Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars87
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

House season 3 is by far the best, and riskiest, season of the impressive medical drama so far. Steadily increasing in popularity with each passing year, it is welcoming to see that the House writers didn't decide to 'rest on their laurels', but instead did unpredictable, surprising things to the main cast. On few popular dramas do we see the lead character jailed and facing prison, but then Dr. Gregory House is no ordinary, ten-a-penny drama character. This complex genius is made all the more engaging due to his fierce conflict with Tritter, a spiteful detective out to destroy House's life. Tritter, played superbly by David Morse, is a rare character on House: someone who is equal to the doctor, and who won't back down without a fight. This compelling vendetta, and House's uncertain future, dominates much of the first half of the season, and stands as one of the best sub-plots in the series history to date. As the season progresses, we see more screen time devoted to the relationships forming between the supporting characters. At least one of these relationships gives House much reason for consternation, and his antics during this period are amusing and at times juvenile. As for the season finale, it will be interesting to see if the writers have the courage to go ahead with the massive changes implemented in this episode. If they do, then this show will have earned its rightful recognition as the gutsiest show currently being made for television.

Extras on this 5-disc, 24 episode DVD package include:

Alternate Take From Cane and Able: The Angry Valley Girl Version
Half-Wit Commentary with Creator/Executive Producer David Shore and Executive Producer/Director Katie Jacobs
Blooper Reel
The Making of The Jerk: Anatomy of an Episode - An inside look at the making of Episode 23.
Soundtrack Session: Hugh Laurie and The Band From TV - Join Hugh Laurie and the rest of The Band From TV as they record the smokey song "Minnie the Moocher" for the show's soundtrack.
Open House: The Production Office - Executive Producer Katie Jacobs gives viewers a tour of the production office.
Blood, Needles, and Body Parts: The House Prop Department -- An inside look at the property department.
0Comment|86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2008
Season 1 got me hooked, Season 2 made me fall in love and Season 3 just made me giddy. If someone told me this show couldn't get better, I would be inclined to agree. At the end of Season 2, House was shot and he asked to be given Ketamine which would help fix his leg. Season 3 starts off with, what seems to be a completely new House, he's happy and he's walking without an aid and doing his job without Vicodin. This is cool, it shows us just how much the leg problems have affected House and his personality. It doesn't last, as within a few episodes he's back to using the Cane and popping pills every hour.

During mid season House also gains himself a Vogler-esque type enemy, only this time it's a cop, and it lands House in some serious trouble. He's constantly haunted by this cop who insists on making House's life a misery until he's behind bars. House just carries on as usual, so the cop known as Tritter starts on his friends, first off is Wilson. This is a big test for their friendship as Wilson's life is almost destroyed by Tritter, but he refuses to give him up. Can we say the same for the team? Even Chase? Watch it and find out, you wont be disappointed.

You know the greatest thing about this show across all seasons? It's not the witty one liners or the likable supporting cast or the complex Dr. House. It's that the show isn't cliché, it doesn't have a case and solve it every episode and then make out like everything's cool. It shows you that actually life isn't like that and not everybody pulls through the rare life threatening illness. Although House may solve most of the cases, a lot of the time it's too late or sacrifices have to be made by patient relatives in order to save the patients life. This makes the situation more realistic and makes it genuinely more intense as you're wondering every episode whether the patient will pull through.

Naturally Season 3 is bound to have the classic lines. Below are some of my favourites.

From Episode 1: The Meaning

Cameron: "You're lucky he didn't die."
House: "I'm lucky? He's the one who didn't die."

From Episode 8: Whac-A-Mole

House: "Okay, fine. I'll father your child. But first you gotta write me a Vicodin prescription. Just so I can get through the foreplay."

From Episode 14: Insensitive

House: "I was curious. Since I'm not a cat, that's not dangerous."

From Episode 22: Resignation

House: "Personally, I can't believe I had the same three employees for three years."
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
I agree that season 3 is the best series of House to date. The terminally obnoxious diagnostician ramps things up to 11 in his remorseless quest to alienate everyone in his life, while the cracks in his own inscrutable life begin to widen.
Hugh Laurie continues to astound and show hitherto unseen range in his portrayal, whilst the supporting cast complement his character perfectly. Hospital administrator the seriously gorgeous (Lisa) Cuddy struggles to contain House's gigantic ego, and he even makes a surprising new enemy, leading to a relentless vendetta that threatens to ruin his career as well as his life. As ever though the naive Wilson, ambitious Chase and lovestruck Cameron constantly shield House from himself, but as he gets evermore out of control, even these few steadfast supporters begin to show signs of fatigue.
Another excellent set of stories in a truly compelling series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 February 2008
It does what it says on the box - House M.D. series 3. All 24 episodes spread over 6 discs.

What a wonderful TV show. If you loved series 1 & 2 them you'll love this. The character of House is as brilliant as ever and steals the show. There are some episodes where you don't like the guy much but that all adds to his complex character. The other characters all get a chance to shine at various points throughout the series also.

Regarding bonus material, I found the 20 minute featurette on disc 6 the best (based on The Jerk episode). You get interviews with the main actors and that was really enough for me. Disc 5 has a series of short 3-5 minute features - bloopers, special effects etc. There's also an alternative ending and commentary episode. So a decent enough splattering of material.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2008
House Season 3 is entertaining. There is a much needed expansion to the non-medical plot lines, including House's legal struggle. Hugh Laurie is inspired throughout and remains the pivotal character. Can he really be the slightly ridiculous figure who cast his shadow in British comedies like Blackadder and Jeeves and Wooster?

Unfortunately, the other characters are grossly underwritten, mere adjuncts to House's savage and uncompromising moods. They stand and fall by their reaction to House. It would be much better if we saw plotlines that do not detract from the style of the show but still add value. I realise that this show does not want to be an ER (more's the pity) or a lesser hospital show, but it can retain its edge with a little more forethought.

One big thing that can grate... how many more detective trails can we watch where numerous false diagnosis' are conjured up before wilting away? The medical drama is formulaic and a little jaded, hence the need for plots that branch out. Still, I've enjoyed all three series and will watch the next with anticipation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 November 2009
I think that this session contains some of the best episodes of House there are. All the characters, particularly that of House are portrayed in greater depth and there is a great story arch in the form of a battle of wits between House and an aggrieved law enforcement patient. This is contained well within the over arching story of dynamics between House, his team, his superiors within the hospital and all this while some fantastic rewatchable individual episodic storylines.

For shoppers unfamiliar with House (although this is the third season so I'd assume you could be if you've searched this in particular) its a "medical mystery" series in which House and his team of brilliant Doctors carry out medical investigations and attempt to diagnose and treat illnesses which have already proven confounding and can carry on doing so until the Sherlock Holmes like figure of House discovers what's really going on a reveals it all as really elementary. House himself isnt a nice guy, at least he hasnt any bedside manner, and his interactions with others all appear to be characterised by a low key hostility.

In this season of House this is developed to great extent and some of the reasons why House has choosen the profession he is in, one that necessitates such contact with people are mused about, I found this really entertaining. Although the viewer is left wondering whether House choose to be become a Doctor because he has some obsessive needs to unravel puzzles or because people will over look his character flaws because they need his learning. The boggy of drug addiction/dependency remains ever present and it is also used to account for House's character also but through the medium of the battle of wits with the law man, who has some interesting character flaws all of his own, the impact of addiction upon House's "nearest and dearest" of staff and superiors is investigated too. I liked some of what was featured here about friendship, reciprocal needs and the dynamics between House and others.

I think the best episodes are "One Day, One Room" and "Airborne". In "One Day, One Room" House works day surgery and encounters a rape survivor, the dynamic between House and the traumatised young woman is acted brilliantly. House is bewildered by what she wants from him and why he should be so important to her, he resorts to a lot of therapeutic "scripts" and well acted sincerity, all the while this is contrasted with the rape survivors own world view of life being a series of rooms and the people in each room. There are some brilliant exchanges during this episode, the sharing of life stories and why that matters was very interesting. While in "Airborne" House finds himself on a flight and has to recreate the sort of dynamic he has with his team of doctors by having passengers perform roles similiar to them in order to discover what illness is threatening everyone on the plane.

While medicine and medical investigation provide the backstory to House the real gripping element is the human drama and the sheer deepth of the characters and dynamics portrayed in the show. To this end there's also some weirdness about dreams and House's own reflection plays a role in his diagnosis towards the end of the season. For fans there is plenty here to satisfy, for people new to the series too I believe that its as good a place to begin as any since it has some of the best material in the series per se. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hugh Laurie's Dr Gregory House is one of the finest characters from US television in a very long time. Other recent American medical dramas such as Grey's Anatomy are still very good, but simply cannot compete with the brilliance of House.

A large proportion of this season is taken up by House's involvement with the police, with Detective Tritter going out of his way to bring House down for his addiction to Vicodin. The story develops over several episodes, until "Words and Deeds" when House is finally put on trial.

As ever, the rare diseases and strange diagnoses are the basis of each episode, with "House Training" leading to a huge mistake by the team.

If you're a fan of House, then this season is quite simply a must-have buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
Howdy.

If you like house youll already have watched season 1 & 2. 3 is more of the same. More illnesses that seem to be colds, but turn out to be some strange form of jungle fever caught from a soggy bit of lettuce that the neighbours hired help hurled in a complex manner at the exact zenneth of the sun on the 3rd of november.
Or something.

But season 3 seems to have more of a story behind it. Yes house is still a grouch etc, yes hes always right with his diagnosis. And yes the people are better by the end.
But now theres a bit of a story which spans a few episode. So now theres a cliff hanger that makes you want to watch it.

And that, in my opinion, makes season 3 better. Go buy it.

Ta
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
I used to cover my eyes while watching Dr Who as a child, and thought I'd outgrown such behaviour a long time ago. It's now getting on 30 years later and I've started doing the same thing again but this time with House. Sometimes I even feel like squeezing behind the settee. Every episode has a moment of surgery so gross, painful and utterly disturbing that I revert to behaving like a spooked kid again. I refer you to the tapeworm scene, and rest my case.
Since watching Series One to Three on dvd, I have diagnosed myself with about 200 different medical conditions (not Lupus, I'm pleased to say) all of which appear to be terminal and therefore I can only hope to live long enough to get through Series Four and then perhaps see Series Five when it comes out. If I'm lucky.

I stick with House because the writing is sharp and the acting superb, and the show never seems to go off the boil. It's not presented as a comedy, but the consistent presence of black humour (occasionally venomous) leaps out. It also serves to open up the leading characters' personalities and can defuse difficult medical dilemmas and as such they get away with all kinds of situations which other shows would portray as misery on a stick.

If you're not familiar with House and think it might be yet another endless medical dramathon, don't worry. It's got many levels, all of them dominated by the unstable mind of Dr House.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Hugh Lawrie plays the sarcastic character so well, rather unusual to be able to "inject" humour into what is essentially a programme about sometimes horrific medical conditions.
The supporting characters are also excellent and have developed from season 1 into ones that you can relate to. I felt that series 1 was more about the medical conditions rather than developing the characters, but necessary as an introduction to the whole thing.
I'm addicted to "House" and look forward to watching season 4
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)