot of "Libiamo....." already. the last Act is done magnificently. Why then 4 stars? I guess it is the accent of Cotrubas as Violetta, she is not Italian enough for me personally. Well, who is at the top of the list? Victoria De Los Angelos-Serafin EMI ADD 1959, Dame Sutherland-Pritchard 1962 Decca ADD, Contrubus-Carlos Kleiber ADD,Sills-Ceccato -EMI, Scotto-DG, Scotto with Carreras(Opera Doro)live 1973, Anna Moffo-Erich Kleiber, Angela Gheorghiu- Sir Georg Solti( with an uninspiring Nucci as Germont Pere)Caballe-Prete(bad conducting though) Forget Tebaldi's bad and bland recording, Callas-Ghione 1953(bad sound though), Tiziana Fabbriccini-Muti with Roberto Alagna(Sony) have also got rave reviews except to say that Fabbriciini was praised prematurely, some crtics say.Kiri Kinawa has not made a visible mark on La traviata (Decca)too old Alfredo Kraus as Alfredo does not help(he still sounded good though). The ultimate La Traviata for me is Angela Gheorghui with Ramon Vargas and Roberto Frontali by the La Scala crew but it is on DVD & blueray only for now. This magnificent CD by Carlos Kleiber brings you on to the drama well conducted with an alert Cotrubas, best Alfredo and best Germont Pere. Buy this with no reservations it is one of the best La Traviata. Take it from the fan who owns 11 La Traviatas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Traviata, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
I have really enjoyed this CD and the sound is so much better than either of the Callas versions. The critics also seem to be impressed and I believe this regularly gets rated as the best version on CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true benchmark, 22 April 2013
By 
Ali Tigrel (Ankara, Turkey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
La Traviata is one of my favourite operas. It has everything that an opera lover could wish for.
This set provides a level of performance that would be difficult to surpass. Carlos Kleiber was
one of the greatest conductors of the last century; unfortunately his recording legacy was rather
limited. Grab this set, no matter how many other versions of La Traviata you have, and enjoy every
minute of this truly benchmark performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recording, 16 Nov 2009
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
I recently saw a production of La Traviata at the Wales Millenium Centre. This recording was recommended in the programme and I bought it straight away.
It really is a wonderful production - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the splendid rcording, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
The singing is of a very high standard as is the musical accompaniment.
The recoding is fine and overall, I was delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars La Traviata, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always liked this version very much, but I do not have any inside information to have any reason to advise people further than if you do not know better this is a very good production that will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does not quite achieve greatness, 5 May 2014
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
Cotrubas is easily categorised: Callas without the genius. The voice is far too closely miked so that every breath is clearly audible. Domingo is a good musician, but his portrait lacks variety and vocal 'heft'. Kleiber favours quick tempi and keeps the whole thing moving. If you want a good quality recording, you won't go far wrong with this one. If you don't mind a poor quality recording because of the genius of the Prima Donna, go for the 1955 live performance with Callas as the fated artisan with Giulini conducting the La Scala forces: it will come as a revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recording, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: La Traviata (Audio CD)
The CD was very well produced, the singing and orchestra were both excellent. For fans of Verdi I can recommend this Opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Verdi: La Traviata
Verdi: La Traviata by Ileana Cotrubas (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews