Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the negative reviews
Some of these reviewers seem to think they are working for IGN and this is the latest COD or Assassins Creed

This is not the greatest game of all time but for this price if you expect that then your standards are far too high

This is a middle of the range game and they are a dying art, most of the games are either the blockbuster games like COD or...
Published 17 months ago by justgeorgeb

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All mouth and no trousers
Once again, PS3 players have been sent a curve ball. Free Radicals previous efforts have all offered something almost spectacular, so hopes were very high. Almost every magazine informed us about the plot, the graphics, the game modes and the abundance of other features we were to be treated to. However, it seems it was all hype. Comparison will be made to other platforms...
Published on 30 May 2008 by Mr. C. K. Adamson


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars About 18 months too early leaving the developers floor, 31 May 2008
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm sure a lot of people had hopes as high as myself for Haze, coming from the near faultless pedigree it comes from, the pieces were all there for something really special. Did we get it? Nope, not nearly, what we got is a game that feels like it hasn't had nearly enough time or resources devoted to it's production, leading to a massive disppointment of a game.

First major problem to hit me was the visuals. These are very underwhelming for about 80 percent of the game, looking like the sort of thing you'd have been playing 4-5 years ago on a PC. Most of the textures are flat and light on detail, and even what detail is there occasionally is hit by severe texture pop-in and some nasty tearing. The vehicles too, look really basic and angular, and when they're moving, there's some bad animation(Observe your character riding the quad bike for example). True, The game moves smoothly enough most of the time, and some of the character models are decent, but apart from that, the graphics in this game are just awful.

Sound is likewise uninspired. Flat voice acting, bad dialogue repeated ad nauseum, basic, generic sound effects and music. It's pretty unremarkable here too.

Most annoying part of the game for me though, was the simplistic, unadventurous level design that seemed to lead you by the nose for most of the game, offering no real scope for exploration or alternate approaches to problems, and most of the vehicle driving sections were simple 'drive from point A to B' affairs that seemed to have no real bearing on the game beyond breaking up the constant shooting for a while. It's kind of like the driving level in Gears of War really. Didn't need to be there at all.

Sounds bad so far, yeah? So why a 3 star rating when it sounds like a 1 star game? Well, it's weird, but despite the myriad problems, the gameplay is actually a lot of fun, despite all the above crap taking away from it so heavily. The weapons are decent and easy to use, with some clever options like being able to coat your knives in Nectar to induce an overdose in Mantel soliders being nice additions. The Nectar in the game too, is fun enough for the brief time you get to use it, allowing you to see body heat and improving your speed and strength. It would have gotten really old if you had it throughout the entire game, but as a brief aside and as a multiplayer advantage, it's a decent enough amusement. Basically, this is a fun to play FPS title. No classic, no(Especially not when in recent months I've gotten to play real classics like FEAR and Orange Box), but you'll have played a lot worse... even if those worse games DID look a lot better...

Given that the gameplay is fine, obviously this makes the online multiplayer a lot more fun, with some fun match types to try out(Playing as a Mantel troop taking on rebels as they try to trigger a bomb on your base was a fave of mine) and a surprisingly weel working 4-player co-op mode giving some small incentive to revisit the campaign mode. The online really is probably the best reason to play this game, but even that simply does not match up to the likes of online monsters like Call of Duty 4, GTA4 and Unreal Tournament 3.

In closing, all I can really tell you is that this game is probably the ultimate test in gameplay versus graphics, with poor visuals being counter balanced by decent gameplay. True, the gameplay won't blow you away, but if you can get past the poor visuals(Not easy), you'll have a decent amount of fun with Haze, but honestly, I'd say rent it, as as a full price buy, I really don't think it would be worth it.

A huge shame this wasn't so much better, as it could and should have been in every way. We've seen what the PS3 can really do in the shape of real FPS classics like Call of Duty 4, Unreal tournament 3 and Resistance, so there are really no excuses for Haze. Average simply does not cut it anymore, and Free Radical need to understand this before they even think of getting started on Timesplitters 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I have played for hours now and its Fantastic, 24 May 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
Got this game today and have played it for a few hours its Great, but has very poor acting and speeches but you can easily understand the storyline.
The gameplay is exellent and the graphics do NOT disapoint, the weapons are fun to use and so are the many veihcles from jeeps to Quadbikes.The missions are great apart from a few {if you did not like the demo mission dont worry there are many other great missions i did not like the demo but loved the game}.That now leads it down to the online the online is truely great i love it more than COD 4 online, you can use a wide range of weapons, you can use jeeps, Quads, trucks and armoured cars that can hold up to 4 peaple for transport and to just wipe out the enemy on some maps. there are many online modes like team deathmatch, deathmath ect. even if you dont have online there is a skirmish mode. I would highly reccamend this Game for Playstation 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the negative reviews, 5 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
Some of these reviewers seem to think they are working for IGN and this is the latest COD or Assassins Creed

This is not the greatest game of all time but for this price if you expect that then your standards are far too high

This is a middle of the range game and they are a dying art, most of the games are either the blockbuster games like COD or the small indy games like Limbo, this was a well made middle level FPS and it should be judge as such.

This is a VERY fun game, i enjoyed playing every second of it, the cop op campain was the best I've played on the PS3 and the multiplayer both online and LAN is excellent with some unique momments.

Well worth buying!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great premise, awful delivery., 2 Jun 2012
By 
S (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
Haze starts with a great idea. Nectar.

You can self inject to get superhuman abilities for a few seconds to run stupidly fast or aim absurdly accurately. The problem is the AI is absolutely awful, and the scenary is bland at best by today's standards.

It's quickly become a cheap ps3 game and it is worth the price of a rental, but it won't hold your attention for very long nor does it come close to being a market leader. If you can find it on the cheap it's worth picking up for a rainy day, but if you're looking for a game to keep coming back to, this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Far Cry!, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
I finished this game in six days. And you know what? It's not as bad as some reviews I've seen. It's not a classic, but It's action packed and got some good weapons and ideas! I've never played an FPS where you can fake your own death, than jump up and kill the enemy. The story is quiet good also, and has a nice twist. You start with your crew and you take a drug called nectar that makes you stronger and ready for war! I would say this game, it's like a cheap Far Cry or Halo? Not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 26 May 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
Haze is one of those games that tries to be something special but just fails in so many ways. The story, dramatic voice acting, big guys in big suits and kick ass weapons and vehicles all feel like one of your epic FPS games but it just manages somehow to do it the wrong way.

I understand that the Mantel troopers are supposed to be drugged up macho guys that don't feel emotion but that still doesn't change the fact that the voice acting is terrible and the characters just completely one dimensional. The main character Shane also has horrible voice acting and it's hard to kind of like the guy because he is just so dull and boring.

The graphics in Haze could have been so much better. It's a PS3 game and there have been some amazing looking games on the PS3 so far but this is just embarrasing. In parts it tries to look like it belongs on next generation consoles and there are some nice smoke effects and textures but that doesn't make it acceptable that about 80% of the graphics are really poor. Close up they just look so bland and like a PS2 game and there is so little detail that you just can't feel any sense of realism during gameplay. Character models try to look cool but again they're just designed very much like older unrealistic games and just don't look good.

I didn't think the story was too bad but it's not the greatest. It could have been better had there been better voice acting and more emotion involved. Playing as the troopers and rebels are both great in their own ways but some of the dialogue and over dramatic performances just don't appeal to you at all.

Gameplay in Haze is actually quite good. Weapons feel tight and smooth and sound great. There are plenty of guys to take out round every corner and you aren't left with large amounts of time out of action. I really liked nectar alot and think it works really well and the rebels being able to play dead does really come in useful. Setting traps is also good and ammo is everywhere and easy to collect during battle to keep you going through the action. The game feels good to play and you can't really fault it much. The AI is rather weak though and you'll hear annoying dialogue being repeated all the time which just gets on your nerves.

Multiplayer is the best part of this game. It's really good and FPS fans will really love it. You can use vehicles and there's a nice variety of maps and they're a good size for the number of players. It's great objective gameplay. Here's an example: As a rebel, you start off as a prisoner trying to escape whilst the Mantel troops are trying to kill you. As an escapee your hands are bound together, but you can kick. Also, you can play dead which helps a lot. The map is raining and it's night time, so when you're trying to escape you hide in the shadows. You need to get to one of the three extraction points where you call a chopper and get evacuated. Now you return as a rebel soldier with guns and nectar cover knifes. Now you have to help the remaining prisoners escape. However, if you get killed a certain amount of times as a soldier, you respawn as a prisoner and have to escape again.

FPS fans will probably really like Haze but will be dissapointed by the graphics and annoying problems it has but will feel very satisfied by the mutliplayer and fast paced action that it offers. It's a real shame this game couldn't have had great graphics and some better voice acting it could have turned out so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I haven't paid attention to the press on this, either good or bad., 24 May 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
I wasn't certain what to expect and on the opening levels I was disappointed, but only for a little while. The graphics are mixed, some ares are veryt pretty and the character models are good, but some of the backgrounds are half life 2 standard, and thats a few years old. The game play a little like halo a little like half life so its not ad at all. I don't find it as compelling as halo but I prefer it to resistance.
A sold shooter one of the better games on ps3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Haze, 24 May 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
It's been a long time waiting for Free Radical's new first person shooter, Haze. After plenty of delays and a whole lot of hype, has it lived up to the reputation that Timespiltters has built for this development team?
Sadly, it really hasn't. There are many small and large disappointments to be had when playing through Haze.

Haze's storyline was revealed a long time ago, so I'll keep this short. Shane Carpenter joins Mantel, a private military organization, hoping to make a difference, to fight the good fight. You notice quickly however that he's not fitting in well with the other Mantel troopers and seems to disagree with a lot of what they're doing. Fact is everyone apart from Shane is arrogant and trigger happy thanks to their supplementary drug, Nectar.
So a few crazy events after another and we see our hero defecting sides against Mantel, fighting for the `real' good guys. You'd think that would mean that people would start being nice to you, but your leader, some guy named `skin coat', is constantly screaming at you. It's annoying. It seems like no one likes Shane Carpenter, and this ends up with you not liking him much either. In fact, he's a bit of a wimp, always complaining about something, and then being screamed at for it by someone else.
Aside from your wimpy main character however, the story of the game does play out pretty well, with a just above average dialogue (although badly performed), that keeps you interested in the main campaign.
Problem is, the campaign is about 6 hours long. I finished it in one sit-through and was definitely disappointed with the length. It's definitely too short and too easy.
Another of the disappointments of Haze is the multiplayer. Although it's one of the first PS3 exclusives where the multiplayer actually works properly on release date, it all feels a little uninspiring, especially considering Free Radical where behind the excellent multiplayer of Timesplitters 2. It's just that it doesn't feel like it has anything special, and there are a definite lack of modes, the best probably being the campaign co-op. With only 6 maps, this won't make the game last much longer.
Another thing that doesn't work quite as well as it should is the gimmick of two sides with very different skills. It usually just comes down to shooting each other endlessly, as opposed to using the differently skills tactically. Plus, the play dead thing rebels do is really frustrating.

Graphically, Haze ranges from pretty good to pretty bad. Some of the textures are so bland and unimaginative, you really can't help but wonder why you're seeing this kind of thing on a next-gen game, but then characters look pretty good, and the some of the set-pieces look awesome.

Gameplay is also pretty solid, and feels different in pace from most FPSs. Playing as a mantel trooper, gunplay is great and you'll find yourself getting `addicted' to using Nectar, as it helps you pick out enemies, and, more importantly, punch them like, 15 feet away!
As a rebel, the gameplay pace picks up, you run faster, and become near invisible because of the `playing dead' skill, which makes Mantel troopers ignore you.
Whilst gameplay is fun, the AI does ruin it a little, facing the wrong way or running into walls. This happens with both people fighting with and against you, and it's quite aggravating, and just adds to the ease of the game, when you walk up to an enemy and he decides he'll just run straight past you.

So, Haze is definitely a very flawed game, especially when you look at all the hype that was made for it. Still, it's not the worst, and though a little short, the campaign is tightly told and engaging, and while it lasts there's some fun to be had.
I'd rank it alongside the likes of Turok. It's flawed, it's fun, and it's for fans of the genre.

6.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait?, 6 Jun 2008
By 
S. E. Cook (Harlow, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
This game was delayed for months, I had it on order since last year. But you dont mind if they are polishing it off and fixing any bugs.

Problem is they didnt, the AI of your team mates comes from the days of the ZX Spectrum, they constantly run in front of your gun fire and are just annoying.

The graphics are ok as is the storyline however, this game will make you wary of the makers free radical and Ubisoft. Next time I see their name on a PS3 game I wont be pre-ordering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Haze - Average but fun, 30 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. J. Arnold - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Haze (PS3) (Video Game)
It seems after months of waiting and delays free radical (the guys behnd timespltters) finally release one of the most hyped games of 2008 Haze.
Haze in my opinion after seeing how much hype was around it suffers from Halo Syndrome in which so much is said about it that you think someone was announcing the 2nd coming on Jesus but then when you get round to playing it the wow factor slowly fades away.

The plot althogh very dim and uninspired does exist despite all the people that say Haze has no plot, Perhaps one of the biggest plot twists would have been the fact that you do change sides and join the rebels good plot twist but we all saw it coming wth all the hype and the fact its on the back of the box.

The story has you assume the role of Shane Carpentor a new recruit for Mantel Corp. who are using narcotic fuled armies to sell around the world and making money off Nectar a performance enhancer, but after a few twists and turns shane finds out Mantle are up to no good and swicthes sides. An interesting thing I noticed is now that your on the rebel side its really not that good its more like they just switched uniform as your rebel people now have the same healing abilities as the mantle soldiers did and the mantle soldiers who supposidly have armor that cant be damaged can be floored within 3 bullets only this time its the rebels turn to constantly repeat the same one liners OVER n OVER.

The dialouge in this game makes Resident Evil 1 sound proffessional lets see we have the Mantel leader who watches far too much (canaian special) south park constantly saying "Buddy" then you have the typical stereotype hill billy type and the mocho cave man Jock type plus all the soldiers sound the same and the rebels sound like somone trying to fake a mexican accent after 1 too many taquelas.

Ok so your going to complete the game within 15 hours or less easily, The gameplay and the graphics arent really PS3 material but youll know from my other reviews that i dont care for graphics. The 4 player co op campaign is fun but gets boring as youll have to sit through the terribly acted non skippable cutscenes over and over again.

The multiplayer is perhaps the best thing Haze has going for it with all kinds of game modes including DM, TDM, CTF and some exclusive to Haze, I found it to be alot of fun and with both sides having their own advantages and disadvantages it really heightned the experience however Mantle soldiers dont really stand a chance so really the rebels are the best to be the features advertised in the hype really dont work that well in the final product.

Gameplay wise this game really suffers the A.I is really bad so 4 player co op is reccomended aswell as playing on Hard to at least get a little bit of a challenge. Mantle and Rebel soldiers have their own abilties including:

Mantle:
Nectar
See enemies easily
no recoil
stronger melee
sheild

However nectar does reduce quickly.

Rebel
Play dead
Bury Grenades
scavange
overdoes a trooper
roll

Overall Haze is probably best avoided unless its really cheap
there isnt really enough in this game to make it a top seller fun with friends once in a while, but.
its one of them games that will probably just be forgotton,
The controls arent really that bad but they arent as good as other FPS games.

Hope this helped please comment if you have any questions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haze (PS3)
Haze (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
£5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews