Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mick Taylors Blues Band.
This album is far too short ! I really wish that there had been more of Mick's playing available at this time. I was lucky to see him live! during this period of his work and he gave a knockout performance that I'll never forget. His slide guitar style is amazing and never fails to capture your deepest blues mood. His playing With Mayall and the Stones will never be...
Published on 20 Feb. 2013 by Mr. P. Grainger

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Could Have Been So Much Better
I eagerly awaited the arrival of this album once I had spotted it on Amazon. A long-term fan of Mick's since Bluesbreakers days, the track listing promised some lengthy blues workouts from a master of that art. And what did I hear? A superbly well-recorded live set, with spot-on and sympathetic backing from Coghlan and Redding, but the man himself? Sorry, but I disagree...
Published 7 months ago by Lester Anorak


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mick Taylors Blues Band., 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. P. Grainger "Peter Grainger" (Middlesbrough UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
This album is far too short ! I really wish that there had been more of Mick's playing available at this time. I was lucky to see him live! during this period of his work and he gave a knockout performance that I'll never forget. His slide guitar style is amazing and never fails to capture your deepest blues mood. His playing With Mayall and the Stones will never be bettered. Come on Mick let's have some more of those blues from you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
Would say this is possibly my Favourite Mick Taylor Album
not a bad track on it would recomend it if you like the Blues
GBK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Great Mick Taylor Sounds!, 21 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
Mick Taylor and company deliver a solid outing on this live disc that is steeped in blues. As always Taylor's guitar is the real showcase of the performance, and once again he puts on quite a show for us. This release is well worth adding to your collection if you enjoy blues-based guitar with incredible emotion in every note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mick taylor can turn any cd into a Gem, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
one of the most underated guitarists of out time..whoes solos and licks and make or break a record..
Since he left stones..nothin musically matched his output year witht the band..
if yu like mick taylor..check out snowy white too..
this had Noel Redding (ex hendrix bass).
amust for music lovers and collectors..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mick Taylor Band -" Little Red Rooster"., 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
I grew up playing the Blues in the 1960's and I still do the local Blues Festivals today (N. Ireland). I first heard of Mick Taylor when he joined The Stones for their July 1969 concert in Hyde Park. I've bought his music, seen him play (with John Mayall),and had my my first real encounter with supreme quality slide guitar playing through him. He was tasty, laid-back, unassuming and a master of his art.

And it all shines through on this "live" album. No overdubs, session players or studio effects. Just a pared-back 3-piece band showcasing three very fine musicians paying good honest homage to standard and traditional blues. Don't expect "heads down", heavy guitar-trashing solos- genuine blues isn't about that. How many 3-piece bands think they are playing the blues with supersonic, over-long, self-indulgent solos? This band shines with the most important quality- "Feel"- perfected by a life-time of experience.John Cochlan on drums, played some great blues with Status Quo - (think of "Roadhouse Blues" on "Piledriver"), and Noel Redding was everyone's prototype Bass player with the legendary Jimi Hendrix Experience. Mick Taylor turned away from turbulent super-stardom with The Stones to focus his skills on "The Blues". Just listen also to his Tokyo concert recorded more recently in May 2009. Only seven tracks on here, but oozing, full of goodness. I'll bet he didn't even want to be credited as "Band Leader!

O.K., similarly, there are only 5 tracks on this "Little Red Rooster" album, "live" from Hungary in 2001, and each one is very long, ranging from over eight to nearly fifteen minutes each but you will enjoy standards such as Catfish Blues, Red House, Little Red Rooster, You Shook Me and I Wonder Why. All slow blues, all with long solos, but with "feel" taste and expertise with which these musicians excel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes Forgotten Influencial Guitarist, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
This is a little gem, recommend this to any Stones fans looking for a bit more Brussels Affair guitar. Class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
Enjoy CD immensely its for my husband because it his type of music so really good choice of Music great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Red Roster, 27 Nov. 2013
By 
Leila Pinky "Leila Loves" (East Salisbury Northbri, South Australia, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
Any one interested in listening to sublime Music buy this Album you will not be dis-appointed the music is seriously great. I just love listening to this Album too. It is so nice to hear his Guitar that is Mick Taylor playing his guitar lovingly. It is disappointing & a shame that John Mayer (wrong Spelling) changed his band when he did and no longer required a lead guitarist in 1969 having said that it brought him to the Rolling Stones in 1969 after Brian Jones passed sadly. I especially love it all but I enjoy on all albums where he appears when the guitarist virtually does solo & jamming with the other members as I am listening to now on No 8 of "The Ring of Truth". Buy them you will not be disappointed if you enjoy really good music. I am sure Mick Taylor is surely enjoyed by the Americans who love the Blues/Jazz combo. Liliana Karapas. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rooster Booster, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
An excellent cd showcasing the remarkable talent of my favourite blues slide guitarist. Thought it was a new release until I read the blurb. I agree with a previous comment that urged Mick to release more of the same especially whilst his uplifting guest appearances with the Stones are still fairly fresh in the memory.. Don't blame the stones for his choice of career path, they did not ask him to leave. I recall him being rather smug in a tv interview alongside Jack Bruce when he chose to join him and Carla Blay. If you like tasteful blues slide buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did Mick Taylor not reach the heights, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. Graham Hort "Alf" (Plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Red Rooster (Audio CD)
He was stunning with John Mayall, THE musician with the Stones and worked with most of the greats. I now have this and A Stones Throw. Both fantastic albums and his singing is really good. He should have achieved more and everyone should buy both albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Red Rooster
Little Red Rooster by Mick Taylor (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews