Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its just very good, simple as that.
If you want a couple of hours of great wit and fun, with classic lines and classic actors this is for you. Not heavy, no complicated plot but clever script that brings the best out of the actors.

Oh and Jane Fonda and Maggie Smith between them steal the show!
Where else can you hear "the last drink wore off in the lift", watch it and you will know what i...
Published on 4 Mar. 2010 by A. burden

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic comedy
Brilliant - just as good as I remembered it, not all the stories are as strong as each other but it is worth watching for Maggie Smith and Jane Fonda alone, they both put in fantastically witty, pithy and touching performances.
Published on 22 Aug. 2009 by Film buff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its just very good, simple as that., 4 Mar. 2010
By 
A. burden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Suite [DVD] (DVD)
If you want a couple of hours of great wit and fun, with classic lines and classic actors this is for you. Not heavy, no complicated plot but clever script that brings the best out of the actors.

Oh and Jane Fonda and Maggie Smith between them steal the show!
Where else can you hear "the last drink wore off in the lift", watch it and you will know what i mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars California Suite, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
California Suite was chosen as its one of my wifes favourite films. It has many funny moments and would appeal to all age ranges due to the good acting of many of the stars especially Maggie smith and Michael Caine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did you get yur eggs Benedictteeened?, 7 Jan. 2013
Micheal caine plays an aging homosexual out of work actor, counter point to his working actress (used as a cover) wife Maggie smith who is going with him to collect an oscar!.
Hilarious yet very smart, with richard pryor jane fonda alan alda walter mathau etc, this film has a magnificant cast namely maggie micheal and jane.
Its so cutting in places between MandM, just see it, widen your scope, its jurt a marvellous film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walter mattheu is simply the best, 19 Feb. 2005
By 
David M. Grant (lONDON .ENGLAND.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
you can count on one hand how many naturaly funny men there are in the film world and walter m is one of the best..he steals the show..and everyone else pales into almost insignificance..its ashame jack lemon wasnt given a part in this brilliant film..not as good thogh as plaza suite..again Neil simon the writer has a gift.David grant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro magic, 31 May 2013
By 
Snuffycat (North-East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Suite (DVD)
Bought it because I love it - one of Neil Simon's gems. Beautifully acted, every characterisation is note perfect and very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic comedy, 22 Aug. 2009
By 
Film buff (Nottingam,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: California Suite [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant - just as good as I remembered it, not all the stories are as strong as each other but it is worth watching for Maggie Smith and Jane Fonda alone, they both put in fantastically witty, pithy and touching performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Sutherland (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Suite (DVD)
great movie, very old Hollywood with the Beverly Hills Hotel throughout. Maggie Smith is brilliant as ever. and Michael Caine as a gay man is very entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sweet suite, 25 Oct. 2014
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good comedy with some real laugh out moments Maggie Smithwith Michael Caine and Richard Pryor and Bill Cosby scenes especially.Walter Matthau though was the weakest part in the film playing a stereotype role which I found slighty offensive (but maybe new York Jewish married men of a certain age do act like that in which case I stand corrected)Jane Fonda with Alan Alda have the bittersweet roles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and am amazed how hard it is to track down, 7 Jun. 2015
By 
David A. Vincent (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: California Suite (DVD)
Always wanted this movie, and am amazed how hard it is to track down, and not have to pay the earth. Although it has Italian dialogue on the reverse sleeve, the Title on the spine is in english, and the menus, dialogue etc are all in english. No problem. Plus it is a truly hilarious movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars California Suite, 6 Feb. 2009
By 
Johanne Eli Friis Thomsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: California Suite [DVD] (DVD)
A great and funny movie - just as the first time I saw it - many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

California Suite
California Suite by Herbert Ross (DVD)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews