Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating But Not For Beginners
I think this book is brilliant, yet I am not 100% sure why it is in the Very Short Introduction series. It isn't really an introduction to contemporary art. If you don't know much about art, and you don't know much about contemporary artists, you aren't going to be very much the wiser after reading this book, at least at a basic level. It deals only sketchily with the...
Published on 10 Jan. 2008 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To be avoided by those who are actually looking for a very short introduction
As other reviewers have already pointed out, this book is not in any way a "very short introduction" to contemporary art. Nevertheless, others have given the book a pretty high appreciation on the grounds that it offers an interesting perspective, and, (I cite one of the reviews) it tackles all the main issues "in a clear and easy to understand manner".

It...
Published 17 months ago by BvdR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating But Not For Beginners, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I think this book is brilliant, yet I am not 100% sure why it is in the Very Short Introduction series. It isn't really an introduction to contemporary art. If you don't know much about art, and you don't know much about contemporary artists, you aren't going to be very much the wiser after reading this book, at least at a basic level. It deals only sketchily with the work of artists, using them to illustrate points rather than to tell you much about them or the artists themselves. It doesn't really set out to tell you what art is either, in any easily identifiable way.
Having said that, it gets five stars in my book because it illustrates a fascinating view of art that I have never really been aware of before. Stallabras talks about contemporary art in relation to world politics, commerce, consumerism and the worlds of big business and finance. He talks about how art has changed and been shaped by the demands that these external pressure points have put upon it, and what that means for the way we 'read' art and art works. He talks about how it affects our understanding of where art fits in the current world order and what that means for artists.
It is an incredibly interesting book, from which I have learned a great deal. It really made me think and made me look at things like how exhibitions are staged and what museums are for in a radically different light. It is well worth the money and the time to read it, but you do have to have some prior knowledge of art beforehand to get the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To be avoided by those who are actually looking for a very short introduction, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As other reviewers have already pointed out, this book is not in any way a "very short introduction" to contemporary art. Nevertheless, others have given the book a pretty high appreciation on the grounds that it offers an interesting perspective, and, (I cite one of the reviews) it tackles all the main issues "in a clear and easy to understand manner".

It doesn't. I struggled with Stallabras's writing style, which obfuscates rather than clarifies. As a text, it is squarely aimed at those already familiar with contemportary art writing, including the jargon and key underpinning perspectives. The reader who doesn't have that background is left scratching his head while wading through paragraph after paragraph of a highly convoluted writing style that offers very little in the way of an analytical framework or even attempt to shine a light on the nature of contemporary art. Instead, the book is a series of connected essays that describe market forces and political developments and ideologies as they influence art, and commentary on contemporary art critics and academics and their perspectives, and how these in turn influence contemporary art.

I take the view that a book should be assessed based on what it sets out to achieve, and wouldn't want to judge it against a set of criteria that were not part of the writing brief. Reading OUP's overall brief ("These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors [...] make interesting and challenging topics highly readable"), I can only conclude that this booklet has failed spectacularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent essay on ConArt, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Very Short Introduction series are written by professors of the subject and are aimed at provoking cross-discipline intrigue in the reader that may incite further investigation and reading - and boy, are they good at achieving exactly that; often they leave more questions than answers.

Contemporary art details examples of outrageous or intriguing but always thought-provoking pieces of art. It details the main themes in these works and how to interpret the artist's objectives. It also has a much larger macro-side to the book as it looks as art's intrinsic value and how it is received by the marketplace. Delving further reveals the globalisation and even mass production of art and how this affects it's value. Finally rounding off with the contradiction in the art world that have shaped the state of affairs today.

Whilst this is a well argued, informative and well referenced book, I really did not feel that this was much of an introduction, it deals with some pretty advanced themes and a lot of the artists I had literally never heard about before their mentioning, so when author Stallabrass says something is similar to someone else's styling, I often had to look them up for comparison basis. I am no art scholar, but I thought the introduction would have accounted for that, it is actually a lot more high-brow than a run-down for the layman. Whilst this isn't inherently a problem, it did make this pretty heavy going at some points. Cautiously recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a short introduction to Contemporary Art, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contemporary Art: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Kindle Edition)
I was expecting this book to provide a well rounded introduction and analysis of what contemporary art is but instead I found this book to be about the global market's relationship to contemporary art. It has a very misleading title and I strongly believe it doesn't belong in the Very Short Introduction series.

I found that it is actually an essay titled Art Incorporated which fits it much better.

Overall it was still an interesting read but not what I was looking for or needed for my degree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contemporary Art in a nut shell, 22 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Contemporary Art in a nut shell, with all the main issues tackled in a clear and easy to understand manner. Provides many useful ideas and quotes about art in a global market. A good jumping off point for further study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ways of Seeing for the Contemporary Eye, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contemporary Art: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Kindle Edition)
Stallabrass is a good writer. He has spent a lot of time meditating on contemporary art and, by the evidence of this book, has come to the conclusion that much of it is vacuous and compromised. It is a light read in elegantly phrased chapters that give just enough history and context to allow you to question the things you are likely to see in a contemporary art museum: who is constructing these visions?

I was impressed by his deconstruction of the modern world art developments in the international biennale scene and find myself questioning whether anything serious can really be attempted in this environment. As I sit in a monster shopping centre writing this, looking out the window at a motorway lined with grungy apartment buildings, I am struck by how irrelevant to my experience this art is.

Strange to say this having grown up with the idea that Art History had something to say, but Stallabrass seems to tell me that the history of what now goes for art is going to be a repetition of broad, hollow themes grouped around vain personalities. Worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one of the most interesting books I have read in a long time. Don't be put off by comments that it is difficult. If you're interested you'll be well-rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars There were a few too many obvious points about the ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There were a few too many obvious points about the global economy some of the information did not fit with the title an introduction to contemporary art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice little book. Got it as was on the list for art and design foundation course but surprisingly enjoyed reading it all before I got to the University.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stallabrass, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book.. Bought it for my daughter's christams present. She loved it - a short book and well written. Great for finding basic concepts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews