Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulously done. A must for any movie fan.
This film is spectacular! It towers high in the animated movies spectrum, way over the likes of Ice Age and the Incredibles. It has everything. A funny premise, hilarious dialogue, and beautiful visual effects. Really, I thought that those were actual waves, as they just looked so realistic. And I loved the documentary style. It really makes it stand out from any other...
Published on 14 July 2009

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids' movie made by surfer dudes.
This is the surfer's equivalent of Cars. A kids' movie which appears to be made by dyed in the wool surf enthusiasts.

The film follows the adventures of an ambitious young penguin who is talent spotted to compete in a prestigious competition on an exotic island. Shot in a 'mockumentary' style it may be tough going for younger children. Certainly my 4...
Published on 30 July 2012 by Mr. J. J. Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning movie, dude, 3 Jun. 2008
By 
A. K. L. McDonald (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The animation is incredible: the facial expressions, the body movement, the play of light, the attention to detail takes your breath away. Add to this a superb soundtrack, and you realise why it got such good critical reviews.

It is a traditional story, but has been told without so much of that awful syrup and candy so beloved by Disney and, I regret to say, Pixar. The mock 'reality program' slant was inspirational, as was the cutting forward to dialogue that explained events in the past. Sorry folks, you have to pay attention to this film. You are not spoon fed the story like Disney and Pixar do. You require some brains to follow the story line.

As for the negative comments on the film's dialogue and 'commentaries', come on man, ever heard of irony and sarcasm? This film mocked the entire money making engine and crass US TV coverage of such events.

This is by far and away better than Happy Feet, and I would say superior to Ratatouille. It's a shame people were pengiun'ed out by the time it hit the cinemas. The more you watch it, the more you spot little bits of detail you missed the previous times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars customer service, 29 Jan. 2009
By 
C. Gilbert (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The seller contacted me to say that after examination of the product it was not in a good enough condition to be sold so refunded me straight away. Fantastic service, alot of sellers would have just sent the product damaged anyway and kept the money! the honesty was very appreciated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
great little film very enjoyable and at a really cheap price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Happy Feet" crib, 18 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A nice enough film, made obviously to cash in on the popularity of "Happy Feet", but it does not quite work. Much of the dialogue is too fast &/or muffled. One or two of the characters only meaningful if the viewer knows something about the history of surfing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great and leaves you smiling, 10 Mar. 2008
By 
L. Hogan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
My husband (an avid surfer) counts this among his favourite films ever. It looks absolutly gorgeous. The colours are amazing and the surfing scenes look fantastic. Apparently the film is based on Disney's "North Shore", a live action film starring Laird Hamilton and Mark Occhilupo. I really enjoyed the way Surfs Up featured Kelly Slater and Rob Machado - It was a nice nod to the surfing community and their penguin avatars look so like them.
Its a fairly run of the mill "kid takes on the big guns and learns a valuable life lesson with the help of washed up old timer" story but what sets this apart are the fun characters (the relentless promoter was my favourite), the fantastic animation and the documentary style. I can see how younger kids might miss the story but the film looks so great I think it will appeal to all ages and if you surf you really have to add this to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I love this film. Chicken Joe best cartoon charater ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant !, 15 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Im not normally the one for watching cartoon type movies, until last night when my cousin brang this dvd round. I watched it and from the start i was hooked, it was fantastic. It's funny as well as serious and sad at times. A must watch film!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son LOVES IT too much at times, 2 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Since i purchased the "surf's up" DVD my son watches it every-day several times a day.
He imitates all the moves from it "typical boy" & if i'm honest there is a few scenes in the movie which i think is entertaining & funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad film! The HD Blue-ray experience makes the viewing ..., 26 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad film! The HD Blue-ray experience makes the viewing more pleasurable although the game is much more entertaining. It is always to check the Blue-ray prices on Amazon as the prices are more competitive. Good buy overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Do not hesitate to buy this movie.
I watched it a few weeks ago and I have watched it about 5 times and am not bored.
I first expected this to be a baby film, but anybody will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surf's Up [DVD] [2007]
Surf's Up [DVD] [2007] by Ash Brannon (DVD - 2007)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews