Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sixties recordings
James and Bobby Purify were actually cousins (Bobby's real name being Robert Lee Dickey) and they recorded plenty of great music together in the sixties. In 1970, Bobby quit due to ill-health and another singer replaced him and took his name. This compilation is limited to the music of the original duo.

Their debut hit, I'm your puppet, turned out to also be...
Published on 30 April 2011 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what it seems
I was very excited when i saw this album because i had been trying to obtain a particular track on it for some time called "Im your puppet" beware anyone doing the same because the recording of this track on this album is from 1966 and if you want the hit single you need the 1976 recording.The recording on this album in no way matches up to the brilliant version they did...
Published on 29 Mar. 2011 by shelly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sixties recordings, 30 April 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
James and Bobby Purify were actually cousins (Bobby's real name being Robert Lee Dickey) and they recorded plenty of great music together in the sixties. In 1970, Bobby quit due to ill-health and another singer replaced him and took his name. This compilation is limited to the music of the original duo.

Their debut hit, I'm your puppet, turned out to also be their biggest hit. It is the song that most people redeemer them for, though the original American hit as presented here didn't chart in Britain. James and the second Bobby Purify re-recorded the song in the seventies and that re-recording charted in Britain. That version is not included here, nor is the follow-up UK hit, Morning glory. Fans looking for their UK hits as released in 1976 will have to look elsewhere.

Apart from the 1966 version of I'm your puppet, this compilation includes other excellent songs such as Goodness gracious, Wish you didn't have to go and their last sixties hit, Let love come between us. A couple of covers of well known songs are featured, these being the R+B standard Knock on wood and the old country song Sixteen tons, which works extremely well adapted to an R+B styling. Of course, Ray Charles had already demonstrated how country songs could be successful in an R+B format, but I was surprised at just how well Sixteen tons works as an R+B song..

The other songs are all of a good quality, including further original material as well as covers of songs by Otis Redding, Sam Cooke, Joe South and others. This is an excellent compilation of the duo's sixties music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the above review, James & Bobby are sublime, 12 April 2011
By 
Mr. S. G. Jordan (Luton, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The recording of 'I'm Your Puppet' on this CD is actually the original US hit version. It was re-recorded by James Purify and Bobby#2 (Ben Moore) 1976 and was a hit in the UK. In my opinion the original is the superior version, it is a proper, edgey piece of classic soul.
Anyway, there are many other absolutely stunning performances on this collection. My favourites being the re-working of the Merle Travis country classic '16 Tons', as well as 'Shake A Tail Feather', Sam Cooke's 'Soothe Me' and the beautiful 'I Don't Want to Have to Wait'. James & Bobby Purify channel pure soul on all selections. I bought this CD on the basis of an old Bell 45 I 'inherited' from my Mum's record collection which I used to listen to about 25 years ago, I had a vague memory of it being great. I can only say I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Simply Purified
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
EX CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what it seems, 29 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I was very excited when i saw this album because i had been trying to obtain a particular track on it for some time called "Im your puppet" beware anyone doing the same because the recording of this track on this album is from 1966 and if you want the hit single you need the 1976 recording.The recording on this album in no way matches up to the brilliant version they did later. I have managed to track the later version down though and to anyone interested its available from amazon on a compilation album called "MUSIC OF THE YEAR 1976" Dont get caught out i was so fed up when i heard this album and it will sit on the shelf gathering dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by James & Bobby Purify (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews