Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Funny Spoof of The Beatles, 20 Jun. 2003
This review is from: The Rutles (Us Import) (Audio CD)
I love The Rutles! The songs are superb imitations of The Beatles songs, yet they are more than that, as they are mostly great songs in their own write [whoops!] Neil Innes has created some very clever parodies, which often take a swipe at several Beatles songs at once. The lyrics are great fun. My favourite line is from Goosestep Mama, which is meant to be from The Rutles days in Hamburg:
"You've got nothing to ein, zwei, drei, vier!" [It may help if you say it out loud, but then again, maybe not!]
The parody on Roll Over Beethoven features a lyric about Blue Suede Schubert, the King of the Bop, and backing vocals "Bop Schubert, bop bop, Schubert" which make me crack a smile every time.
Some of my other favourite tracks are:
Doubleback Alley, parodying lyrics, melody and instrumentation of Penny Lane
Get Up and Go, which is lampooning Get Back
Living in Hope which will remind you of Ringo's masterpiece, Don't Pass Me By
With a Girl Like You effectively imitates If I Fell, and is also a pretty song
Ouch!, which is a very close imitation of Help!
Another Day could be serious if it weren't so close to Martha, My Dear's instrumentation and style
The original gramophone record featured a fantastic 18 page booklet, satirising the Magical Mystery Tour LP packaging. If you can find one in a second-hand shop, I am sure you will be rewarded, as it has much more material than the CD packaging [but the CD has 6 more songs].
I also recommend Archeology, which is an inventive poke in the eye at The Beatles' Anthology.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally unbiased revue, 24 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rutles (Us Import) (Audio CD)
Dirk,Nasty,Stig & Barry at their musical best! Follow their roller-coaster career from beginning to middle. This album is a must have album, in fact I must have had it at least twice before and lost them both. Simply the best thing to have come out of Rutland weekend television, this is a masterpiece! From the Hamburg inspired "Goose Step Mama" to the final track "Let's be natural", they have fitted another eighteen songs onto one shiny disc. Includes the mysterious song "Blue Suede Schubert", believed to be a cryptic message of Nasty's, complaining that they were not paid enough for television appearances (Heed U- BBC use Rutles). If you don't buy any more CD's this year, then you probably wont buy this one either. However if you do buy it, I am sure that you will agree that it was money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhino reissue of soundtrack to All You Need is Cash, 22 Sept. 2007
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rutles (Audio CD)
'Limited Vinyl Replica Edition' (not that this title is on the sleeve anywhere!) features the songs recorded for the Rutland TV episode that became 'All You Need is Cash' and brought us the Beatles pastiche The Rutles, a mockumentary that set the tone for Bad News and Spinal Tap. Most of the 20 tracks feature in the film, which is available at budget price on DVD, and the thoughtful sleeve comes with quotes and pictures from the film - as well as other releases on their label like the French Beach Boys and 'Nobody Does It Wetter'!

The Rutles pastiche pretty much every period of the Fab Four's career, amusingly some of the Pre-Fab Four's material is superior to Lennon, McCartney, Harrison & Starr. The opening 'Goose Step Mama' is without a doubt much better than the rubbish they were playing in Hamburg - very amusing lyrics that refer to Hamburg and remind me how bad the movie 'Backbeat' was! There are many songs that play with parts of the Beatles sound, delivering things in a very similar style and in a slightly different key - listening to this soundtrack it's amusing how much Britpop (notably Oasis) mimicked not the Beatles, but the Rutles! & a song like 'Nevertheless' or the whoops on 'Piggy in the Middle' predict much of the career of the Brian Jonestown Massacre!!! Listen to 'who?' and 'Piggy in the Middle' and see what I mean - the psychedelic pastiches here are as great as those on 'Chips from the Chocolate Fireball' by the Dukes of Stratosphear.

The highlights of this reissue are usually those that can be related directly to a Beatles song, 'Ouch!' is a great take on 'Help!', 'Love Life': 'All You Need is Love', 'Piggy in the Middle': 'I am the Walrus', & 'Get Up & Go': 'Get Back.' Some songs are more general - 'Nevertheless' could be any of Harrison's raga/sitar songs - it's probably meant to be 'Within You Without You'; while 'Living in Hope' sounds like an old school Ringo-song. Both are probably better than actual Ringo & George songs in that style!! 'Hold My Hand' makes a cheeky allusion to 'Eight Days a Week', while 'Good Times Roll' plays with 'Lucy in the Sky of Diamonds', and once again reminds you how silly Oasis were in the 1990s! Songs like 'I Must Be In Love', 'It's Looking Good', 'Number One' & 'With a Girl like You' are very accurate takes on the early sound of the Fab Four - fine songs too!

This reissue is well worth getting, the songs more than standing up - though fans of the Fab Four shouldn't be without it, like the recent 'Meet the Smithereens' by The Smithereens and parts of the Dukes of Stratosphear compilation ('Mole from the Ministry', 'Rusty Cage'), this is music that plays with the material of the Beatles wonderfully (& playfully!). 'Piggy in the Middle' is fantastic stuff, sadly I've been so overexposed to the Beatles - thanks to the Anthology-stuff and Britpop - that I can hardly listen to them. I've got to the point where I'd rather listen to 'Piggy in the Middle' than 'I am the Walrus' - I'm sure the 'Tragical History Tour' is better than the 'Magical Mystery Tour' too! Anyway...a fantastic reissue and great fun: Let It Rut!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rutlemania is still happening!, 7 April 2001
This review is from: The Rutles (Us Import) (Audio CD)
I fell in the with the unique style of Stig, Nasty, Dirk and Barry when I first saw them on the TV many years ago. I followed their story through their beginnings in the Ratkeller to their sad break up after their meeting with Arthur Sultan. I wept with them when Leggy Mountbatten went to Australia, I shared their joy, their pain, their music.
This album is a compilation of their greatest hits and includes such favourites as 'Cheese and Onions' - obviously influenced by their dabblings with tea drinking, 'Piggy in the Middle', 'Ouch!' and my all time favourite 'I Must be in Love'.
Sometime ago I heard an album by a band who were calling themselves 'The Beatles', they were attempting to emulate the sound of the Rutles but were a very poor imitation. Long live the Prefab four!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid time is guaranteed for all..., 31 Oct. 1999
This review is from: The Rutles (Us Import) (Audio CD)
Beatle freaks, Bonzo fans and Pythonites will already know this album which parodies the Beatles from 1962-1978. Neil Innes wrote a fabulous collection of tunes on this album. It is extremely Beatlesque, if the Beatles works were lost it is said you could make them again with a copy of this and the best of ELO. The songs however stand up on their own, "Cheese and Onions"is like Lennon at his best. This is a well made record, very playable and better than a few solo Beatles efforts from the 70's (and I'm a fan-obviously). Witty, tuneful, and the most fun you can have with your clothes on.
All you need is cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the Beatles, 1 Sept. 2007
This review is from: The Rutles (Audio CD)
Neil Innes is a fantastic song writer, and this parody of the Beatles sees him at his very best, with catchy lyrical numbers that are as memorable as the Beatles - after a few listens you wont be able to remember which are the songs they are take offs, as they stand up in their own right. But see the film - Neil Innes and Eric Idle are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rutles, 24 May 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rutles (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant spoof parody of The Beatles. The genius behind it is Neil Innes. The Rutles comes from a one off film by Eric Idle called the Rutles that told the story of the band that looked like the Beatles. The best thing about this film is the music. Without a doubt this is the element that makes it all work. The music is original to the Rutles. I mean yes it is a parody of Beatles songs with contributions such as "hold my hand" and "Cheese and Onion", but the tunes and words are all brilliant originals by Neil Innes. There was a UK hit single from this project this was "I must be in love". This is a great example. It isn't a Beatles tune but it sounds like one, and it uses the same sort of harmonies that the Beatles used in their "Love me do", "Cant buy me love", and "she love you" era.
It makes a great music project and the songs sound like you have known them all your life. The music is very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun. 2007
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rutles (Us Import) (Audio CD)
The 'soundtrack' to the mockumentary All You Need is Cash (buy the DVD, it's great) this is a most enjoyable album in its own right. The songs are actually so good that 'Cheese and Onions' turned up on a Beatles bootleg LP and Neil Innes had to share writing credits and income with the Beatles' publisher.

While the CD has extra tracks, including the marvellous 'Goose Steppin Mama', the LP is perhaps a better package because you get a great insert with photos, news etc.

Ron Nasty, Stig O'Hara, Barry Wom and Dirk McQuickly perform the songs with real affection and humour and it's musically very clever. The guitar sound, for example, is spot-on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantabulous Beatleseque pasticherie!!!!, 29 Oct. 1999
By 
Dr. M. Mckergow (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rutles (Us Import) (Audio CD)
The songs which came out of Eric Idle and Neil Innes' Beatles pastiche, originally on BBC TV and then in a feature film (also excellent). The song writing here is of the very highest quality, and the performances and production is excellently matched to the 60s period. Also contains one of the very finest lyrics of all time in Goose Step Mama (about life as a lady in a German night club, the Ratkeller in Hamburg):
"While you tinker with some tailor, someone's sold'yer to a sailor"
Brilliant!!!! This album gets better with more listens - well worth a place on you CD shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy two Beatles CDs, make this your second purchase ..., 31 Aug. 2007
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rutles (Us Import) (Audio CD)
... Your first purchase should, of course, be 'ONE', which is remastered, has excellent sleeve notes, and is an outstanding portfolio by Britain's foremost singles band.

But the Beatles also get 50% of the royalties (which in my opinion should go 100% to Neil Innes) from sales of this album. Apple's lawyers argued that The Rutles are such a deliberate copy that Innes must give a portion of his (actually quite meagre) music publishing fees to Northern Songs.

This CD really needs to be heard in conjunction with (i.e. soon before or after) the 45-minute documentary that Eric Idle and Neil Innes put together in the late 1970s. (Arguably it kicked off the entire tribute band movement, but that's the subject of another review.) In that spoof, Innes played the John Lennon character, 'Nasty', and on the CD, he makes a better hash of the Lennon pastiches than of the McCartney ones. 'Piggy in the Walrus' is a great re-working of 'I am the Walrus' and 'Cheese and Onions' a wonderfully comic version of 'Imagine'.

But Innes doesn't achieve the creative grandeur of McCartney's compositions. If 'Another Day' is meant to be a spoof on the magnificent 'Yesterday', it fails because the rhythm is far too jaunty. Similarly 'Doubleback Alley' captures the lyrical spirit of 'Penny Lane', but not its musical qualities.

The CD sleeve insert captures almost every aspect (except the size) of the original LP's sleevework.

Idle has talked occasionally of creating a Rutles Part Two, but I suspect that time is past. Dirk and Barry went on tour of the UK last year, but didn't obtain stadum-size audiences. The Rutles were a minor piece of the Beatles story (because of Harrison's involvement), a major step in Eric Idle's career, and one of the funniest programmes I ever saw on the telly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rutles
The Rutles by Rutles (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews