Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Remastering of a Great Film
Made in 1951 on a low budget, Scrooge remains one of the best film versions of the "Christmas Carol" tale. This is partly due to Alistair Sim's moving performance, and also the fact that this version gives more backstory than others, explaining how Scrooge got the way he is. George Cole gives a fine performance as the young Scrooge and Jack Warner is clearly enjoying...
Published on 18 Jan 2009 by Mr. Ross Maynard

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag of 'Scrooge' in b&w and colour
This is a review of the 2-disc Collector's Edition of 'Scrooge' Scrooge (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [DVD], a boxed set which includes both the original Black & White release from 1951, a 'Colourised' version of the same film, and a varied set of extras. I found this set to be a mixed bag of delights.

The 'digitally restored' black & white version is generally...
Published 20 months ago by Chappers


‹ Previous | 117 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scrooge, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
this film is the best ever made , this is the original scrooge in black and white , alistair simm portrays scrooge better then any other actor ever could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scrooge in Colour, 27 Jan 2010
By 
Freedom2m0soe "Raymond G Baxter" (Troon, South Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
The quality is good and there are sevral scennes in colour too, shame the whole film is not in colour though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrooge- with alistair sim, 28 Nov 2012
By 
H. J. Elphick (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have seen all the Scrooge/Christmas carol films and this is still the best one. Alistair Sim is perfect in most things he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scrooge - Humbug: only the black & white version!, 19 Nov 2010
By 
H. Stapleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
Like others who have submitted a review, I too thought that this was the colourised version. Just to be clear, it is the black and white version as well as some colourised scenes. Having said that the Alastair Sim 1951 film is the definitive version of A Christmas Carole and is worth watching year on year for the excellent character actors (as well as Alastair Sim, Michael Horden, Kathleen Higgins and George Cole are a joy). Even with the digital enhancement, the quality of the actual film still leaves something to be desired, but it is a 'winner' and clearly one for the top shelf. I do have the colourised tape version and while, inevitably, the quality of the film is inferior to the b&w digital copy, the colour does give an added dimension and hints at the lustrous colours of the costumes used. Maybe someone can produce the colourised version, digitally enhanced and easily available.....? H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Scrooge, 11 Sep 2006
By 
T. Shields (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This is my 5th favourite Xmas Carol in my collection and even though it is in black and white I really enjoyed watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for film but 1 for edition, 29 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
Christmas wouldn't be Christmas without watching Alastair Sim as Scrooge. I was very disappointed with this edition, however, because it lacks English subtitles. I wanted so much to share it with friends whose first language is not English. I wanted them to see and understand a film that gave me so much joy when I was a child and that continues to do so.
KB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good film marred by deviations from the original story, 21 Dec 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This 1951 adaptation of A Christmas Carol, starring Alastair Sim as Ebenezer Scrooge, is hailed by many as the best adaptation of Charles Dickens' timeless Christmas story. Certainly, it is a very good movie more than capable of bringing a tear to your eye as you witness Scrooge's rebirth as a man who vows to keep the Christmas spirit in his heart every day of the year, but I must admit being rather bothered by the way this presentation oftentimes wanders far afield of the original storyline. The film does tell the story in all of its larger facets in the proper way, but it often takes its own path toward the predetermined destination. This is noticeable very early on, as some of my favorite lines from the story are paraphrased and expressed in different terms than what I was expecting. Such a reworking of the dialogue becomes a trademark of this production, but this in and of itself is something of a quibbling matter. What strikes me as much more serious, however, is the fact that this film presents scenes that do not exist in Dickens' story and to some degree rewrites what actually was written. All of these innovations, which I see as quite needless, take something away from the full effect of this powerful story upon me.
It is interesting to watch the manner in which these filmmakers of mid-century presented the four spirits that visit Scrooge in the early hours of Christmas morning. Jacob Marley and the ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and Future are basically shown as mere reflections of sorts, very lightly translucent beings, and I must say this works fine, especially since this is a film of the heart in which special effects are largely incidental. I would have liked to see Marley's mouth drop open dramatically once he removed the sling on his head, but there were many little things such as this I looked for in vain in this particular adaptation. Of much more consequence, though, are the changes and additions to the script one finds here. As the film progresses, Dickens' story is at times drastically rewritten. There are needless scenes, such as the one where Scrooge stops to eat on his way home, only to then take up a bowl of porridge once he arrives in his sitting room. We are shown the death scene of Scrooge's beloved sister, non-Christmas scenes featuring the avaricious young duo of Scrooge and Marley (with the young Marley played by Patrick MacNee of future Avengers fame) making their way up in business, and other scenes Dickens never described directly. Most galling of all, at least to me, is the view we have of Scrooge's one-time fiancé's life as a mature woman; it could not be more different than the life Dickens describes to us.
The looks at Christmases past seem to take undue time here, leaving the visions of present and future Christmas days too little time to achieve their utmost effect. Even Tiny Tim is in a sense given the short shrift. The film makes up for its shortcomings to some degree at the end, but even Christmas morning is marred by the insertion of a servant you won't find in Dickens' original story. Alastair Sim makes a memorable Ebenezer Scrooge, but his performance falls far short of George C. Scott's later portrayal of Scrooge as Dickens envisioned him. This 1951 version of A Christmas Carol is a notably good retelling of the Christmas classic, but I much prefer adaptations that actually present the story as it was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good portrayal., 5 Dec 2009
By 
R. Kramp (Parow East South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This version of "A Christmas Carol" certainly captures the true essence of the Charles Dickens novel. It's a good story of redemption - my favourite Dickens story. It depicts very well the horror of poverty and emptiness of wealth. The story is still relevant today, if not more so. It also certainly makes a person think.
Many people would be something like Scrooge, not just among the rich. There would also be some people not keeping Christmas not because they don't want to, but due to being loners.
Even in those days there was mention of the surplus population. I guess one could say that also makes the story more relevant today.
The film didn't have journeys in the present, showing various groups celebrating Christmas, as in the book. An exception is with miners. It's probably because of time limitations.
Charles Dickens believed strongly in the supernatural. I think his depictions of it, including other realms like the astral, are quite accurate. This includes what one sews in the physical, one reaps in the afterlife.
This film has been colourised. There has been dislike and controversy about it. I don't see what's wrong with that, using broadmindedness and not being conservative about it. It's an improvement on the old film. (Just not of silent movies.) That's like an improvement on e.g. the 3 original Star Wars films. That's also much like with the modern animated version of "A Christmas Carol" (2009). I did actually watch the colourised version of this "Scrooge" film, which I have. It also looked like it was originally filmed in colour. This DVD should also contain that version. Then, individual viewers can decide for themselves which they want to watch. Some DVD issues of this film do. It's the same with other colourised films like Julius Caesar (1953), Casablanca (1942), etc.
We should strive to be more like Scrooge at the end of the film, with the Christmas spirit, and not be so money-orientated. We can then be more in the kind of world we'd want to live in - the microcosm affecting the macrocosm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An old Scrooge, 9 Feb 2009
By 
T. Corsico Piccolino "Avid reader" (Vigevano, PV Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
While I have to say that I absolutely love the film Scrooge, this one is pretty old and not as enjoyable... I did like it, it's filmed in a very dark setting that makes the viewing less enjoyable. It's a good film, but it's "dated" and not as enjoyable as some of the remakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1951] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 4.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews