Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars117
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2007
QUESTION-if you're tuomas,how do you go about replacing a singer like tarja turunen?? ANSWER-put quite simply-you don't try & replace tarja-because,if you did,you would just end up with one of the hundreds of tarja "clones" that are out there right now-what you actually do is go for somebody with a completely different vocal style altogether and therefore the band can start with a totally "clean slate"-no comparisons to tarja-and a new fresh sound as well-all courtesy of the new singer-anette olzon!! ================================================================= i've got to say that,after listening to the new album four or five times i'm absolutely convinced that tuomas & the guys have got it 100% right with their choice of singer because this is one absolutely awesome album! ========================================================================= (1)THE POET AND THE PENDELUM-fourteen minute "epic" to open up the album-soft opening before a crushing riff from emppu kicks in and then anettes voice comes in-this song has everything-it slows down,speeds up and it's got an excellent chorus-easily as good as "dark chest of wonders"-the opening track off the last album-"once"-this is a nightwish "classic"!! (2)BYE BYE BEAUTIFUL-another all out rocker featuring excellent keyboard work from tuomas-great vocal work from marco on an extremley catchy chorus-this one should be an excellent live track!! (3)AMARANTH-this ones a mid paced song-anettes vocal performance is really very impressive on this track (4)CADENCE OF HER LAST BREATH-another mid paced tune and another great vocal performance from anette (5)MASTER PASSION GREED-the pace speeds up again with this one-great vocal performance from marco here,who-in days gone by,always seemed to be in tarjas shadow-not the case anymore-this is an excellent track (6)EVA-slow ballad,which was the first single-and had all the fans worried that the band had gone "soft" and "wimped out"-absolutely no chance!beautiful vocal performance from anette on this track!! (7)SAHARA-this really is a great song-awesome riff that really wouldn't sound out of place on a metallica album-in fact it's along the samelines as "sad but true"-emppus guitar work is excellent on this track!! (8)WHOEVER BRINGS THE NIGHT-back to mid-pace again with this one but this is probably one of my favourite songs on the album-great chorus!! (9)FOR THE HEART I ONCE HAD-another one sang at mid-pace right up until the chorus when the guitars crunch in and anettes voive shines yet again-as if there were any real doubts by this stage on the album (10)THE ISLANDER-marco & anette duet on a song that wouldn't sound out of place on a folk album-but i love it-another stand out track on the album (11)LAST OF THE WILDS-an instrumental-mixing scandinavian folk music with rock-very cleverley done-shows that these guys are really not afraid to try anything new & they've got to be applauded for that!! (12)7 DAYS TO THE WOLVES-the pace picks up again with this one-which has yet another excellent chorus!! (13)MEADOWS OF HEAVEN-a slow ballad to finish with-anettes voice,once again,shining through-bringing the album to a close-triumphantly!! ================================================================== yes,anette is not "tarja mk.2"(and it also remains to be seen just how well she'll cope with singing the old songs live-we'll just have to wait and see!!)but the very fact that she's not tarja is the whole point-i feel that if the group had stuck with tarja then they would have been forced to tailor the songs to suit her style-but with anette on board i really do feel that there's a whole new world of possibilities opening up for them-to me this album sounds like a band right at the top of their game!!if you call yourself a true nightwish fan then please just listen to this album with a completely open mind and(hopefully!!)you'll agree with me that this band have got a very big/very bright future ahead of them-welcome back-it's been a very long time-but this seventy five minute "masterpiece" has made it "worth the wait"-roll on the uk tour next march!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2007
I agree with much of the previous review, except that I don't rate the new singer at all. A change from Tarja is fine, but where she stood out, the new singer is of the generic female goth type, but nowhere near the class of those from Within Temptation, Epica, Sirenia, Angtoria and the like. The high notes are very poor and squeaky - think Orphanage for a decent comparison.

Musically this isn't a patch on Once. As the previous review says there is nothing on here even remotely close to Creek Mary's Blood or Ghost Love Score which sent shivers everywhere when I first heard them (and still do).

Nothing on here that hasn't been done better by others, I'm afraid. An extra star for the orchestral CD which is much better than the one with vocals.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2009
really great, complete from symphonic start track to melodic as Islander or Eva track. Anette voice isn't high like Tarja but in this album sounds perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
its ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2007
First and foremost: This is a great album, a composition of well-balanced variety, and certainly contains more than just two or three amazing tracks.

It is, however, not a Nightwish album. For me, the time of Nightwish is over, and in light of the last album "Once" it might have been about time. No matter how much I will miss Tarja's phenomenal voice (well, there is always her second solo album 'My Winter Storm'...), embedded in brilliantly matching instrumental ensembles, the greatest music Nightwish ever created was between 1998 and 2001 (Oceanborn, Wishmaster, Over the Hills and Far Away EP), something that I would call 'epic' metal.

What we have in "Dark Passion Play", in my opinion, is a fresh start, a new beginning, that tries to span power metal (Master Passion Greed), symphonic metal (Seven Days to the Wolves), pop (Eva) and Tuomas' initial idea of camp fire melodies (The Islander). It works, and as some of the other reviewers have pointed out, the album develops its quality after listening to it for several times (three times for me). It took me a while, as I had to get the idea out of my head that this could still be Nightwish as I had known it for years.

This is Nightwish Part 2: the arrangements, the music is still empowering and symphonic, but has to accomodate 'new' and quite different voices to the former singer's. They tend to be either more 'metal' (Tuomas can actually sing if he wants to, figure that) or 'rock' (Anette's voice is great but not exceptional as it is very similar to other metal front women's oeuvre), thus moving closer to their colleagues' style of symphonic metal (After Forever, Midnattsol, Leave's Eyes).

I enjoy this album very much and would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is passionate about symphonic metal, ethno rock and folk or power metal. In fact, I would recommend this album as an interface between these styles to try out some new musical grounds. :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2007
This is a stunning CD. So stunning that it hurts. Why? - because one just knows that it would've been even better with Tarja singing. (For those new to Nightwish, the band sacked their previous very good classical singer Tarja in a pre-emptive move, as it looked like she was planning to leave for personal reasons).

The new singer Annette does have a lovely voice, but it's the lovely voice of a weedy pop singer. On the quieter songs like Eva she does a wonderful job, but her limitations are evident on the louder tracks. I find her unbearable on the bridge to Amaranth where she shrieks like a teenager. Nightwish need someone with lungs and clarity like a Sharon den Adel (Within Temptation) or a Floor Jansen (After Forever). Annette struggles to compete with the instruments, and being a bit too far down in the mix doesn't help. Sorry to say that she doesn't really bring anything to the band that Tarja didn't have (perhaps Annette sounds a bit more feminine but that's about it).

It's the music and lyrics this time that win this five stars, as said it is stunning. Darker but more melodic than previous Nightwish, there is a celtic theme running through it (rather than native north American as on Once), most obvious on the instrumental Last of the Wilds which sounds like Runrig backed by an orchestra. There is not a dull moment in the music, this takes the focus away from Annette, and Marco helps out with more male vocals. He is improving all the time and I hope this becomes a regular feature. This CD would still get five stars with Victoria Beckham singing the female vocals. But it hurts that we don't have the very best.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2007
My son bought this CD and I have heard it 3 times. I knew NW would be different, but I am very disappointed with the vocals. The new singer does not have the training or the range required for this band. They were unique, now they blend in with the goth metal crowd. The singer from Within Temptation is better. Some of the tracks show the brilliance of composition I have heard before from this group, I just wish they had picked a better vocalist. The style of play has changed too, I guess they have to change (because of the different style of singing).

Gethsemane, Beauty and the Beast, Dead Boys Poem, Nemo, Ghost Love Score, in fact everything they did with Tarja was excellent. They made the back of my neck tingle and still do. This album does nothing at all.

I will not buy this CD. I did buy Tarjas new CD My Winter Storm and I am very pleased I did.

Get a decent singer and I will come back.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
I bought this after seeing the nightwish dvd of them live at Wacken with Floor Jansen. That is a magnificent tour de force. Dark Passion Play has some interesting tracks but it comes across as a pop singer, with very little in the way of passion, being backed by a band. In short, it is really disjointed.
If I had heard this first I would have given up on Nightwish but instead I am really looking forward to their new album to be released in the early part of 2015.
With Floor Jansen and Troy, they are a complete band with a unique sound who seem to really trust each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)