Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 September 2009
Tom Selleck returns in the third of the series of TV movies based on Jesse Stone, the dogged and flawed small town police chief, as written by Robert Parker.
This time round, the story revolves around a young teenager's murder, following her badly decomposed body being discovered 3 weeks after her disappearance. As before, the story is told in a nuanced and unflinching style, with atmospheric bleak music and dark cinematography. What makes these movies so satisfying is the sense that they are so believable - whether it is the matter of fact way he deals with the crimes, or the sideline plots of domestic violence, or just Jesse Stone's inherent flaws which make him believably human. He drinks. He still harbours a little flame for his ex-wife. The action when it happens is sparse and final.
Previous entries have been solid 4 stars reaching towards the 5th... this one struggles a little to get that 4th star, having a few too many familiar elements from before - the woman of the episode, to act as a foil to Stone's character issues, the last minute tete a tete with the who of the whodunnit, wrapping things up just a little too succinctly. Having said that, it earns the 4 stars, primarily thanks to Selleck who just gets better and better as he ages.
Recommended, above par TV movie.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
What a treat for the senses the Jesse Stone films are. Does Tom Selleck know what a fantastic actor he is? As a family, we are tired, literally, of the style of editing in so many movies, half second cuts, flashing and flicking so fast it makes your headache. And so much background noise and straining to hear garbled mumbled speech. We're neither old nor deaf but it's still exhausting. The Jesse Stone series so far has been a delight. Quality all the way in every movie. If you appreciate fantastic photography (top marks to the lighting camera crew), excellent script, clear direction and really really good acting from every cast member, then try these. We have Night Passage, Stone Cold, Death In Paradise and Sea Change and are waiting now for the later two, Thin Ice and No Remorse to become available in UK format.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whilst still struggling with his own problems Sheriff Stone investigates a murder. I personnally am a fan of Tom Selleck's work and enjoyed this and immediately ordered the next installment having watched this one.Very little actual violence shown and language kept within acceptable levels. Story enjoyable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2007
It's been done before - the 'fallen from Grace' big city cop who has arrived in a small town and become 'the Chief'. "I'm just a small town cop more used to handing out parking tickets (than solving murders)"
The mood of the film, based on a character by Robert B Parker - of which this is the first book ... is splendidly portrayed. Okay - it's serial killer time again (IS there any other kind?) and Jesse Stone (Selleck) soon identifies the guilty ... but lacks 'evidence'. The action is slow and methodical but never boring. Selleck gives his best performance as a troubled man with a lot of 'baggage' including a far distant, media newshound ex-wife who he is still in love with, (and dislikes in equal measure) and an uncomplicated much younger female 'pal' - she, who makes no demands and is his comforter and occasional bed mate.
Mimi Rogers, sadly gives an uneven performance and her role in the story - the one totally unrealistic character. Not enough to 'dock' a star mark - but 3.5 - it would have been.
It won't embarrass a grown family viewing - nor will it trouble the brain ... a shortish 83 minutes underpins it's 'made for television' pedigree and I've given it four stars because it was a good movie - of its kind. Plus, we all like 'Selleck'.
We've already got the sequel ... and look forward to that in due course.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
A continuation of the Jesse Stone series, Paradis being the name of the small New England town Jesse finds himself washed up in. This must rate as one of the best mini series to come from the U.S. Tom Selleck is excellent in his role as Jesse Stone, his personal problems and his demons don't get in the way of his professionalism as a police officer. I have bought all of the DVD's in the series so far.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Tom Selleck is great playing this character! Nice, laid back story style but the story is still interesting with good characters and has some action. Also LOVE the views of the country! There are 4 of these Jesse Stone DVDs we can buy to play in this country, unfortunately the other 4 available will only play in the States.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Jesse Stone is the classical method acting character; body language is sufficient to capture his thoughts and emotions.Words spoken are few, yet decisive. He conquers his physical and personal problems with logic, and his gifts of reasoning and insight enable him to solve crimes.A delightful film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Good films as I have been told by the person who I bought them for. There are 8 Jessie Stone stories in total but the last few only seem available on region 1 format but have played on our multi-region dvd player. SHame they havent made them in region 2 (UK)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
We only came across this series of Jesse Stone movies with Tom Selleck by accident really. Once we watched this the first movie, we were hooked. Tom plays the part of Jesse Stone ex big city cop kicked out because of his drinking problem, a very broody, dark, anti-hero who bizzarely speaks to his ex wife every night. All the other cast are very believable too. Watch and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
After Magnum (which I loved, but lets face it, was bubble-gum piffle) and the "Three Men" films, you woudln't expect Selleck to be able to portray such a deep character. Story is well written with excellent supporting character perfromances. Top notch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)