Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.
Function - I like that mode can be switched from chromatic to guitar (or bass). The LED is very bright and is always on - brighter when active. Do not pay attention to complaints about it being too bright, I have a Boss GT10 multi FX and the LEDs on that are brighter!

It is made of ABS plastic. I am not a gigging musician and I don't need it to be built like a...
Published on 22 July 2011 by Nick

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars accurate, a bit slow, plastic
Have had this tuner on my board for a few years now, still going strong. I thought it would have broken by now, being plastic, but it has held up okay. Its a bit slow on low strings; it will tune to c no problem, but only on the bridge pickup on my guitar, and it won't pick up low e on bass. Other than that, can't fault it: its accurate, and if you aren't slamming it as a...
Published on 17 Dec. 2011 by Jonathan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 22 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
Function - I like that mode can be switched from chromatic to guitar (or bass). The LED is very bright and is always on - brighter when active. Do not pay attention to complaints about it being too bright, I have a Boss GT10 multi FX and the LEDs on that are brighter!

It is made of ABS plastic. I am not a gigging musician and I don't need it to be built like a brick outhouse. Seems sturdy enough to me. Probably not much use in a fight in a mosh pit but intimidating enough in my social circles!

Accuracy - I have been playing guitar for a lot of years and I never had one this good. If you look at the graduated LED display scale, it will tell you why the frets compromise true temper of the instrument. I would be happy to use it to set intonation.

Battery change is a PITA. Get a power supply.

This is a very good guitar tuner. I have long believed that it is best to buy expensive stuff because you get what you pay for. This is an exception to my rule. I have another Behringer pedal (Tube Overdrive) and both are brilliant and ridiculously cheap.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value but not faultless, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
Ok so I received this yesterday just before band practise with a bunch of friends.

So one plus was very fast delivery, received Saturday AM after ordering Thursday AM, and that was on the FREE supersaver delivery.

Benefits are as you'd expect. Other people were tuning with apps on phones (which is a good way) except everyone needed to be quiet for this, so being able to tune with a pedal was a huge advantage.

It is also very well built. I was quite surprised how chunky it was for the money it cost.

Now the downsides and the reason it is not 5 star:

I use a HSS Strat and the tuner does NOT like the Humbucker pickup. It gets confused as hell and you cant tune on that pickup. Not an issue for me, just switch to a single coil and it works great. But it is something you need to know when deciding to buy this or not. If you have a guitar with only Humbuckers then this might not work at all for you. Again, this was just my humbucker it couldn't deal with, just be aware.

You need to have the volume up quite high on the guitar for it to work properly. If the volume is low on the guitar then the tuner is slow to react if it reacts at all. This means you end up activating the pedal and muting your guitar, you then turn up the volume to tune and then when you unmute again you end up with your volume too high! Very annoying when playing with other people and trying to set your levels. This is something you can compensate for when you set up your levels at the beginning of playing.

Final, as said before by others, BATTERY! It eats 9V batteries. Put a new one in straight away. The tuner only seems to switch on when cables are plugged in to it so overnight the tuner was left in circuit but with the amp off and this morning the battery was dead! So this will get very expensive to use it on batteries. So straight away I'm off to buy a power supply! EDIT: It does say on the back to unplug the jacks to preserve batteries, so I'll see how long a battery lasts now that I'll follow the maker's recommendations!

So in conclusion, good value for money as it is very very cheap for what it is, so if you can deal with the negatives mentioned, it will do you well. If you need something that you can use on battery for a long time and your guitar has Humbuckers and no single coils, you might need to look elsewhere. Fine for me though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hot tuner, 26 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
this is a bargin ! this tuner sits right in the pedal board tuning up during a gig is so simple with this tuner it's led's are bright and easy to read it has the facility to down tune as well it's easy to use compact and there's no hiss from it in use .why pay three times the price for a tuner when this hot tuner can do everthing the competion can for a fraction of the price .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars accurate, a bit slow, plastic, 17 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
Have had this tuner on my board for a few years now, still going strong. I thought it would have broken by now, being plastic, but it has held up okay. Its a bit slow on low strings; it will tune to c no problem, but only on the bridge pickup on my guitar, and it won't pick up low e on bass. Other than that, can't fault it: its accurate, and if you aren't slamming it as a mute pedal it'll survive okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh. Not too bad, but not very good either., 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
3 stars = O.K and that sums the pedal up.
With a fresh battery, it cannot detect E on my bass, in fact, it refuses to acknowledge the E string at all. Maybe it can't cope with flatwounds and low output pickups.
Onto using to tune my guitar and problem No.1 is its sample/hold time is way too short and it is frankly too twitchy and ignores harmonics and extraneous noise filters to allow everything to influence the readout. Compared with my headstock clip-on tuners, it's twitchy!. Accurate though. I fed a known reference frequency in and it was spot on.
I'd strongly recommend a polytune or Boss or Digitech if funds allow, but for a cheap tuner, it's O.K
Construction wise, the plastics are sturdy, but...
The battery is liable to get squished by the pedal. The cable for the battery looks prone to breaking as you twist and curse to get the thing in.
The switch is a microswitch activated by a piece of rubber glued into the top plate. There is little feedback as to when the pedal is activated and judging how hard to press is a good exercise.
If that rubber was cut too short, and the glue is as poor as it looks, then over time I can see how the stop working. Well, that and the cacky battery connector. Stump up for a power board for all your pedals and the battery thing becomes a non-issue.
It does the job, but is slow to use because the display bombs about.
There are better pedals available second hand in your local crack-convertors for the same price, but this will do for me for now.
It does cut the signal to your amp when activated and I can't detect it adding any noise. I run guitar --> tuner --> amp and everything else is plugged via the effects loop. It goes mainly quiet when activated.
Definitely better than messing with rolling volume off and faffing with a clip-on tuner during songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 April 2010
By 
P. J. Ramsay (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
Great tuner, when you consider the Boss version is over twice the price!
Only one small problem and thats that the blue 'ON' led is way too bright, it's so bright it prevents you being able to see the other leds above it! I've put a sticker over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of kit, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
Having owned a handheld tuner with just a single input jack, the TU300 has made things alot easier for me. Now i just leave this plugged in at the beginning of my effects setup, no need to keep switching the leads when i want to retune. The tuner itself is heavier than expected considering it is made of plastic, and it feels quite sturdy. The LED interface is nice and bright (easily visible in sunlight). As others said the low E string can take a few seconds to register, but i've found this happens with all previous tuners i have owned, if you pick the string continuously while tuning, it makes things easier. The accuracy of the TU300 is exceptional and much better than other tuners within the same price range. I'm not sure this pedal could withstand alot of stomping, for example if you were to use it as a mute pedal, i could imagine it might not last very long. However if you're only using it to tune your guitar then i'd recommend getting one, great value for money. If this tuner came in a metal casing i'd give it 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding value for money, 16 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
For the cost (£14.29) this tuner is fantastic value for money. Intial thoughts on opening the box is that it is a sturdy pedal and doesn't feel cheap whatsoever. I use this with a Gretsch Bass with fitted mini humbuckers and it picks up each string instantly indicating clearly if the note is sharp or flat. Have gigged with this and the display is very clear and well lit and the jack sockets are solid, never having any issues with cables popping out. Have also tried this with a Gibson SG and as with my bass it picks up each string perfectly. I would have given this 5 stars but the only reason I didn't is that the battery is a bit fiddly to install as you have to depress 2 spring loaded pins on the pedal hinge and it's located under there. Shame the DC adaptor isn't included with it but what do you expect for under £15. Overall great value and though it's nice to have a £50-60 Boss pedal tuner this one is such a great tuner and much cheaper alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what i need it too, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
Dont buy this expecting BOSS quality, as the casing is plastic (something i do worry about breaking) but for the price it is good quality and will do exactly what you want of it. Mine as lasted me well over a year now and i havent had any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good tuner but DO NOT use live, 27 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner (Electronics)
This is a nice little tuner, cheap and happy. It can be a little slow at times and is very plasticy but overall does a pretty good job. The one thing I would note is that this should NOT be used live as the jacks are quite loose and I've had my bass come unplugged a number of times during a live set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behringer TU300 Chromatic Guitar/Bass Tuner
£21.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews