Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old but still good, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
D. Linberry (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
This recording dates from 1966 and was originally on vinyl. Deutche Grammophon had already brought it out on CD but have reissued the CD with different art work so it has obviously stood the passage of time. Powerful recording with good soloists. I heard it on a friend's vinyl recording years ago and was very pleased to find the initial CD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a surprise, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Never having heard this before, I was taken aback but the sheer joy of the music - what a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "legendary" performance, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
David Yates (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
This is a 1966 original recording which has been digitally remastered. I purchased the work as a rehearsal aid as our choral society is performing this work in March, and it provides the inspiration I need to get acquainted with my part. The definition of the voice parts is good, and the tempo is slightly slow by modern standards, but this can be helpful when rehearsing. It is a beautiful melodic work and this Deutsche Grammophon recording does it full justice. Technically the sound quality lacks some clarity, but overall the sensitivity of the performance makes up for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual gem, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
This work is quite a discovery for me - I found it quite different from the more frequently performed works of this nature, but nevertheless it is I think a very fine choral work with some most attractive choruses. Highly recommended - especially with the offer of the CD plus mp3 download for only a fraction more than the mp3 alone, It is from an old DG recording,but it still stands comparison with newer recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Solemn!!, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. J. F. Dewey (KENT, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Excellent in every way; good recording and brilliant soloist. This work deserves to be performed more often and is suitable for amateur choirs as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality CD and quick delivery, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Arrived quickly. The CD has helped me learn the soprano part for our choir concert and I have fallen in love with this piece of music"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful music., 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
This C D arrived very promptly. I am using it to rehearse for my next concert with my choral society. It's a beautiful recording and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite opera, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Fabulous cd. This opera is brilliant from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
This music has given me much pleasure - quite exquisite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gounod: Messe solennelle de Sainte Cécile (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Fantastic recording. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews