Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent...
With the other reviews being so brief, I thought it was worth elaborating a bit on why this album is such an important and worthwhile UK Metal album.
UK Thrash has been on a massive rise, as has the thrash genre generally, and this is the first quality new release by a new act. True, SSS had a CD reissued quite recently by Earache but that had been available for a...
Published on 22 Sep 2007 by C. S. Caps

versus
5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heard this 15 years ago done allot better....
So if you missed thrash the first time around it's cool to have a band like this around today, someone of your time you can go and see, mosh and stage dive to.
That doesn't stop this being a completely derivative, unoriginal, thrash by numbers experience. Simply put this lot wouldn't have even got a record deal back in the heyday of thrash, don't get me wrong there...
Published on 12 Nov 2007 by Howard Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent..., 22 Sep 2007
By 
C. S. Caps (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
With the other reviews being so brief, I thought it was worth elaborating a bit on why this album is such an important and worthwhile UK Metal album.
UK Thrash has been on a massive rise, as has the thrash genre generally, and this is the first quality new release by a new act. True, SSS had a CD reissued quite recently by Earache but that had been available for a while. Also true, Onslaught released a new album this year but they are one of the old guard (check out all their stuff). Therefore, you see what I mean - Enter the Grave is a totally fresh release from the plethora of up-and-coming UK Thrash acts.

So why is it so good? Well, what Evile have managed to do, and do really well, is combine the joyous power of 80s Thrash with various extreme influences from the years that followed (the death and melodic death scenes from the late 80s onward). The result is an album that is 100%, full-throttle Thrash for the OOs. Imagine a combination of Testament, vintage Metallica and Megadeth mixed with At the Gates, The Haunted, Obituary and Entombed (if you've listened to Morningstar you will see a clear similarity between Petrov's vocals and Matt's). The Testament dark, melodic intros are there, the riff power of Metallica is present and the modern sheen really gives it an extra boost and validates beyond a nostalgia trip. Stand out cuts are plentiful but my favourite track is, without question, We Who Are About to Die. Anthemic is not the word! Addictive mid-pace riffing and awesome vocal lines (a pleasure from their demo days) lead into a massive, furiously fast break that has solos flying everywhere. However, this song is just typical of Evile's quality, each song rips it up. Enter the Grave through to Armoured Assault - all top quality, modern Thrash.

Right now you know how good Enter the Grave is you should pick it up. Once you've done that, you will want to put it into context. Go to ukthrash.co.uk and check out the forum and the band list. It will shock you just how many bands there are attempting this stuff. Special mentions go to Mutant, Gama Bomb, Heretic (more melodic death but worth a gander), Amok (mentioned in another review), Pitiful Reign (on their way to big things), Rager and Deceptor. The Bangers and Thrash compilation (available from the Resilience Records site) is an awesome introduction as well.

Oh, and if you haven't bought both Sabbat CDs do it. Best UK Thrash band ever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrash metal destroys again!, 28 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
These guys are just steeped in the best of '80s thrash. But far from being another lame-duck, this album as worthy as anything by Slayer, Testament, Exodus or Destruction. Forget that it's twenty years late, it's a timeless album.

Evile know how to write songs and while the album has a modern sounding production, Rasmussen went to the old school. There is no overwhelming, clumsy bass overkill, or the really loud grasshopper-on-steroids drum sounds of the last decade. The mid-range frequencies rule here, and that's the way it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THRASH ABOUT LIKE A LUNATIC, 28 Mar 2008
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
First off we should get one thing out of the way here.....
This is by no means anything new, but hey, when are you ever gonna get anything new with thrash? That kind of underpins it's timeless appeal.

What you do get with this album is a band who are fully aware of their thrash metal roots, but have the benefit of modern production. Why on earth do you think Flemming was willing to produce these guys?

The result...... balls out thrash metal. Bloody tight lightning fast riffing, breakneck drumming. Something Slayer/Metallica/Testament/Anthrax/Megadeth would have been proud of in the 80's (and certainly in the case of Metallica would be proud of now).

If you want to hear just how metal this album is, just put on track number 7 "We Who Are About To Die"

The opening words in each of the first 2 lines of the song are "BLOOD" and "THUNDER" - can it get any more metal than that?!!

Buy the album, then go see them live, get in the pit, shed some blood, break a bone or 2. You'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrash till death!!!, 7 Dec 2007
By 
JR Pemberton (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
EVILE burst on to the stage with a great amount of confidence with there debut album ENTER THE GRAVE, containing enough thrash anthems to make you want to go and find that sleveless denim jacket you use to wear with all those EXODUS, DESTRUCTION, SODOM and KREATOR patches sown on, and start headbanging till your neck feels like it needs emergency surgery. A fantastic and superb album that pays tribute to thrash bands of yesteryear aswell as forging its own path, with songs about killer sharks, John Rambo, Roman emperors and surviving mosh pits. Play at loud volume only!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast From The Past, 5 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Enter the Grave (Audio CD)
This album takes me back even though they are a new band. They have taken a lot of the best bits if 80's thrash and repackaged into a more modern format. Great for old thrash fans like me and to the newbies to this style of music. For fans of Metallica (early), Anthrax, Slayer, Megadeth, Exodus, Overkill, Sabbat and their ilk and also well worth a listen for folks into Devildriver, Shadows Fall, Lamb Of God, Children Of Bodom, In Flames, Dark Tranquility. Most impressed by Enter The Grave and it hasn't left my ipod for months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds like good old 80's Thrash to me, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Rob (London U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
This band who hail from England have made a superior debut and if Slayer had not even existed(dreadful thought)than this probably would have been a classic! What I mean is alot of the guitar riffs sound like Slayers' but only recycled in a slightly different way and the vocalist sounds alot like Tom Araya. I still obviously prefer Slayer but these guys have done a very good job to say the least. I give this album 4 stars instead of 5 because of their lack of originality. I like the whole album and I highly recommend this if you are into old school Thrash Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrash is back!, 28 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
Heard about this band in kerrang Magazine and it got such a rave review I snapped up a copy. And boy I'm glad I did.

This is Old School metal at it's very best. Not just your average head slamming bass riffs and chest crushing drums (though there is plenty to be had!), but intelligent and gripping lyrics and awsome lead guitar work put Evile in a new class of there own.

Enter the Grave and Killer From The Deep deserve mention here, as both are superb examples of Evile's keen and fearless attitude to Metal.

The best Thrash since Slayer? Slayer are probably listening to Evile right now. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great old style thrash, 1 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
This record lacks pretty much any originality. It's obvious that Evile is strongly influenced by Slayer, Metallica etc. and a lot of 80s thrash. However, just because the style will sound strikingly familiar doesn't mean it's not good.

This is an amazing thrash CD. It's as strong as Metallica's and Slayer's early stuff. A lot of amazing riffs, ripping solos and shed loads of SPEEEED. Unforunately I wasn't around when the thrash scene first started but listening to this CD makes me feel like I'm back there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance!, 28 Aug 2007
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
Lets be honest. There has been a serious lack of decent British metal bands of late, but Evile are here to change that.

This band are just amazing. And they're not even orignal! Playing old school 80's thrash, but with such "Evile" intensity that you just don't care how much of a throw back it is.

Great riffs, solos and a wicked vocalist this band are on a revialist march that anyone who considers themselves a thrash fan will be happy to join.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evile!, 5 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Enter The Grave (Audio CD)
While the old guard have battled on through the years, there has been next to no fresh new bands emerging who play thrash metal to the old school recipe. However, TRIVIUM's turn to thrash with last year's 'Crusade' album just seems to have opened the door again for the genre. Youngsters EVILE are the band who is about lead the UK into battle, and they'll be hoping to make more of an impact than the first wave of UK thrash bands (ONSLAUGHT, SABBAT, ACID REIGN, XENTRIX, SLAMMER) who struggled to set the genre alight in the late 80's.

'Enter The Grave' is EVILE's debut record and for an air of thrash authenticity, the album has been produced by Flemming Rasmussen, famous for working on a trio of METALLICA's classic early albums. He's done a decent job here obtaining a crisp, tight sound, without clouding the raw energy inherant in thrash metal music.

I would describe EVILE's sound more specifically as a cross between EXODUS and SLAYER, but perhaps just lacking the bite of the latter. There is no really weak material on here though with good quality thrash metal throughout, and there's certainly a few standout scorchers to mention. Opener and title track 'Enter The Grave' gets things off to a ferocious start and album closer, the 'Disposable Heroes' style 'Armoured Assault' rounds things off in similar fashion. My favourite in between these two is 'We Who Are About to Die' with it's headbang inducing riffs, although 'Thrasher' is sure to be the band's live anthem and is a great call to arms for the mosh pit.

Overall, 'Enter The Grave' is an impressive start to EVILE's career and fans of old school thrash should get their tenners out and give these lads a chance. By no means is this another 'Master of Puppets' or 'Reign in Blood', but it's certainly no worse then anything METALLICA and SLAYER have released in the last 10 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enter The Grave
Enter The Grave by Evile (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews