Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one the others talk about
I read a couple of design patterns books before this one and quickly realised that I need to get this book as soon as possible. The others I've read all referenced it and as a design patterns catalog it presents patterns in the purest form. It is extremely easy to read in terms of clarity and layout and certainly in a format that will appeal to programmers. Although most...
Published on 10 Oct 2006 by Justin Taylor

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In need of a re-write
I've worked in the IT industry exclusively since 2006 when I graduated from university. This book was required reading for the Design Patterns module I elected to do. Back to 2010 and I've found myself doing more OO and re-factoring of some complex code bases. I picked up my copy and realised just how out-dated the examples are, especially for developers using Java / C#...
Published on 9 Oct 2010 by KJ


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In need of a re-write, 9 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've worked in the IT industry exclusively since 2006 when I graduated from university. This book was required reading for the Design Patterns module I elected to do. Back to 2010 and I've found myself doing more OO and re-factoring of some complex code bases. I picked up my copy and realised just how out-dated the examples are, especially for developers using Java / C#. The examples might be more relevant to C++ developers but I find the book really heavy going and quite hard to digest.

Design patterns are not difficult and books like Head First Design Patterns are better introductions to Designs Patterns than the GoF book. Unfortunately the Head First series does not cover all the patterns in the GoF and the Head First book is not designed to be a reference book. That said I remember much more of what I read when compared to this text.

Unfortunately there is no alternative that provides essential coverage of some of the most common patterns used day to day.

In short if your new to patterns and have a limited budget go for the Head First Book, while not a reference its a much gentler introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one the others talk about, 10 Oct 2006
By 
Justin Taylor "Justo" (Sydney) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read a couple of design patterns books before this one and quickly realised that I need to get this book as soon as possible. The others I've read all referenced it and as a design patterns catalog it presents patterns in the purest form. It is extremely easy to read in terms of clarity and layout and certainly in a format that will appeal to programmers. Although most examples are either in C++ or SmallTalk you should have no problem keeping up if you specialise in other languages including scripting languages like PHP5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 109 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a must-read that is also a must-rewrite, 5 May 2000
This book is compulsory reading with no real competition.
However it's very badly written. People often mention (without complaining? ) of what a lot of hard work this book is. In fact almost all the patterns are easy to grasp, but rubbish explanations in conjunction with inconsistent use of terminology and weak examples obscures each pattern to the extent that the reader's brain soon falls out of their head.
I can't point to any one example in the book since they are all as bad as each other. But re-reading the visitor pattern finally inspired this diatribe.
I can't understand how these guys have got away with it. It's absurd. There must be an unimaginable number of people who have given up on Design Patterns due to this book, seminal or not. What a shame. The value of patterns is almost incalculable.
If only Odell & Martin or Martin Fowler would condescend to give us something readable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book for OO designers and developers, 26 May 1999
By A Customer
Starting from what design patterns are, this book then presents how patterns can be used to build a document editor. What follows is a list of great patterns for various purposes. This book is a great tool for anyone who is interested in OO design. You read it, and read it, and read it...and then when you finish you read it again! This book lives on my desk now... I was a bit dissapointed that multi-threaded patterns were not discussed at all in this book, but I'll still give it a 5 because I do think it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality references for a decent price, 2 Mar 2009
By 
D. Baas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently ordered "Design Patterns: AND Applying UML and Patterns, an Introduction to Object-Oriented Analysis and Design and Iterative Development: Elements of Reusable Object-oriented Software". Although i could not find information as to whether it concerned two separate books or two books in one, i was looking for references on both Design Patterns and UML. It turned out to concern two books and although i haven't finished reading both from front to cover, i am impressed with the quality of the material in both. Design Patters is a book that i use a lot for reference and for a great perspective on how to set up object-oriented software designs. Applying UML and patters provides valuable information on how to apply UML and patterns during real-life software development. It it written in a down-to-earth fashion and is a great help because it explains all stages of iterative sofware development and all points that need attention. It also tells you when not to use UML and how UML was intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading, 29 Dec 2004
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you will have guessed from the other reviews this is required reading but if you do find it hardgoing I'd recommend reading "Design Patterns Explained" which is a lighter introduction ("Applying UML and Patterns" by Craig Larman is also useful for this).

Once you get the patterns, and more importantly once you understand why they are good designs, I would recommend looking at "Pattern Hatching", "Agile Software Development (2nd edition)" and "Refactoring to Patterns" which cover the use of patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The 5 stars it gets are for historical contribution to the art of software only. Buy a more readable book on the subject!, 17 Dec 2008
By 
J. STOLL (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My subject title says it all. These guys are to developers and architects what geeks are to business people. Ever heard business people complain they can't speak tech speak and we'd better shape up and learn the language of business if we want to keep our jobs? Well you'll be complaining about how these guys try to explain their subject to you.

These guys would have been first out the door in your business as they can't explain how to boil and egg without shrouding it in mystery and science. Talk about surrounding yourself in importance then this book is probably aimed at that because the patterns are simple and easy to understand in practice, BUT NOT IF YOU READ THIS BOOK! No doubt if they had written it simply in the first place it would not have not been received in the academic world and would not have its place in history today. As it is, if you want to look important and well clued up then buy this book to show off on your shelves and while your at it put it next to a Charles Petzold book.

These guys get 5 stars for their research and nothing for authorship. If you really want to do your job well, steer clear of this and look elsewhere for real examples of how to make patterns work for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to really learn object-oriented design, 7 Mar 1997
By A Customer
This book really changed my way of thinking about object-oriented design. The idea is that when designing a new class hierarchy, though implementation details may differ, you often find yourself using the same kinds of solutions over and over again. Rather than approaching each design task out of context as an individual, isolated problem, the strategy is to study the task and identify the underlying design pattern most likely to be applicable, and follow the class structure outlined by that pattern. It's a "cookbook" school of design that works amazingly well.
There are other advantages to this book. It isolates 23 of the most common patterns and presents them in detail. You wouldn't think that 23 patterns would be enough, but once you become adept at recognizing patterns, you'll find that a large fraction of the patterns you use in practice are among these 23. For each pattern, the book carefully presents the intent of the pattern, a motivating example, consequences of using that pattern, implementation considerations and pitfalls, sample code (C++ or Smalltalk), known uses of that pattern in real-world applications, and a list of related patterns.
Upon first reading, you will start to recognize these patterns in the frameworks you see. Upon second reading, you'll begin to see how these patterns can help you in your own designs, and may also start to see new patterns not listed in the book. Once you become familiar with the pattern concept, you will be able to originate your own patterns, which will serve you well in the future. One of the most valuable contributions of this book is that it is designed not merely to help you identify patterns, but to give you a sense of which patterns are appropriate in which contexts.
I think this book is particularly valuable to many C++ and Java programmers, because of the dynamic and flexible design philosophy it follows. (Its two fundamental principles of reusable OO design are: "Program to an interface, not an implementation" and "Favor object composition over class inheritance".) I've found that many C++ books unfortunately tend to emphasize a rather static and inflexible design philosophy. Many C++ programmers do not realize how the language and the books they've studied from have been limiting their thinking until they have been exposed to ideas from other lanugages. The authors of this book have obviously been influenced by other languages as well, especially Smalltalk, and have brought many of its best lessons to C++ design. Most Java books seem to take after the C++ books, even though Java is a more dynamic language. This book may help Java programmers take full advantage of the extra power offered by their language, if they look deeply enough into some of the lesser-known features its runtime system affords.
Last, but not least, this book is valuable because it names the patterns it uses, and so gives programmers a common vocabulary to describe design concepts, rather than particular implementations. You'll find yourself saying things like, "That would be a good use for a Decorator", or "Should we use a Facade or a Mediator in this case?" I encourage readers of this book to use this vocabulary with other programmers.
In summary, this is one of the few books that I think belongs on every programmer's "must-have" list. Not to overuse a cliche, but like object-oriented design itself, the pattern concept is one of those rare paradigm-shifts in computer programming. It is equally valuable to expert professional and novice student alike. The book has a home page at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must read, but a very tough read., 2 July 1998
By A Customer
The authors define design patterns as: descriptions of communicating objects and classes that are customised to solve a general design problem in a particular context. A design pattern names, abstracts, and identifies the key aspects of a common design structure that make it useful for creating a reusable object-oriented design. The design pattern identifies the participating classes and instances, their roles and collaborations, and the distribution of responsibilities. Easy to wrap your mind around, eh? Design Pattern people are in love with the power of abstraction and generality. You might even say they prefer to impress rather than inform. However, somehow you are going to have to learn this stuff, even if only to get into the heads of the guys who designed the AWT. Try starting with the code samples in the Design Patterns book. You have to read this book at least twice before it begins to make any sense. However, if you want to call yourself a programmer you MUST understand this book. I hope somebody writes a version of this book for Java programmers. It is written from the perspective of C++ and Smalltalk. This is a book where the you want the hardcover version. You go back to it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're going to have to buy this book sometime, 15 July 1997
By A Customer
The book commonly referred to as just "Design Patterns" begins with an introduction to Object Oriented Programming and continues with a catalog of design patterns. I wouldn't recommend this book as your first OOP book, but I believe that once you have a basic understanding of OOP, you can try to cope with some of the basic Design Patterns in this book. If you are an advanced OO programmer, it's helpful to just quickly review any pattern you're about to implement and examine possible implementation issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews