Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Quality product prompt delivery thank you
Published 1 month ago by Dawn Flanagan

versus
37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quality brand but questionable design
OK, you can't go far wrong with Rotring equipment. It is expensive but you are buying quality manufacturing. As a designer, I use this kit a lot and although most of it is very reliable and I wouldn't be without it, these compasses are frustrating to say the least. The pin is not sharp enough to anchor the compasses sufficiently and the resistance of the top hinge is...
Published on 18 Jan 2008 by gc in surrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quality brand but questionable design, 18 Jan 2008
OK, you can't go far wrong with Rotring equipment. It is expensive but you are buying quality manufacturing. As a designer, I use this kit a lot and although most of it is very reliable and I wouldn't be without it, these compasses are frustrating to say the least. The pin is not sharp enough to anchor the compasses sufficiently and the resistance of the top hinge is too low. The result is that the compass either skids off the centre point or they start to splay out with very little pressure. Put sufficient pressure on the point to avoid the first, then the hinge in the arm bends breaking your lead or worse the nib of your pen.

I recommend avoiding these if you can and pay that little bit more and get yourself a pair of spring bow compasses instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible design, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
Unbelievably bad design, considering this is by a highly recognised manufacturer. Within 6 months of my purchase parts of the compass will just fall off (most annoyingly and notably the piece that holds the lead). Also the pivot rest on the other arm always slides too far in making it unusable. I thought maybe I had lost some critical pieces somehow but it seems it is all there and put together properly.. Final problem I have encountered is the compass does not have anywhere near enough friction to remain in its set open position and so almost every time you use it it will not be consistent and become wider. I would not recommend this if you like/need to draw a lot of curves and don't want to become overcome with rage and hatred for your compass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Non compatible, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
I bought this together with the Rotring college pen set. Really annoyed as now I find the pens wont fit in the pen holder, and the pen holder that comes with the pen won't fit in the compasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
Quality product prompt delivery thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rotring Mixed Compass Set, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
Wanted a good quality compass for doing different hobby jobs. This is a very sturdy and well made item. Have yet to learn what the other items in the box are for, but very pleased with the basic compass. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very helpful, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
I am not very good at calculations but for drawing out on stich and tear the pattern I need for foundation work this was excelent and creating circles and arcs for other of my projects it is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars compass set !, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
For my needs ,a great little set .If you are a professional architect or such like ,you may find faults ,day to day use, I think the set is a bargain .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Universal Piece of equipment, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
This has its value in the ability to carry a variety of pens and markers as well as the early "bird beak" pen option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rotring Compass Set 6 Piece with Extension Bar plus Ruling Pen and Extra Bow Compass, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
I have recently tried to get back together the sort of drawing office equipment which I enjoyed in the seventies, when I saw this had the Rotring label attached to them I thought that they would be ideal. After using them for a month I can honestly say that I'm underwhelmed. They are bulky to use and after just weeks they are starting to loosen up and don't hold their place once set. I subsequently bought an old set off E Bay and the quality was radically different and well worth spending on. My suggestion is to look for old Rotring equipment...it was made to last, these were made to a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well made item, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Mixed Compass Set (Office Product)
great item. found it to be very usefull aid to design and drawing projects. would recommend theis item to any would be designer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rotring Mixed Compass Set
12.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews