Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good if you know NOTHING!
I got my puppy when he was 8 weeks old..the info doesnt really start until 12 weeks.....however I applied the rules(most of which are common sense) and now he is 11 weeks hes pretty good/reliable. The stuff about cage/crate training was very good, the puppy cried for 20 mins on his first night here, 10 the second, five the third and hasnt cried since, he goes into it at...
Published on 15 May 2009 by Georgie Norton

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't always do exactly what it says on the tin!
I would say this is not the best book I have read, however, if you are new to the whole house training thing, then I would recommend it as a good starting point. For someone who is already experienced it only serves to confirm what you have been doing right but does however offer some insightful tips and advice. However, the title is somewhat misleading as the book does...
Published on 16 Dec 2009 by Mrs. L. Fishpen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't always do exactly what it says on the tin!, 16 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Fishpen (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would say this is not the best book I have read, however, if you are new to the whole house training thing, then I would recommend it as a good starting point. For someone who is already experienced it only serves to confirm what you have been doing right but does however offer some insightful tips and advice. However, the title is somewhat misleading as the book does go on to explain that no two dogs are the same, hence there is no guarantee that your dog will be fully housetrained within the 7 day period which is, in effect, an estimation/generalisation! That said, if you do follow the guidelines and stick to a strict regime your fury friend will inevitably catch on in no time at all. It just takes patience and persistence. Don't put pressure on yourself though and go at your and your dog's own pace. Remember, dogs are born followers and as their pack leader it is your responsiblity to lay down the ground rules and to be consistent in their training. That way, there is little room for failure. I have two puppies and would say it took about a month before they were fully housetrained. That said, even now at six months old I still stick to their routine like clockwork and always keep a close eye on them. This book will lay down the foundation for good house breaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good if you know NOTHING!, 15 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got my puppy when he was 8 weeks old..the info doesnt really start until 12 weeks.....however I applied the rules(most of which are common sense) and now he is 11 weeks hes pretty good/reliable. The stuff about cage/crate training was very good, the puppy cried for 20 mins on his first night here, 10 the second, five the third and hasnt cried since, he goes into it at night without being asked, lies down quietly and goes straight to sleep. never having used one before, I definitely will again..it has made the nights peaceful and dry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful for new poppy owner, 6 Aug 2010
I bought this along with a famous dog trainer's book. My four month old puppy is now able to hold hold his bladder and bowels much longer and is beginning to ask to go outside. Having never owned a dog before I was incredibly clueless about how to begin training and this book got me up and running. In hindsight it is common sense but the clear, concise nature of this book meant that I could be confident about what I was doing and I was also able to grab and refer to it when not sure. The other book is a good read but not as helpful when getting down to basics.
What I think a lot of the reviewers don't get is that this book is a way to start you off, not an all round problem solver. I followed the schedules for the first week then adjusted as necessary for me and my dog. There is still the odd accident, but as an Early Years teacher I know that this perfectly normal for young animals, my little ones can mostly make it to the toilet on time but that doesn't mean I don't have spare clothes on hand!
I also invested in a crate and it has been brilliant. My puppy loves it and often puts himself to bed even when he has free run of the house.
Overall, a very useful book for those of us who want to be responsible and informed dog owners but are a little wet behind the ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Housebreak Your Dog in 7 Days, 27 May 2006
By 
Niss N. J. Simmonite "Nicky" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Our little tear away "Sophie" is fourteen months old, and because she is so beautiful gets away with almost anything! But it was getting to be a ritual every morning, cleaning up after her. It was then that we decided to GET HELP!!!!!!!!

So we took the advice of the book (slightly modified)it to suit our babies needs! We were very suprised to see how quickly Sophie took to this and now she is not a little tear away anymore but a little ANGEL!!!!!!!!!!!!

Many thanks to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dog training, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
hi brrrrilliant book our puppy george was trained in 4 DAYS YES 4 DAYS just stick to what whe book says and hope you have a clever dog like george it also works on lead training buy it NOW vic kingswinford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is just FANTASTIC, 18 Mar 2007
By 
A. M. Kenny "bingocheater" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
BUY IT AND DO IT!!!!

Follow the guide and be realistic. the book has great advice for a dog of 3 to 4 months. younger than that it does still has good advice. THIS BOOK DOES WORK. HINT: we too 2 weeks off and worked to through the book. JUST F.A.B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reminder if you have not had a puppy for a lot of years., 6 Sep 2009
By 
Lucy H. (Co Durham, England.) - See all my reviews
A very easy read and a very good reminder if you have not had a puppy for a lot of years.
The book helps to retrain the owner and not just the puppy for successful housebreaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dog ate it!, 10 July 2009
By 
R. Olofsson (Boulder, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The techniques described in the book work well and it helped us train our puppy in about 10 days. Our puppy did end up eating the book, so I had to take one star off for that :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Housebreaking your dog, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Housebreak Your Dog in 7 Days (Revised) (Kindle Edition)
The book was a good read and suggested ways of housebreaking your dog in different situations. But found that I coudn't follow this advice as I have 2 other dogs and 2 cats. With 1 dog it would work well I assume. Not for us though which is ashame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars housebreak you dog in 7 days, 3 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
book is as described, contains some good usefull tips for older dogs as well as puppies, reasonable price, (although our cute little puppy took longer than seven days, i dont think she liked going outside in the snow, i cant blame the book for that, or the puppy!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews