Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to miss
Young Juliette Lewis should have had an Oscar nomination for her stunning portrayal of 14 year old trailer trash Amanda Sue Bradley in this heart-wrenching drama, based on a true story. Raped by her stepfather, dumped by her mother and abandoned by her teenage husband, Amanda finds herself penniless, hungry and alone in an Oklahoma town. There, she falls under the...
Published on 1 Sep 2001 by Mr. J. V. Moss

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it a true story ?
This is a fascinating, emotional and ultimately frustrating film.
Fascinating because here we have early performances from future megastars, Juliette Lewis and Brad Pitt, in a low budget movie.
Emotional for anybody with half a heart watching Lewis play the role of Amanda Sue Bradley, a teenager with a mighty raw deal from life that culminates in committing...
Published on 8 Jan 2005 by TA DICKERSON


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to miss, 1 Sep 2001
By 
Mr. J. V. Moss "Julian" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Young Juliette Lewis should have had an Oscar nomination for her stunning portrayal of 14 year old trailer trash Amanda Sue Bradley in this heart-wrenching drama, based on a true story. Raped by her stepfather, dumped by her mother and abandoned by her teenage husband, Amanda finds herself penniless, hungry and alone in an Oklahoma town. There, she falls under the influence of local lowlife Billy (Brad Pitt), who leads her to a life of drugs, strip joints and prostitution. Kindly divorced Army sergeant Mike (Michael O'Keefe) rescues her, and takes her into his home as his housekeeper. That is, until his Army bosses learn he is living with a minor and Amanda is out on the street again. Back with Billy, the pair embark on a drugs binge that leads to the murder of Mike, arrest, and the question posed by the film's title: should the 14 year old Amanda have been tried for her crime as an adult and sentenced to die in a gas chamber? Spot-on acting, snappy direction and vivid on-location filming make this movie a great accomplishment for all involved, but it's Juliette Lewis who steals every scene. She is so believable as the innocent child who wants only to love and be loved, but who is abused, betrayed and turned away at every step in her short life, it will tear your heart out. Watch this movie and weep. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some people should never be allowed to have children!, 22 Dec 2006
Amanda is 15 years old and arrested for murder she is a user of street drugs and alcohol, a prostitute raped by a family member and married. All this before her sixteenth birthday, this film was BASED on a true story, and I believe that's the twister in this film. Based on a story, probably means that many scenarios were added to spice it up. Although I have tried to research this film and came across some information that is contradictory. I tried to find out about executions carried out in Oklahoma and also Amanda's execution. Oklahoma has never used the gas chamber for executions. Electrocution was used from early 1915 til 1966 using, Old Sparky. Electric chair since 1977, the prescribed method is lethal injection. This film reminds me of a book I recently read. "A house full of whispers" and the author states her book is a true account. The film held my attention and the actress who portrayed this poor young girl made it believable. Well done Juliette Lewis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not to be missed, 25 July 2009
By 
H. Taubman "hannah" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Young To Die [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
this is a really really good movie, based on true events.
amandas life have never been perfect, and when she is raped by her stepfather (her mother doesent believe her)
she is forced to grow up and take care of herself.
Sadly there is very few ways to support yourself, when you are 14 years old. so she lies, says she 18 and start stripping in a club.
her youth and naive personality lands her, in company vith all the wrong people and things go really bad.
Gives a perspective on the death penalty in America, when a teenager can be sentenced to die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this film is a must see!!, 28 Dec 2008
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Young To Die [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Just occasionally a film slips into the tv archives and gets lost until some enterprising dvd distributor finds an outlet for it, in this case Infinity True Stories. The film was made for television at a time when honesty and integrity still seemed to be a part of such projects. Interestingly I very much doubt if this film would be made today. It deals with the abused life, crime, trial and prosecution of a 15 year old girl played with such conviction by Juliette Lewis I am amazed she was not honoured with some kind of award. She is an actress who seems to have done such a lot of her best work before she became a grown up.
The current release is marketed as a Brad Pitt film whose portrayal of a manky sleezeball is again remarkable considering his age and movie inexperience but the film belongs almost entirely to Lewis whose vulnerability during the trial scenes with her ghastly mid west flicked up hair do and her nether limbs linked by heavy chains is heart breaking to watch
I can not recommend this film highly enough. I should put it on any high school curriculum for debate on the death penalty in the U S
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film, Horribly Underrated, 7 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Too Young To Die [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw 'Too Young To Die?' on a True Movies channel about 3/4 years ago.
I read the information, and other then the fact I wanted to watch it because
a young Brad Pitt and Juliette Lewis were in it, I was also intrigued because from
the information I got the impression it would be a bit of a "runaway" movie with
a fearless couple kind of like 'Bonnie & Clyde' or 'Natural Born Killers' because I
LOVE movies like that. But what drew me in more was the fact that it was a true
story, which always holds my interest, especially TV movies.
I have to say the film surprised me and definitely held my interest right through.
Different to a 'Bonnie & Clyde' type film but still close enough to go into that
'violent and on the run' category, no guns or anything just very realistic, unexpected
and tragic. Brad and Juliette are brilliantly casted and both deliver solid performances.

It's basically about a girl who never really gets a chance at a decent, life..
Sexually abused by her step father from a young age, abandoned then by her mother
who sides with the step father, out on her own at the age of 13, marries briefly,
desperate for money finds an unsuitable job for buttons, puts her trust in sleazy
people and just tries so hard to find love and trust in all the wrong places until
something goes very wrong for her.

Seriously great film to watch but will really pull at your emotions,
Very heartbreaking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it a true story ?, 8 Jan 2005
This is a fascinating, emotional and ultimately frustrating film.
Fascinating because here we have early performances from future megastars, Juliette Lewis and Brad Pitt, in a low budget movie.
Emotional for anybody with half a heart watching Lewis play the role of Amanda Sue Bradley, a teenager with a mighty raw deal from life that culminates in committing murder whilst under the influence of drugs.
Frustrating as the film purports to be a true story but there is no postscript providing any factual details about Bradley. There is the usual trailer at the end of the film stating that the story is based upon certain factual events and persons, however ...(then we have all usual legal disclaimers).
My trawl of the Internet has found no details of any teenage murderess called Bradley or any other likely candidates who have had a change of name for the film. My search took in various sites about the convicted and condemned, starting in Oklahoma (the State where it appears Bradley was tried). I found details about being a pen pal to a resident of Death Row but no sign of Amanda Sue.
If there is anybody with any knowledge of the actual case, or a genuine case that the characters and incidents were based upon I would be interested to hear from you.
I would recommend two British films dealing with factual murders and the death penalty; "Dance with a Stranger" starring the superb Miranda Richardson as Ruth Ellis, the last woman to be hanged in Britain; and "Let him have it" concerning the infamous Bentley and Craig case where the former a retarded adult was hanged and the latter, a minor who pulled the trigger was not. Both of the events depicted occurred in the 1950s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too Young To Die, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite a disturbing story when you consider how many young people are exposed to abuse as a daily event. guaranteed to stir emotions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Young To Die [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
haven't watched this yet, looking forward to viewing it soon but obviously picked it for being true and liking the description
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Thriller!!, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Young To Die [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a pretty good thiller about a girl who gets thrown out on the streets and gets picked up by a local hustler and then gets thrown in strip clubs to perform and basically make enough to live on the streets!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars American justice, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: Too Young To Die [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Juliette Lewis is a brilliant actress, but doesn't always convince as a fourteen-year old. I'm somewhat surprised that it is legal for minors to marry, let alone be victims of a brutal judicial system. The girl's defence lawyer summed it up nicely. But neither he nor the prosecution made a convincing case by comparing the acts of individuals with those of feral gangs. Brad Pitt, as the drug-obsessed pimp, rather overacted, while the army sergeant, who was murdered, was convincingly sympathetic as the father of two who took pity on the young girl. The film is apparently based on a true story, and the fact that minors can end up on Death Row says it all about the lunatics who run the asylum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Young To Die [1990] [DVD]
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews