Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in its own right...
"The Commitment" is a exceptional and humourous story about real people in Dublin, Ireland. It is written by Roddy Doyle and centers around a young man and the band he is trying to put together to play soul music. His point is that "The Irish brothers wouldn't be shooting ...each other if they had soul". But keeping the band together turns out to be...
Published on 6 Sep 2000

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film but watch out for the edition you buy...
Not really a review more of a caveat emptor ....

Please note the the single disc edition of this film is only a 4:3 print.

If you want a 16:9 version you need to either get the two disc special edition or the dual pack with The Van (which is 1 more).
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by Cy Berman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie, 18 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. S. Baillie "StevieB13147" (Houston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
Another superbly made modern classic.
The movie works well with the many non-equity card holding actors that were used in the filming of this very funny and entertaining movie about an unusual band trying to make their way in Ireland.
The sets are superb in creating the backdrop and some of the one liners are a treat.
If you like soulful rock music, then I am sure you will appreciate the arrangements based around Mr Strong's superb rock vocals.
For under three quid - just buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old ones are the best, 23 July 2010
By 
Ms. K. A. Milson "trendy mum" (Bedfordshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
Although this is an old movie, it is still rated, in my opinion as one of the best movies around. Gets your fingers snapping and toes tapping. Brin back nostalgia and re-live your youth. Extremely enjoyable. My teenager (16) even loved it, One up for us "oldies". Although there is some bad language, it all ties in with this movie. Highly recommended for a Sunday evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars commit to the commitments, 27 Jun 2010
By 
mintyjam (Pembroke, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
I heard bout this film from mates, decided to buy and take a look, glad I did what a brilliant film, good humour (got to see it to appreciate it), excellent music (wilson pickett would have been proud!!) and what talent from relatively unknown cast, next step now is to get the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unique drama-document, 30 Jan 2010
By 
Jrw Kloosterman (the netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
A few months in the life of young people living in a big city in the eighties of the twentieth century with one big common issue: SOUL MUSIC and how to perform this black music as whities. For me is one of the three best music videos ever. A very believable story and extraordinary good music, perfectly mixed through the film. Good casting. I don't mention any particular name, but go to You Tube for footages. PLEASE ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 21 Jan 2010
By 
J. Polak - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Commitments [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A brilliant and insightful - if slightly tongue in cheek - mock-biopic of the formation of a soul band in the heart of "working" class dublin. Incredibly funny, but with a slightly more serious look into the poverty and hopelessness of dublin in the late 20th century. A classic musical mockumentory which, despite its age, still feels as fresh as the day it was shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless!, 27 Dec 2009
By 
J. P. Nolan (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Produced the very year before the Celtic Boom began, this DVD combines the poverty and desolation of old Dublin with the humour creativity and high musical standards pervasive at the time. With more "F" words than a Gordon Ramsey menu, the movie juxtaposes the imperfections of each of the central characters with the beauty of their singing as a band. Right up there with The Quiet Man (1952)as the best Irish movie made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favourits., 2 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. Katie Haston (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoy this film, have seen it so many times, I quite often put it on just to here the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True story and good to boot, 18 July 2009
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good true film portraying how things look good one minute and not the next. Enjoyed it for my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Commitments, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. A. Bostock "buster08" (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
The best film ever is a classic if you love music this is a film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Music at its best!, 22 May 2009
By 
Mr. R. Shelvey (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Commitments [1991] [DVD] (DVD)
The Music is Incredible, the actors amazing and the photography superb! I am thrilled by this film and how it is a time capsule of life during the eighties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Commitments
The Commitments by Alan Parker (DVD)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews