Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent old sci-fi film, rarely seen and mostly forgotten nowadays, but still having a lot to offer!
I just discovered this film and I simply can not understand why it is so little known. I was hooked to the screen from the first minutes to the very end and I simply couldn't believe my eyes, watching a very litteral adaptation of Daniel Defoe's immortal masterpiece - with just the main hero stranded on another planet, instead of a desert island.

This is an old...
Published on 14 Dec 2011 by Darth Maciek

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
does not play on my dvd,wrong region, to late to return it,
Published 3 months ago by mr.a.e.sewell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent old sci-fi film, rarely seen and mostly forgotten nowadays, but still having a lot to offer!, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I just discovered this film and I simply can not understand why it is so little known. I was hooked to the screen from the first minutes to the very end and I simply couldn't believe my eyes, watching a very litteral adaptation of Daniel Defoe's immortal masterpiece - with just the main hero stranded on another planet, instead of a desert island.

This is an old film and for that reason the technology shown is somehow dated - the world progressed a lot since 1964. But after the first five minutes I completely forgot to pay attention to it and I simply followed the adventures of Commander "Kit" Draper, as his spaceship crashed on Mars, leaving him stranded there, with a little monkey named Mona as only companion.

As one of the previous reviewers already mentioned, this film is indeed divided in two parts. The first one describes Draper's painful quest for basic survival, beginning with THE problem - how to solve the issue of oxygen supply. Mars atmosphere in this movie is somehow richer in oxygen than in reality, but not enough to allow a human to survive for an extended period. Other basic problems include shelter, heating, water and food. And other challenges. This first part of the film is really excellent.

The second part begins with Draper rescuing from a certain death Friday, who in this film is a human looking alien from Orion Belt. The two men learn progressively to speak their languages and become friends. Later, together with Mona, they will have to face their toughest challenge yet, which will include exploration of some of the most dangerous places on Mars. This part of the movie is a little bit weaker, but still very good.

The description of Mars in this film is excellent, although COMPLETELY different from the real life Red Planet. Still, I simply loved the images of Mars mountains, valleys, deserts and other features which I will let you discover by yourself - and the scene with both Deimos and Phobos rising over the rugged mountain peaks is simply beautiful! The strange volcano in form of a deep crack in the planet surface, with a permanent gigantic flame reaching almost to the limit of the atmosphere is another feature which didn't age at all and still can impress.

I was impressed by the way Draper took care of his little furry companion. The little monkey, although a tough little survivor itself, needs nevertheless to be protected and sometimes cuddled when it feels lonely. Scenes in which Mona goes to sleep in her little bed, after sharing Draper's meal, are very touching.

Another thing which I really appreciated were the Christian elements, today mostly absent from sci-fi movies. Draper prays occasionaly, but sincerely, when walking through the merciless wilderness of the Red Planet. Also when he finally can communicate with Friday, he realizes that both humans and aliens worship the One God, Father Almighty, Creator of Universe - although the Orionites have of course a different ritual and their name for "Lord" sounds somehow like a painful sneeze...

Byron Haskin, who directed this film, is today mostly remembered for his excellent adaptation of another great book, "The War of the worlds" (1953), still the best movie based on Wells masterpiece. But this film is at least as good! I will keep it preciously to rewatch it again someday, as I spend a really good moment with Draper, Friday, Mona - and Mars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic sunday sci-fi !! ;O), 26 Sep 2010
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Ahhh the childhood memories , strange how I think of a film from my childhood and then it comes on TV the following Sunday ?!. I loved watching old sci-fi films as a kid and I still love watching these films today. This is great stuff despite the plastic looking sets, acting and direction, remindes me of Star Trek ! he he.
I think everyone should chill out and watch this film its just too cool. The dodgy psychedelic sausage incident is groovy ! the cheeky swim is risky for it time and audience target! and all the groovy old landscapes and spaceships ( stolen from War of the Worlds movie 1954) all just adds to the films style. Come on not all sci-fi has to be scientifically accurate!!
Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Defoe would have been proud., 5 Jun 2010
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Don't be put off by this film's rather juvenile title, this film like a football match is a game of two half's.
The first half (And my favourite.) tells the story of an Astronaut trying to stay alive in the hostile environment of Mars, although the Mars in this film has a breathable atmosphere.
A little realistic touch I like, is when the stranded astronaut sees his ship (which is full of supplies) still orbiting, presses the destruct button and it takes several seconds for the radio signal to reach the ship.
These days it probably would be instantaneous so as not to confuse the audience.
The Death Valley locations look a realistic backdrop for Mars too.
~~~~
The second half is only slightly less imaginative then the first, as it tells the more conventional story of invading aliens and their slave labour workforce.
After escaping the Alien's clutches and rescuing one of the slave workers (The man friday character in the Defoe original.) they head for the polar ice cap.
The ending may be a bit ambiguous but I like it like that. Some films give the audience too many easy answers.
Overall opinion, a good updated retelling from a classic novel, which many scholars consider was the first novel publised in English.(1719)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robinson Crusoe on Mars (1964), 6 Sep 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The title does the film no favours at all because it kind of reeks of daft Z movie origins, in fact if I hadn't looked up some research on the film prior to viewing it, I would have expected a comedy! This is an interesting variant on the much loved Daniel Defoe story about Robinson Crusoe, only as the title suggests, this is set on Mars. Whilst orbiting Mars, Commander Kit Draper is forced to eject and is stranded on Mars with only his wits and Mona the monkey for company. Here he has to source all the basic ingredients to stay alive, but he finds that mans need for companionship can trouble the mind greatly, and not only that, he finds that he is not alone after all, and the visitors that turn up are not exactly of the friendly kind..

This is a very solid and intelligent sci-fi picture, dealing with isolation and the will to stay alive, Robinson Crusoe On Mars is very much a film that relies on story over style, that it succeeds is with much credit to Paul Mantee as the lonesome Draper, carrying the film for two thirds on his own (except for the wonderful Mona Monkey of course), he infuses emotion and credibility in abundance to lift the film way above average. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Robinson Crusoe On Mars" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues For UK Buyers With The US Release..., 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
As you've probably gathered most of the reviews are for the 'DVD' version of the ‘man and space monkey’ cult classic “Robinson Crusoe On Mars”. And the ‘BLU RAY’ is available in the States and Germany. But which issue do you buy if you live in Blighty?

Unfortunately the sought-after USA Criterion release is REGION-A LOCKED - although it doesn't say so on Amazon.
So it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK BLU RAY players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't).
Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

Luckily the German release (with foreign language all over the rear of the box) is REGION B - so that will play the 1964 film on UK machines (apparently with the same restored elements).

Check you’re player’s region coding acceptability if you want the pricier Criterion release (which is said to have a stunning transfer)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I rememered this film from yrs ago and had never seen it since and could not purchase before as i didnt have a multi region dvd player and this has not been released on region 2, all i can say is i dont regret buying this,although this ws made even before the moon landings it is great how it shows how they thought mars was, the story is great of how a spaceman becomes stranded on mars, this is one dvd i will watch again and would not be parting with, i recommend this to any syfi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Egor, 11 May 2008
By 
Egor (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
There is something about this movie that made me search it out after 35 years. It captures the feeling of exploring strange new worlds depsite the dated technology and facts. I have watched it twice already and will no doubt watch again some time in the future. A PAL version is available through vicpine on UK amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I enjoyed watching this - a kittle slow by today's standards, but well worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
does not play on my dvd,wrong region, to late to return it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region Free?. Played on my Region 2 DVD Player., 9 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criterion Collection: Robinson Crusoe on Mars [DVD] [1964] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
First I found the DVD worked on my Region 2 DVD player, so assumed the DVD was Region Free.
The DVD case artwork cover clearly states, Region 1 NTSC.

It brought back many good memories of the film, a few that I had forgotten.
Brilliant, a re-worked clean-up of original tape, without any obvious modern-day touching up.
Result was 110 minutes of good sound entertainment, you will not be disappointed.

It was strange to see 'Adam West' (Batman) as a co-pilot, but he bites the dust on landing, pity.

A must for all those Sci-Fi viewers and space oriented types.

I did notice that the copyright protection had been removed, probably when DVD was made into Region free, or too old to be effected by it, being my best guess.
It was an original DVD I received from seller, and not a cowboy rip-off copy, having been ripped off on E-Bay by seller, in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews