Customer Reviews


284 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate SOTD experience!
Lazy brit Shaun is witnessing his life crumbling on itself; His long time girlfriend, Liz, has just broke with him, his best friend Ed is a slacker who sells weed to make ends meet and constantly pisses off their roommate Pete, he's stuck in a dead-end job and his stepdad keeps reminding him what a terrible son he is for his mother Barbara.
Determined to improve his...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by Lemony82

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TOO MUCH HYPE
I enjoyed the film but expected more. I seem to be the only person not raving about the film. I felt the same about Hot Fuzz more recently. Both 'good' films but not top of their genre.

Watch or buy by all means, but not loved by everyone. Sorry Mr Pegg.
Published on 19 Sep 2007 by Nevs


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate SOTD experience!, 30 Jan 2012
Lazy brit Shaun is witnessing his life crumbling on itself; His long time girlfriend, Liz, has just broke with him, his best friend Ed is a slacker who sells weed to make ends meet and constantly pisses off their roommate Pete, he's stuck in a dead-end job and his stepdad keeps reminding him what a terrible son he is for his mother Barbara.
Determined to improve his life, Shaun finds his perfect chance when a zombie outbreak starts to threaten London.

Edgar Wright's first feature film, Shaun Of The Dead is a rom-zom-com (Romantic Zombie Comedy) ingeniously funny, fast paced and with an ensemble cast featuring the top cream of british comedy, who pays homage to the horror movies of past decades with over-the-top gore scenes and laugh out loud gags of all kind.
This blu-ray is actually a real gift; The Reel Heroes Sleeve makes the all package look even cooler and the disc itself makes the purchase well worth the price. As every Wright's release, this edition comes with more than 2 hours of extras, including a commentary with the director and Pegg, a great quantity of behind the scene footage, easter eggs and the always pleasing UControl mode which allows the viewer to know everything about every scene.
Picture quality is standard HD, with bright colours and defined contours; However I was really pleased about the audio tracks which allowed me to get even the slightest audio in-jokes (like Barbara's very low UUUUWW, in the Zombie Walk scene).
If you're a Pegg-Frost-Wright fan and you still haven't gotten your hands on a blu ray of this movie, this is definetly a must check out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stuffed with extras!, 8 Sep 2004
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm a big fan of the George A.Romero zombie trilogy, and also of the Spaced TV series, so a comedy parody of Romero by the creators of Spaced pretty much gets a couple of stars head start before I have even seen it.
I didn't see the film in the cinema, so it was all new to me. Given British TV's habit of spawning naff films I was a bit wary, but needn't have worried. The first part of the film is really just like a big screen version of Spaced with only a few little hints in the background of the trouble brewing and lots of big laughs. The film then moves into the slightly strange territory which Spaced sometimes inhabited when the main characters start to realise that there are really Zombies on the move. When the action really starts the overt comedy is reined in a bit to let the pace pick up, which is about right: by then you are more interested in what happens next than in where the next joke is coming from.
Simon Pegg makes the transition from small to large screen well, and more surprisingly Dylan Moran does too. Much as Black Books is brilliant, Moran is still basically acting out his stand-up persona. here he is much more rounded character.
Fans of recent British TV comedy will have fun spotting all the actors from The Office, League of Gentlemen and Black Books turning up in roles ranging from major to blink-and-you-miss-it.
I can't really comment on the picture quality as my TV is on the way out, but the use of surround sound is very effective on this disc. During the seige scenes there is a permanent presence of zombie moans and scratching coming from all around to add to the atmosphere.
So, the film is a hit, but what about the disc? Its as good as you would expect from writers and directors who are big fans of the DVD medium, and one of the most loaded single discs you are likely to come across. The extras include 4 full-length commentaries, video diaries from several actors, outtakes and extended scenes as well as the now traditional photo galleries, making-of, TV spots and trailers.
Some of the less conventional extras are a run through of the original story idea on a flip chart, plot holes explained in comic strips with actor voiceovers, and one scene acted in the styles of Sean Connery and Michael Caine in The Man Who Would Be King. The flip chart extra is especially interesting as it pre-dates the filming, and even the full script-writing. Some of the original plot ideas or back story details didn't make it to the film, but its impressive how many details from the original conceptual stage made it all the way through, which says something about the completeness of Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright's original vision.
The thoroughness of the extras is exemplified in what the menu calls the "TV Bits". At various points in the film the characters watch a bit of television, and even though only a few seconds might appear in the film they actually made TV segments of several minutes which are included in full on the disc. And there are some 2000AD comic strips, poster designs, and loads more. There are even some extra extras, not listed on the box, which are tucked away in the sub-title options - a storyboard comparison and the Zomb-o-meter. The zomb-o-meter is a trivia track which lists everything from what the music is on the soundtrack and where a scene was filmed, to what films are being referenced and what game is being played on the Playstation. (Just like the feature on the DVD of the 2nd series of Spaced but even more informative.)
I am already more than satisfied with this film and disc, and I haven't had time to listen to the commentaries yet. Pegg already proved on the Spaced DVDs that he can do an essential talk track - essential to point out all the film references if nothing else - and he features on two of the commentary tracks: one with co-writer and director Edgar Wright, and the other with the main actors. The third commentary is my Shaun's parents (Bill Nighy and Penelope Wilton) and the last track is by actors who played Zombies.
In a recent interview Simon Pegg mentioned that George A. Romero himself liked the film, and if its good enough for him its certainly good enough for me. Roll on the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! An unpretentious British Film!, 17 Sep 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I waited a long time to see this film. I missed it when it was in the cinemas, and have been eagerly awaiting its release on DVD. Thankfully I haven't been disappointed.
Those who remember 'Spaced' on channel 4 will have a good idea of what to expect in this film humourwise, but for the Zombie content, it's George A.Romero that's been the inspiration here. The funny bits are genuinely amusing, and the zombies are at times genuinely unsettling. The first half-hour sets the scene, the final hour really gets moving, and rarely slows until the end.
There are in-jokes for the Zombiephiles out there, including a dig at '28 days later' and a nod to 'Night of the living dead' amongst others, there's a host of famous faces in there (famous to us in the UK anyway...), absurdity, slapstick, pathos, full-on drama, in your face blood and goo, nob gags, fart gags, angst, and just about everything else you can think of at one point or another. Plus a shedload of interesting and amusing extras on the Disc!
In short:
If you like 'Spaced', you'll like this.
If you like George A. Romero's zombie films, you'll like this.
If you like both of the above, you'll love it.
In fact, if you enjoy comedy and/or horror in any way, you'll enjoy this.
Buy it, and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best film EVER, 15 Dec 2012
One of my favourite Simon Pegg & Nick Frost films well one of my favourite films altogether, The film is very very funny and a great mov1e to watch specially if you're a lover of the Simon Pegg and Nick Frost films ( not for young people though and specially ones who don't like zombies)if you are worried about being scared it's okay becaus it's a comedy they make it funny so you don't get scared. It's a good story line and just a great film!
10/10
Its a must see
Buy it!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romero's Heir, 21 Oct 2004
By 
Neb (London, UK) - See all my reviews
The funniest British comedy film since Four Weddings and a Funeral plays on its Englishness admirably, but in the hands of zombie movie and Resident Evil buff Simon Pegg also carries Romero's torch much more convincingly than 28 Days Later or the Dawn of the Dead remake. Of all the recent zombie movies this is the only one that imparts the apocalyptic isolation, tongue in cheek survivalism and plodding, shuffling terror of Romero's trilogy; and the Spaced twentysomething anomic humour sits well with a world gone to seed. Like when you watched Romero's films as a teenager, you'll laugh at the gore and silly zombies, but when you leave the pictures and step out into the cold night you'll see them everywhere you turn. As far as I'm concerned, it goes: Night of the Living Dead, The Dawn of the Dead, Day of the Dead, Shaun of the Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S JAPES-A-PLENTY!!, 10 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Shaun Of The Dead is a great laugh from start to finish and beyond,because you keep laughing when you've switched it off until at least an hour afterwards and sometimes longer(I once laughed the day after viewing it!),so for Japes galore and fun,fun,FUN! treat yourself to a copy of Shaun of The Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD review, 9 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Did not see the film at the cinema, but was impressed by the soundtrack I was given as a present, could sense it was going to be a funny film. I have always been a horror fan, so I liked the idea of a send-up, especially a British one.
Was certainly worth it, no point in giving you the full rundown, there are already other reviews that do justice.
As for the actual DVD, the extras are as long as the film and worth checking out. I think if you enjoy a film that much you will always check out the extras for extended or deleted scenes, outtakes etc.
This has all those and they are amusing in the same vein, including Plot Holes, which does a "If you wondered what happened when Shaun led the zombies away from the pub" comic strip bit, plus a couple of others. There are commentaries and still-shots (think you need to be totally obsessed to get into these that much). Anyway, I think the film itself is worth the money regardless. I certainly preferred it to 28 Days Later, for the laughs and the imagery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Comedy of 2004!, 30 Oct 2004
This film is pure genius! And I think the key to it's genius(ness) is exactly what it tells you on the DVD, it's NOT just a comedy, it's NOT just a horror and it's NOT just a romance, it's a ROM-ZOM-COM!
Any other comedy using a name very similar to a classic Romero film, would have been a spoof, it would have made fun of the zombies, the characters would all end up being fine and there would be lots of stupidity everywhere. This is absolutely NOT a spoof. It uses full on gore effects, to the full, and there are parts where you're on the edge of your seat! This is basically a film about normal people being stuck in a crazy situation, and about them being totally unprepared for it.
If you have seen Spaced, you will absolutely love this film! I've not met one person that doesn't really love this film so far, it's one film that absolutely must be in your DVD collection!
If you haven't seen Spaced and enjoy Shaun of the Dead, I recommend buying both series of Spaced on DVD!
The extra's on this film are ENDLESS (and good!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Slice of Fried Gold!, 20 July 2004
By 
Mr. C. McMartin "c_man_uk" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this at the cinema at the same time i saw the remake of Dawn of the Dead, and while this is a very different style of zombie movie, its equally as good.
This is through and through a classic British comedy. Anyone whos familiar with the work of Simon Pegg and the show Spaced will instantly recognise the style of humour, such as the straight male love between Shaun and Ed, the way Shaun fails to notice the blindingly obvious signs of zombie invasion, and the appearance of practically every major Spaced actor/actress in the movie.
The plot is fairly simple. Shaun breaks up with his girlfriend Liz and sulks back at his flat with his long-time roommate Ed. The following morning they awake to find the country, and possibly the world, has been overrun by undead zombies. What follows is a hillarious adventure as Shaun and Ed set out to rescue Liz, Shauns mum, and a few hangers on and hole up in their local pub until things blow over. Naturally, things dont go exactly to plan....
This is a much more lighthearted movie than most in the genre, although it does still contain several scenes of gore which are quite realistic. Anyone who enjoys a good comedy/horror movie should definetely buy this. As Shaun would say, its a slice of fried gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hand down, the best film ever made of its genre, 19 April 2008
SHAUN OF THE DEAD is a revelation. It's funny and creepy and witty and innovative. It also proves it doesn't take a big budget to create a masterpiece. The jokes are never obvious, but always funny... laugh out loud funny... and the gore isn't intended as a replacement for plot (as it is in so many horror films).

There is simply nothing bad about SOTD... it can't be improved upon. I've seen it dozens of times now and find something new to appreciate each time. Definitely in my top-ten favorite films of all time.

It is, hands down, the best film ever made of its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaun of the Dead [HD DVD]
Shaun of the Dead [HD DVD] by Edgar Wright (HD DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: 0.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews