Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apatow does it again - funny, thoughtful and sweet
For those of us who saw The 40 Year Old Virgin and came away wishing that they'd given 'that funny guy with the beard' roles that could have saved Bruce Almighty and suchlike fro mediocrity, Knocked Up is like our prayers getting answered. Rogen is on fantastic form as Ben - a waster seemingly locked in a happy stasis of living off court reparations with a house of...
Published on 27 Dec 2007 by M. Gardner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more laughs than your usual romcom
The romantic comedy is big business in Hollywood. Like the action movie staple, it is designed to appeal to a wide audience. But we've all seen so many of these films that they have totally lost any ability to surprise us. Boy meets girl, boy and girl like each other, an obstacle is placed in their way, boy loses girl, the obstacle is overcome... the audience won't stand...
Published on 30 July 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apatow does it again - funny, thoughtful and sweet, 27 Dec 2007
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
For those of us who saw The 40 Year Old Virgin and came away wishing that they'd given 'that funny guy with the beard' roles that could have saved Bruce Almighty and suchlike fro mediocrity, Knocked Up is like our prayers getting answered. Rogen is on fantastic form as Ben - a waster seemingly locked in a happy stasis of living off court reparations with a house of similar stoners, playing duel and table tennis, gtting high, and watching movies for nude bits in the hope of setting up an internet lexion of film nudity - the man who has a drunken liason with TV presenter and career gal Alison (Katherine Heigl) and gets her pregnant. The movie's story could be summed up with the phrase 'deal with it' - it is the story of how these two work out their fundamental differences and prepare for the birth.

The film works because Judd Apatow, much like in his movie debut, manages to juggle the vulgar and the sweet, the crass and the romantic, without ever seeming to side to heavily on either side. An 'eurgh' is never too far away from an 'aww' and vice versa. For critics of the film who have suggested that this wouldn't happen - that they'd just go their separate ways - you have to say that had that happened it would have been a pretty short film: guy knocks up girl, girl deals with it on own. The End. No. Instead Apatow looks at the conflict as they struggle to make it work. Unlike most romcom heroes, Ben is a highly flawed character: yes he does have genuine goodwill and yes he does foolish American bumbling very well and comes across as endearing, but he is also a lazy guy who is incredibly scared of growing up and leaving behind his childhood. Again, much like the 40YOV, Apatow has created a field where his central protagonist is a clueless and afraid, and has to make tentative (often hilarious, sometimes tragic) steps into an area that is unknown. Heigl is excellent as Alison, exuding the same sense of comfortability in her role that fans of Grey's Anatomy will be instantly at home with. Her comic timing is perfectly equal to Rogen's and the chemistry between the two is wonderfully awkward. Again it has irritated me that there are those that have criticised the (alleged) lack of chemistry between the two leads. Rogen and Heigl, from their (importantly) drunken encounter, lurch from faux-responsible businesslike brusqueness about the whole thing, to being alternately scared, disappointed in one another, proud, earnest, optimistic, pessimistic - in short every nuance of the rollercoaster of emotion one would expect over those crucial nine months. They are backed up with wonderfully understated turns from Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann.

In short Knocked Up is another Apatow success. It is by turns funny, dramatic, romantic, rude, crude and thought provoking. But it is a romantic comedy - there is no reason to make it the most gritty piece of realism - and so the sugar sweet ending may be forgiven at least if not endorsed. After all, most of Shakespeare's comedies ended up with the 'happily ever after' and he still managed to say a few things about relationships and society. If Judd Apatow is taking a couple of pages out of the Bard's textbook (eve if indirectly) in can hardly be a bad thing can it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more laughs than your usual romcom, 30 July 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (cheltenham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
The romantic comedy is big business in Hollywood. Like the action movie staple, it is designed to appeal to a wide audience. But we've all seen so many of these films that they have totally lost any ability to surprise us. Boy meets girl, boy and girl like each other, an obstacle is placed in their way, boy loses girl, the obstacle is overcome... the audience won't stand an unhappy ending, so the destination is always the same; everyone lives happily ever after. What matters, then, is what happens along the way.

No one will be surprised to learn that Knocked Up does not deviate from this formula- but starting from an unusual premise (a one night stand between Ben and Alison, two mismatched types) and developing a new genre, the gross-out romantic comedy (I know! Romance for the girls and sick gags for the boys, it's a sure-fire winner) it remains consistently entertaining along the way.

My main problem with the film is that I had no sympathy at all with Ben and his slacker friends. A few genuinely funny gags aside, they remained impressively irritating throughout the movie. Much better is director Judd Apatow's sly dig at the conventions of the form, an interesting subplot centred around the marital troubles of Alison's sister and her husband, a few years down the marriage road. Convincingly played by Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann, the couple's problems are not fully resolved; look, Apatow is saying to us, Ben and Alison may be happy at the end of the movie, but in a few years' time this is where they may well end up.

Seth Rogen plays Ben well, a big bear of a man scared to grow up. I was less convinced by Alison, played by Katherine Heigl; maybe it's the way the role is written, but she never creates a realistic personality for the character. One minute she is revolted by the lifestyle of Ben and his friends, and seemingly within no time she is enthusiastically joining in. Still, there are enough laughs for a strong supporting cast to keep the entertainment rolling along to the inevitable conclusion. Like many romantic comedies, I am not sure Knocked Up will live long in the memory. It's too long for a comedy (really, two hours? Ninety minutes is always enough). However, it offers more genuine laughs than most in the genre, and confirms Judd Apatow and Seth Rogen as talents to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stoner Dad, 27 Sep 2009
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that I didn't find "Knocked Up" to be side-splittingly funny; it was mildly amusing at best. It tells the tale of the relationship between a career minded ,attractive young TV presenter and a jobless, overweight stoner who share an ill advised one night stand. The girl falls pregnant and rather surprisingly the stoner stands by her and looks forward to being the father to her child. Things don't go according to plan however(do they ever ?)and the couple struggle to get through the pregnancy with their relationship intact. The girl and her sister were alright but I didn't warm to the drug taking deadbeats at all and they are present throughout most of the film. "Knocked Up" is somewhat overlong ,with a running time of more than 2 hours ,and despite it's attempts to be quirky and modern it contains most of the cliches one would expect from pregnancy films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Animal House Road Trip, 28 Jan 2010
By 
underthethumb (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
The film is based around the story of social dropout played by Seth Rogen who on a drunken one night stand with Katherine Heigl gets her pregnant because he is too drunk to use protection. It then explores the developing relationship between the two as she goes through her pregnancy.

For this film, it feels as if Judd Apatow has tried to create an all emcompassing genre movie. On the one hand it is designed to appeal to fans of romantic comedy via the relationship between Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl but balanced against an attempt at a modern day Animal House within the boys house. Even a road trip is thrown in for good measure. Mixing the crudeness and vulgarity that is obviously designed to appeal to the male audience with the romance partly works but it doesn't quite gel; not to the quality of his previous films anyway.

There are lots of extras on this two disc edition, ingluding deleted / alternate scenes, gag reels and featurettes. For once there is actually too much content - I tried to watch it and got bored part way through, more due to the volume of it rather than the lack of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype, 20 Feb 2008
By 
David Chaproniere (Ashford, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
Apparently, this is a comedy. Reviewers wrote and talked about laugh out loud moments, about how wonderful a comedy this is.

Well, I watched, and waited. Where were the laugh out loud funny bits? Either I've had a serious sense-of-humour bypass when I wasn't looking, or I just don't get what is so funny about this movie. OK, there were some amusing moments, although off the top of my head I cannot exactly pinpoint what they were. All this film managed to do was while away some time, and although this was not exactly unpleasant, it was hardly a memorable experience. The trials and tribulations of the lead characters' developing relationship after a one-night stand were, I suppose, refreshingly unsentimental for most of the film (but typically cannot go the whole nine yards without ending in the usual cringe-inducing fashion), yet unrealistic in that somehow these two are to fall in love because she gets knocked up in a moment of drunken lust. Aaah, bless, ain't love grand? Pass me the sick bag, please.

Various reviews mentioned the frankness of the language and sexual references. I'm sure I've seen more blatantly sexual Disney movies than this, albeit without the swearing. If you're expecting a comedy that will shock in any small way (along the lines of There's Something About Mary, perhaps), then you will be disappointed. Apart from a few swear words, which most of us are more than adult enough to cope with, this was no more shocking that one of Woody Allen's middle-class, angst-ridden New York dramas.

The lesson? Don't always believe the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny - not your usual rom-com, 5 Aug 2008
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
Rom-com's are usually quite a predictable and bland genea of film, but this is an exception. This films show the differences between men and women in a very comical way and the difference forced upon them when pregnancy is added into the mix. The humour in this film is very similar to Ricky Gervais' 'The Office'. If you like that subtle brand of comedy then this should be 'right up your street'. There are fine comedic performances all round from the leading actors and supporting cast. Many issues are poked fun of here; Sex, love, parenthood, relationships, mid-life crisis and men and women in general. This is not, as some fools on here have suggested, a sexist film by any stretch of the imagination ... instead its a comical look at differences between the sexes, the relationships we form and the changes we are forced to make in our life to make relationships work.

Best comedy Ive seen all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I'd expected, 15 May 2009
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this film because I had enjoyed all Apatow's other films such as 'Anchorman' and 'The 40 year old Virgin' but it took a long time for me to get around to watching it. The plot is fairly simple, Alison, a highly-strung aspring presenter on television hooks up with a weighty layabout Ben and becomes pregnant. The rest of the film revolves around the two of them getting to know one another better and supporting one another through the highs and lows of the pregnancy and subsequent birth.

The supporting characters were well-drawn, especially Alison's uptight sister and Ben's stoner roomies. I thought the birth scene was pretty graphic, but it's nice to see a director finally showing how difficult childbirth is and it's so much more than a Hollywood scream and pant! I'd recommend this film to anyone who enjoys a laid back laugh with a concience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising Start, Then Flags and Drags, 16 Mar 2010
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I didn't know anything about this film, but was expecting a typical romcom. It started off promisingly, with a lot of crude and rude humour, not to mention plenty of swearing, but then turns into a flick about an unlikely couple muddling through pregnancy.

I felt the premise was unrealsitic, as I just couldn't see this suave and ambitious girl trying to make a go of it with such a hopeless, unattractive, unappealing and penniless slob.

I didn't find any of the characters particularly appealing, although the two female leads had some amusing moments when they were out on the town. As for the guys friends - yuck...

To be honest, after 90 minutes we'd had enough, and couldn't believe that we'd another 40 minutes to get through. Definitely too long for us, and a let-down if you're expecting a lot of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 2 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked this film. Mostly it was funny, but with some more tender moments too. I thought that Katherine Heigl was really cool in this, but I think that the boy who gets her pregnant, Ben - played by Seth Rogen, really did well as the guy who is kinda "loserish" and who gets Alison pregnant, but who decides to do the decent thing and stick by her and somehow pull himself up to be a now "not so loserish" dad, which Alison responds positively to and it becomes really quite heart warming. Really found this film surprisingly good, and so I do really recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Jan 2008
By 
MJ DAVIES "One true voice" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knocked Up [DVD] (DVD)
I was disappointed with this film following some hype about how funny it was.

I admit it was funny in parts, but on the whole I found it didn't flow, I didn't care about the characters and found it unbelievable, and was far too long!

I would say watch it if you are at a loose end, but avoid otherwise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knocked Up [DVD]
Knocked Up [DVD] by Judd Apatow (DVD - 2007)
£2.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews