Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell on Earth at Stalingrad.
Few people in the west are aware that during the last world war at no time after June 1941 did the Western allies face more than 30% of Hitler's war machine. The outcome of the war was largely decided in the East, on the Russian front between Nazi Germany its allies and Russia. It was also a titanic clash of ideologies and two iron fisted dictators wielding immense...
Published on 28 Sept. 2009 by Bob Salter

versus
38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bit one sided
Approx three hours of documentary about the battle that changed the course of WW2 and as my old Dad always maintained - that if the Soviets had lost this one, most likely we'd all be speaking German today.
This is basically a German production and sees things mainly from the German soldiers viewpoint. I would have been happier if it was a bit more balanced,...
Published on 9 Dec. 2009 by Craddock Edwards from Bristol


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bit one sided, 9 Dec. 2009
By 
Craddock Edwards from Bristol (bristol, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Approx three hours of documentary about the battle that changed the course of WW2 and as my old Dad always maintained - that if the Soviets had lost this one, most likely we'd all be speaking German today.
This is basically a German production and sees things mainly from the German soldiers viewpoint. I would have been happier if it was a bit more balanced, especially with regard to the Russian civilians who probably suffered more than anyone.
As another reviewer has observed, in not one scene are the famous tractor works, one of the main centres of Soviet resistance, shown or mentioned. There is film stock of this iconic factory because I've seen it in other films.
A little tedious and drawn out in places and in my opinion not giving enough coverage of the civilian side or the desperate Soviet defense nor the massive Soviet attack that finally turned the battle and the fate of the modern world around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving documentary, 27 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
The depths to which mankind sinks to fight war know no limits as this chilling account of the battle for Stalingrad illustrates. The 2nd World War was lost by the Germans here and we learn how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 24 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
What an superb documentary this is. It recounts all the horrors experienced by both the Russians and the Germans. If you have read, Antony Beevor's excellent book, then this DVD crosses a few 'Ts' and dots a few 'Is' as well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stalingrad film, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
Dr. John Aupers (Saddleworth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
The film shows well many aspects of the battle for Stalingrad. It makes good use of archive film but for someone like me with a great interest in the subject one always wants more. More from the veterans, more from the specialist fighters and at regular intervals, maps showing the fluctuations of the battle. It would be interesting, though probably the material does not exist, to have seen what some of the P.O.W. camps were like. Little is ever told of the conditions experienced by the captives of both sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is really what the Russian war was all about ..., 5 May 2015
By 
Maurice C "InulasHelp" (Reading Nr. London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is really what the Russian war was all about. This is a must have film showing a true depiction with real film footage about the war on the Eastern front where over 1.5 million people lost their lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting stuff, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
...for a 'Stalingrad Geek'. The first hand accounts are riveting - from both sides. This was the turning point of WWII without question. The suffering and sacrifice by all involved in this (with the exception of Paulus, enjoying fried food, cognac and cigars to the very last) simply beggars belief. A 'must have' for anyone with even a passing interest in this violent and tragic episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Stalingrad, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good DVD indeed. I have seen it on TV but to have it on DVD is worth buying it. Plenty of information and good quality
of picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And we thought we had it bad !, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Unbelievable how low man can sink but also how some rise above horror.
Everyone should read this and never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lots of detail for historians to enjoy., 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Harrowing to watch but none the less very interesting, lots of detail for historians to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest portrayal of the senselessness and depravity of war, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very important documentary as virtually all the documentaries that have existed have been produced by British or American makers. Here we have a documentary made by Germans and we can see a different perspective. Without spoiling your viewing have we ever seen the material presented in the last 15 to 20 minutes ? I would caution that this is truly a shocking portrayal of the senselessness and depravity of war - seen through the vista of this one battle. Some people may not watch it through to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stalingrad [2005] [DVD]
£5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews