Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE 70s GRINDHOUSE STYLE HELLRIDE.
REVIEWED VERSION: 2002 Lionsgate US Blu-Ray

Director: Rob Zombie

Cast: Sid Haig, Bill Moseley, Chad Bannon, William Bassett, Karen Black, Erin Daniels, Joe Dobbs III, Walton Goggins, Jennifer Jostyn, Chris Hardwick

SYNOPSIS

Two couples are driving through backwoods America in search of some offbeat roadside attractions, such as...
Published 1 month ago by Caligula II.

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag really... mainly, of different body parts
This is an odd film really that I had high hopes for. I saw Rob Zombies sequel to this, called the 'The Devils Rejects' and loved it - I was really blown away by it, so when I found out about this, essentially what is part 1, I had to see it. Sadly it doesn't compete on any level... other than the fact it has Sheri Moon in it. Sheri Moon = Hubba Hubba.

This...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by The Truth


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy film, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you like your gore with little story line then watch this one not the best film i have ever seen quiet disjointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service,well wrapped,super fast delivery, a good quality item,it's a great way of replacing your old vinyl albums, highly, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great service,well wrapped,super fast delivery, a good quality item,it's a great way of replacing your old vinyl albums, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality review, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Got me a live one...., 5 Dec 2013
Jerry, Bill, Mary, and Denise are two couples out on the road in hopes of writing a book on offbeat attractions.

When the four meet Captain Spaulding, they learn of the legend of Dr. Satan. When they take off in search of finding the tree that Dr. Satan was hung from, they pick up hitchhiker Baby.

When their car breaks down, Baby invites them into her house. This is where they meet the Firefly family, a murderous clan of bizarre people.

As the family attacks the unsuspecting couples, Jerry and his friends try to survive the titular place and it's secrets....

This film has got tot be the prime example of a love it or hate it movie. I can truly understand why so many people dislike this film, it is all over the place, and it's very nasty too.

Lucky for me, i'm in the other camp, and i found this movie to be a wonderful homage to splatter exploitation movies of the late seventies and early eighties.

It's as if Zombie has taken the list of the video nasties that were banned ere in the UK, and melded them together to make some vicious love-child of the slasher genre.

It's gruesome for sure, and if your not sold within the first ten minutes, you'll stay that way.

The performances are maniacally over the top, but work for this, and Zombies grimy style of filming really makes a difference to the overall effect.

If you like exploitation splatter movies, this is for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Oct 2013
Loved this film from beginning to end, went straight out and bought Rob Zombie's soundtrack to the film. Wish he would do more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars House of 1000 corpses, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie! like it, by rob zombie! . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Zombie, Horror King, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow! i first watched this masterpiece in America and fell in love with this dysfunctional family unit, be it Captain Spaulding, Otis or Sheriff Wyddell everybody brings something to the table, so deliciously sinister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, different quirky horror!, 19 April 2011
I have only seen "Halloween" remake by Rob Zombie and was totally unimpressed with that so I was a little wary of watching this, although I did want to see this before "Devil's Rejects" as its the sequel.

I must admit, I did really enjoy Sid Haig's performance as Captain Spauling, and I think he's one of the most original characters to emerge in horror in a while, I thought superb! The overall atmosphere of the film reminded me a bit of "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" very odd and disturbing, something missed from newer horrors. The storyline was predictable and nothing else stand-out in terms of acting, but a very watchable and enjoyable horror.

I think this is a must-see for something different and quirky in the horror genre, particularly for Captain Spauling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too spaced out, 1 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not a massive fan of this film. The film for me was ruined by the acid trip effects used throughout. If Rob Zombie had stuck with a straight forward Texas Chainsaw style slasher, I would have given it 5 stars. Not a bad effort though for your first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheri moon FIT!!, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. M. T. Brookes "brookey" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is brilliant you watch some horror films that never really quite get going but any one with style or taste will appreciate the quality and thought put into this film. the family are all unique and different but with a very evil mindset the story becomes fairly evident but the ways they carry out there work is shocking but in a way you go wow i like i a weird way!! i strongly reccomend and its got to be possibly one of my favourite horrors ive ever seen. Devils rejects the follow on is also good worth a watch but you often fins the first films are always the case as is the case with this.. and if you like looking at sexy girls temptress sheri moon is fab and her acting skills are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of 1,000 Corpses  [2003] [US Import] [Blu-ray] [Region A]
Used & New from: £6.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews