Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game
This game is a little different from the PC version there are sections in it that didnt make it to the PC version for some reason, these sections add extra bits to the game. The combat is fun and quite well thought out you can approach the combat how you see fit and if you wanted you can try something different, as an example on the stairs by the cliff using ice arrows...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. E. A. Upton

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pity it came out after Oblivion
I was a big fan of the early Might & Magic PC games in the nineties, and was looking forward to this to fill the gap left after finishing Oblivion.

Unfortunately this meant I was badly disappointed. The things I love in an RPG are missing. There's no choice in terms of your race, sex, characteristics and appearance. There's not the same level of wandering...
Published on 23 Feb 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pity it came out after Oblivion, 23 Feb 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was a big fan of the early Might & Magic PC games in the nineties, and was looking forward to this to fill the gap left after finishing Oblivion.

Unfortunately this meant I was badly disappointed. The things I love in an RPG are missing. There's no choice in terms of your race, sex, characteristics and appearance. There's not the same level of wandering 'round, talking and exploring. The side quests aren't much to talk about. If there's a map I haven't found it. The game is very linear. The treasure, equipment, spells and alchemy etc are disappointing...

If this had come out a couple of years ago I would have enjoyed it. Unfortunately, since Oblivion, I really think subsequent games should be as good, if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, 1 July 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is a little different from the PC version there are sections in it that didnt make it to the PC version for some reason, these sections add extra bits to the game. The combat is fun and quite well thought out you can approach the combat how you see fit and if you wanted you can try something different, as an example on the stairs by the cliff using ice arrows and watching the orcs slide off was quite amusing or using stealth to get past someone silently is very refreshing especially in some games where characters notice you no matter where you are :)

Some of the things have completely changed from the PC version there is a huge worm in one of the sections where the PC version has dragon like creature IIRC.

Apart from that its a great game I would recommend it to anyone and for the low price you can get it these days you cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buggy, Glitchy, Shoddy, 4 Sep 2010
By 
M. Boyes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game is ridiculous. SO MANY BUGS!!!! On one occasion I jumped off a small ledge and went through the ground into the black nothingness of gaming limbo! I didn't have any other saves so I had to START THE GAME AGAIN! Ropes are a nightmare. On one rope I got stuck and there was no way off so I had to reload a save an hour before! On another rope it freaked out and started flying about in all directions. On ANOTHER occasion there was a bug and no enemies spawned and I couldn't progress. I had to jump off a ledge to fix it. I could go on.
2 stars just for it being somewhat fun when the bugs don't ruin it - fun enough for me to complete it but I wouldn't recommend anyone else buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at all bad, 28 May 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a quick review just to tell you to discard the bad reviews if this game appeals to you. If you like this sort of genre (not RPG) i mean the fantasy type free roaming genre then you will like this game. However it will not blow you away, perhaps if released earlier before major titles like Oblivion it would have made a better impression. The graphics are not bad they are most definitely not amazing but do serve their purpose, i haven't played the PC version of this game but i'm surprised they have not improved the graphics because if they did it would make this game that much nicer!
Replay value is good, you have four classes to choose from: Warrior, Archer, Mage and Assassin. I have only tried the Mage and Warrior classes but i will once i have completed it, go back and play the others. I did think the attack animations of the Staff (mage)and Sword (warrior) limited, something which could and should have been improved since the PC release.

Over all if you like the genre by all means get this game, however do not expect a RPG or Gears of War graphical experience. But the game is enjoyable non the less!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun action game, not an RPG, 31 Jan 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok first of all, this is not an oblivion clone. Like oblivion it is a first person fantasy game, and like oblivion you can choose different character classes but thats about it. This has more in common with halo than oblivion.
The RPG elements are limited, being less complex than say marvel ultimate alliance, I understand it is a stripped down version of the PC game which is more rpg based. quite why they felt the need to simplify it is beyond me, oblivion works wonders so why couldn't this.
The graphics aren't really what you expect from a 360 game either, there are okay, and the design is nice but they seem unpolished compared to most 360 games.
So what about the importnt bit, is it fun? YES actually the combat is a little repetitive but then isn't shooting a bit samey too? The fifferent classes add replay value as they are genuinely different to play. the level design is often very clever making you stop and think rather than charging in swords flashing. Much like half life 2, which uses the same game engine this is cinematic action, rather than the story being told by cut scenes it is told around you.
One of the weak spots of the game is that it uses the half life engine and seems to have inherited the same flaws as the 360 version of that. the control, you are regularly clipping edges and they often feel a little sluggish. shame, very nearly a great game instead we get a good fantasy action romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the RP in this RPG?, 17 Sep 2012
By 
John Roberts (Barnsley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
While this makes for an average RPG, it doesn't compete with the bigger boys out there, especially in its visuals and gameplay department. Dark Messiah of Might and Magic contains so much lore, but why invest concentration in it when it's quickly rubbed away and suddenly you're kicking your enemies into pits of fire or spiked walls? The game is an "OK" adventure game, but lacks open exploration (or exploration of any kind), abuses its talent tree system which could've worked SO much better, and doesn't really flow well in terms of story.

Dark Messiah of Might and Magic DOES allow players to become thieves, knights and mages and such, but you'll find it a whole lot easier to pick up a sword and realize you're wearing shoes. Yes, the boot is the most powerful thing in this game. And for the 7-12 hours you're expected to actually play this game, you've got a whole lot of booting to do. Get used to it.

However this is a great guilty pleasure game and is a cult phenomenon. It's just a shame that it's average; not perfect, but not exactly terrible either.

Recommended for under 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 1 July 2012
By 
Mr. M. L. Hanford "MH74" (Hereford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having recently finished this as a warrior I can finally review it,it's not bad,it's a lot more linear than Oblivion and can't really be compared,it's more like a first person shooter,with a sword anyway,It's not the best looking game and some parts are very last gen,it's also very buggy/unfinished.It's possible to 'die' during non timed sequences for no reason whatsoever,,it also froze quite a few times,usually after something difficult,boss fight or jumping sequence.
Some of the boss fights are ridiculous,for example the (giant) spider won't take any damage unless you hit it's belly,you can thrash away at it's legs all you like to no effect,killing the flying boss thing near the necropolis is just a matter of manning a convenient ballista and most enemies can be dispatched in similarly lazy ways,kicked down stairs etc.
The fact your leg seems to be about ten foot long is a bonus too,seems more athletic than BJ from Wolfenstein.
Overall it's not bad but at least it's a bit different,I wasn't a great fan of Oblivion either,worth playing....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid if unsepctacular RPG, 29 Jun 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I played this alot and really enjoyed it. Then I got stuck and could not get any further. Then game is up on the shelf in my to do pile. With so many great RPGs around I am not sure if i am ever going to play it again.
The game gives you three or four different characters to play with. Each have their strengths and weaknesses. I was a big fan of the warrior. The graphics are good through out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid checkpoints broke the whole game., 2 April 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok I had this game for about a year and never got past the second chapter because i got bored. But today I thought I would give it a proper go to justify paying for it. I was surprised that I actually found myself enjoying the experience, the gameplay is linear though which I found to be rather dissapointing. However I did enjoy playing especially the fighting which while very simple at these early stages rewards you with some rather funny deaths, for example kicking a guard down some stairs into a fire. I would actually pay for a game where all you do is kick people the way this game does it. The one thing that utterly destroyed the game (litterally since I threw it), is that during chapter 4 I beleive, a chase over rooftops, it seems to be going well, but I wished I was back to sword swinging and roaming. Proceeding along with clunky movement through windows which seem to be covered in velcro which you continuanly stick to, I make it to a point which says checkpoint just a split second before the demon I am chasing escapes causing a restart from checkpoint....oh dear. So now I restart and have less than 1 second to catch this demon, and since I never saved the game prior to this I wasted over an hour of my life on nothing. The only thing I could do is restart the entire single player campaign from the beginning, this isnt happening. So the experience ended with me annoyingly putting the game back in its case then throwing it across the room...never to be used again. I just cannot for the life of me understand how they could design a game which had that obvious shockingly bad flaw which renders your entire play through useless. 2/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars got nothing on the pc version, 2 Jan 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
if you're buying this game it can only be because either your a huge fan of the original pc game and are looking for more of the same superficial hack and slash dozen ways to set an orc on fire combat wrapped up with a very superficial and unnecessary plot, or you've seen the cover and you like swords 'cos your a boy and boys love swords.the good news is it does have swords the bad news is if you want swords you cant have bows or daggers or magic whereas in the pc game you could concentrate on one archetype and still use some of the basic skills from the other staple character types with this port you are immediately asked to pick your character type from warrior,archer,mage or thief if you choose warrior your a tank just swords,for archer you get daggers and a bow and basic spells for mage you get magic and staffs for assassin you get daggers and basic spells, because assassins don't use bows apparently.to remind you of how limited this new format is the weapons for the other classes still remain littered throughout the game so when you've been playing as a warrior for forty-five minutes and you discover a mysterious glowing staff all you want to do is restart as a mage. admittedly your skills do open up slightly at the latest stages of your characters progression but it doesn't matter because you'll never bother to get that far into the game thanks to the infuriatingly choppy controls which makes picking up a health potion as challenging as fighting off a horde of black guard (the games mainstay storm trooper villains).but the things that made the pc game so enjoyable are still there,you can still pick up an oil jar chuck it at an orc toss a fire ball and watch him run around ablaze or you can shoot a goblin in the head pinning him to a nearby wall and if you've got the time and the blood lust pin the rest of his limbs to the wall or you can hit a weakened beam and watch your unsuspecting foe get crushed by a barrage of falling debris,there isn't a lot of variety when using the environment to assault your enemy but its so gory and satisfying when it works it doesn't get old but the controls make it so difficult to time it correctly you probably won't bother.there are plenty of issues with the rag doll which you can gloss over but when you see npcs sinking into the floor or teleporting mysteriously around the area or my favorite where you and an enemy mindlessly charge at each other with your would be assailant screaming his battle cry and he just runs straight past you stops six paces behind you turns around and charges at you again this is made so much funnier because the process take about six seconds.the graphics are acceptable if all your looking for is some good 'ol selective dismemberment but not particularly pretty with no real distinctive design themes and asides from the truly awful fire effects there's nothing too offensive.all in all swords,gore and a sultry voiced disembodied demon should've made up for the shallow story but the near crippling controls, limited weapon choices, rigid character development and very little added content make it a two to three star game.
*the score does suffer from my love of the pc game but at least i have played this game unlike a couple of the other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa47d54b0)

This product

Dark Messiah of Might and Magic (Xbox 360)
11.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews