Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURPLE MKIII'S SWANSONG
It's funny how different records affect different people. This particular album has never been that highly rated by the "experts" and I've never understood why. It may have suffered from "Second Album Syndrome" (like "Fireball"). Yeah, Blackmore's involvement was rather minimal compared to "Burn" (he would shortly leave to form Rainbow), but then the band didn't stand...
Published on 5 Sep 2003 by PETER XUEREB

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless Reissued Import
Before I start, let's make one thing clear... 'Stormbringer' is a fantastic album, easily worthy of 5 stars and a Purple Mk 3 classic... But this is simply a reissue of the original album, no new material, no remastering...
'Stormbringer' is getting a remastering job, in process at the moment with the help of none other than Glenn Hughes! It's going to be released...
Published on 23 Aug 2007 by S. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURPLE MKIII'S SWANSONG, 5 Sep 2003
By 
PETER XUEREB (SYDNEY, NEW SOUTH WALES Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
It's funny how different records affect different people. This particular album has never been that highly rated by the "experts" and I've never understood why. It may have suffered from "Second Album Syndrome" (like "Fireball"). Yeah, Blackmore's involvement was rather minimal compared to "Burn" (he would shortly leave to form Rainbow), but then the band didn't stand still either with it's direction moving towards funk. The playing is still high quality and songs such as "Stormbringer", "Hold On", "Lady Double Dealer", "The Gypsy", "Soldier Of Fortune" are all strong in their own way. It should be remembered that 2 of the members (Coverdale & Hughes) were younger and probably hungrier for success than their fellow band members who'd been there since Day 1. The Hughes-Coverdale vocal thing did create tension at times but probably no more than those spats between Gillan-Blackmore during MkII's heyday. Purple set some pretty high standards during it's career, some that were probably too hard to maintain. They were arguably the HARDEST working band of their time..this was their 2ND ALBUM INSIDE A YEAR!! (The brilliant "Machine Head" was recorded in 3 weeks in adverse conditions!) But as a diehard Purple fan I've always enjoyed this album and I think it's as worthy of inclusion in the Purple catalogue as anything they've put out. With "Stormbringer" you can only judge for yourself. However, it's fact that the next album "Come Taste The Band", with Bolin on guitar, was a great success musically (though not sales wise) and the work of a band enjoying itself. Maybe there's the lesson right there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lost treasure., 25 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
I was a fan of Deep Purple during their classic Mark 2 line-up in the early 70s. I recently purchased the remastered versions of their classic albums, followed by the Mark1 series. 'Stormbringer' was next. How did I miss this one first time around? It has everything I enjoy in music: rock and roll, blues, funk, soul, melody, great playing and singing. The album opens with 'Stormbringer', a typical example of timeless Purple magic then it weaves its way through a tapestry of superb, exciting sounds before closing with the melancholic 'Soldier of Fortune' For me, a fantastic album and a newly discovered lost treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless Reissued Import, 23 Aug 2007
By 
S. Smith "MJS555" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
Before I start, let's make one thing clear... 'Stormbringer' is a fantastic album, easily worthy of 5 stars and a Purple Mk 3 classic... But this is simply a reissue of the original album, no new material, no remastering...
'Stormbringer' is getting a remastering job, in process at the moment with the help of none other than Glenn Hughes! It's going to be released later this year/beginning of next year with full remastering, remixes and bonus tracks aswell, so hang on!
If you can't wait that long, get the regular cd edition that's been in print for ages and that Amazon sell for a very good price...
This is just a cd issued in America to replace the now deleted copy we still have over here...
HANG ON FOR THE REMASTERDED EDITION COZ THIS IS ONE HELL OF AN ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A move from their heavy metal roots but still a class act., 10 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
This departure from classic Deep Purple trade mark heavy metal caused die hard fans to be less than enthusiastic. Fans who gave the CD a go were treated to some classic riffs and keyboard passages. Although David Coverdales vocals dominate this CD the variation in styles and composition ensures this CD is always in my top 10. Gone are the long tracks replaced with short sharp offerings. It is certainly worth a listen and you will be pleasently surprised. If you enjoy this CD then certainly give 'Come taste the band' a go yet another offering by deep purple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mistaken Identity, 14 Jan 2009
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
Is Stormbringer a wonderful piece of work, or the last weak utterance of an artistically dead band? The album gets very conflicting reviews - quite understandably so, given that the musical content is several light years from the that of Machine Head. The relevant question to ask all reviewers of Stormbringer is: Do you believe that Purple should be a riff based heavy rock and nothing else, or are you willing to accept the band regardless of the style of their musical output?
If you answer yes to the first part of the question, then Stormbringer is undoubtably a dissapointing album. NO killer riffs! On the other hand, it is full of good songs.... The title track hammers along relentlessly, whilst songs like "Love Don't Mean a Thing" and "You can't do it right" are classy soul workouts with fantastic soul/blues vocals from Hughes and Coverdale. This is, without doubt, a singers album. Which is probably why most Blackmore fans hate it...Personally, I love hard rock AND the Average White Band, so Stormbringer does the job for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stormbringer: Deep Purple - Another classic slice of Purple, 16 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
The Mk 3 line up of Deep Purple (Coverdale, Blackmore, Hughes, Lord and Pace) only recorded two albums before splitting up. Stormbringer is the second of those albums. In the short space of those two slabs of vinyl, the influence of Coverdale and Hughes in moving the band away from the trademark heavy rock sound of the Mk2 line up to a slightly more complex rock sound with a strong soul/funk infusion was impressive, and for me the two albums recorded buy this line up stand up there as some of the best from the group.

Stormbringer is the end of the journey started with Burn, and the soul/funk elements of the music reach their logical climax. The record is different to their earlier stuff, a little more reflective and complex, but that is just a logical result of the band maturing, and soaking up new influences. Personally I find it one of their most listenable albums.

Sadly Blackmore left the band after this, and his replacement Tommy Bolin only recorded one album with the Mk 5 before his untimely death, which essentially marked the ed of the classic years of Purple as the band split up and went into a hiatus. For me, this is the last in a line of 6 classic albums (the first being In Rock) that should be in any music lovers rock collection. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
this album is a bit a of a strange one it really doesn't sound like deep purple at all compared to the other albums its very toned down and very subdued, so in that respect its not so great

However, as an album of music on its own its actually quite good David coverdale does put on a brilliant vocal performance and is only there because he was the replacement for Ian gillan so it wasn't his fault.

the music is good on its own when not compared to other earlier deep purple albums BUt its a bit insipid and whimpy sounding though there are some nice songs on it including soldier of fortune (covered by opeth)

I also like the frontcover though the name is a title that doesn't suit the album at all Inrock music would have suited the name Strombringer.

so All in all not their best possibly the weakest album in the whole collection but I am a completist so I had to get it.

another thing I do like change in band but I generally like them to keep their core sound and change elements of their music when I say change forexample Opeth have kept their core sound but have changed alot.

anyway not bad but not classic or great either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Album but...., 3 Jun 2011
By 
Strider (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
First of all, there are no extra tracks despite Amazon clearly stating there are - sort your act Amazon, I wouldn't have bought it had I known. In other words you are cheating your customers by publishing inaccurate descriptions like this.

I kept the CD only because, as far as I can tell, it is the original mix though not a particularly good quality copy.

There are no sleeve notes at all apart from the track listings, another indication that this was released as cheaply as possible to profit from fans like me who imo are treated as mugs by the industry; and they have the cheek to complain that pirating is affecting their profits. They are destroying their own business by treating their customers with nothing less than disdain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stormbringer, 8 Nov 2001
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
The thing with music and groups is, once an artist has a loyal fan base, sometimes that fan base can malign the best efforts of said artist if that artist decides to grow, change, mutate etc. That's the only problem with Stormbringer, and even Blackmore lost his nerve.
This is a great album with a mixture of so many styles, funk/rock/blues/soul -- and all played really well. But for me the shining thing about this album has always been the voice of Glenn Hughes. Though David Coverdale was the designated lead singer, Hughes' voice suits so many of the funkier tracks on this album, especially "You Can't Do It Right(With The One You Love)". Stormbringer is an underrated Purple album -- go with the changes - don't be a Blackmore and call it shoeshine music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not standard Purple stuff but a real classic., 26 Feb 2009
By 
Andrew Mcgrath "Andy McGrath" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stormbringer (Audio CD)
I think Deep Purple are great. I saw them with Tommy Bolin, never thought I'd still be watching them 35 years later. Stormbringer is more funky than the Gillan Purple period. I wouldn't say better or worse - still a classic. Genghis said it elsewhere, but I'd like Soldier of Fortune at my funeral. If you like this, try Come Taste The Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stormbringer
Stormbringer by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews