Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ragpickers Dream--Mark 2 ?
Mark Knopfler`s 5th solo album takes a few steps back and recalls the tempo of Ragpickers Dream.
It`s a folksy kinda album which you would best enjoy on a cold winters night in front of a roaring log fire.Its cosy, warm and very easy on the ear.
Mark`s husky voice is accompanied by his trademark guitar licks--a variety of different guitars are used on this...
Published on 17 Sep 2007 by Gareths Dad

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laid back and solo-less, but not soul-less
As a fan of Knopfler's music for over 20 years, the 5th solo album was an instant 'must buy'. Its the most laid back of all the albums and Dire Straits fans (yes, they are different from Mark Knopfler fans) may moan about the lack of any guitar solos. Nothing like 'What It Is' or other strat-cracking guitars on this.

What is does have 'tho, is lots of...
Published on 17 Oct 2007 by Colin Miller


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ragpickers Dream--Mark 2 ?, 17 Sep 2007
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (Audio CD)
Mark Knopfler`s 5th solo album takes a few steps back and recalls the tempo of Ragpickers Dream.
It`s a folksy kinda album which you would best enjoy on a cold winters night in front of a roaring log fire.Its cosy, warm and very easy on the ear.
Mark`s husky voice is accompanied by his trademark guitar licks--a variety of different guitars are used on this album--and a very tight band that play an array of instruments that comes as a pleasant and rather unexpected surprise.
The songs are obviously drawn from Mark`s memories of his youth (Secondary Waltz)and are a credit to his songwriting skills---the man just gets better with his lyrics.
True Love Will Never Fade and Heart Full of Holes are fine examples of the progress he has made in putting his thoughts into his music and , for me , are the highlights of this album.
For those who loved the music of Dire Straits--well sorry but the man`s moved on ! I feel he is is now writing and performing the music that he really wants to play and there may ( I hope ) be a lot more of this to come.
To sum up--this is not an album to get you on your feet--rather to put your feet up, relax and enjoy.
Hope this helps but I am sure all M.K. fans will buy whatever he records.
Chris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 8 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (Audio CD)
I kept hearing this in music and book stores and everytime I did I would find snatches of it dancing around in my memory for the rest of the evening. Now, being as I was completely allergic to Brothers in Arms and the whole glossy eighties Dire Straits, this was very odd. My partner bought it for me and now we listen to it most evenings. It's a collection of beautiful songs that require you to sit and listen, as you would to a story. It's one of those rare albums that sinks immediately into your heart. Mind you, having read the previous reviews it's obviously the musical equivalent of Marmite. You'll either love it or hate it. Me, I hate Marmite but I Love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different but rewarding, 20 Sep 2007
Although his solo albums have enjoyed fine reviews some people still expect Knopfler, after thirty years in the business, to sound like Dire Straits. And that's always surprised me. As much as I love classics such as `Sultans of Swing' and `Telegraph Road', those days are gone and it's nice to hear his writing explore new perspectives.

Kill to Get Crimson's general mood has Celtic tendencies, so don't be surprised if you hear the odd fiddle, flute or accordion amidst the instrumentation. But if you think that might put you off, don't - many of Knopfler's trademarks remain. Although there is no blazing `Speedway at Nazareth' rock soundtrack here, there's lots of exquisite guitar work, which, thanks to the smaller band ensemble, allows Knopfler's work to shine through with greater prominence. Dire Straits fans will relish `Punish the Monkey' and `We Can Get Wild' more than the rest of the album, however, it's the diversity of the album that impresses most.

Knopfler's writing is particularly strong with insightful, intelligent lyrics throughout that when, combined with his genial baritone voice and the right musical setting, have a quasi-novelist sensibility. Here, you'll find wonderful narratives about painting and poetry, character sketches, and even a simple love song (`True Love Will Never Fade'), that plays, as Scott Holter rightly said, `like an anthology of written works, each personification crisp in definition, every story exquisitely told'.

For those still desperately looking for more Sultans of Swing thrills, this isn't going to set their world on fire. The album's profundity is where the greatest rewards lie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, 13 Sep 2010
By 
P. A. Ioannou (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (MP3 Download)
What a gem. Great story-telling songs that all belong together to create a great album. Top notch production and arrangements. Superb musicianship, as usual, and the best vocal performance yet from Mark.
I read complaints here that he's too laid back but that is his style and, really, always has been. Listen to the first, and best, Dire Straits album and hear how different it is to the rest of their work. Dire Straits got caught up in the whole 80's cd sales boom and stadium rock thing like a lot of artists at that time. Many of them started writing loud, anthemic songs designed to get 50,000 people clapping and singing together but ultimately the commercially oriented songs quickly lose their appeal. Artists like Springsteen and Bowie produced multi-million selling records and played to huge crowds but that period is easily their worst in terms of creativity. A lot of people still want Springsteen to re-hash Born in the USA over and over and it's the same story with Mark Knopfler and Money for Nothing. Those days are over and thank God they're not coming back. Please accept it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnificient - but give it time !!!, 2 Oct 2007
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (Audio CD)
I hated this album at first, and I posted a bad review on this site, review which I since deleted. Reason is I changed my mind totally! After 3 listenings, this turned out to be a beautiful collection of songs by Mark. I am an early fan and was at first disappointed at the lack of guitar pieces on this album, but he has come up with a strong set of nice melodies, most of them quite slow, but rich in atmosphere. He has got this incredible voice that gets mellower with age, like whisky in fact ! Maybe he has realised he does not need to show off on the guitar and he now concentrates on the singing and song writing. I don't know, actually I have not yet watched the DVD that comes with it, maybe he explains.
Anyway, my word to you, all Mark Fans, is: BUY THIS CD AND LISTEN TO IT AT LEAST 3 TIMES BEFORE JUDGING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 22 May 2011
By 
Gary G (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (Audio CD)
I'm surprised at the very mixed reviews for this album on this site. I'm pretty sure that this album would have drawn excellent critical response from people in the press and media (although I've not researched this) and I personally think it is amazing. The music and musicianship is top quality, very subtle but packs a punch at the right moments. I think that it's one that has to be listened to properly a few times to really appreciate but I personally think this is one of M.K's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laid back and solo-less, but not soul-less, 17 Oct 2007
By 
Colin Miller (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (Audio CD)
As a fan of Knopfler's music for over 20 years, the 5th solo album was an instant 'must buy'. Its the most laid back of all the albums and Dire Straits fans (yes, they are different from Mark Knopfler fans) may moan about the lack of any guitar solos. Nothing like 'What It Is' or other strat-cracking guitars on this.

What is does have 'tho, is lots of stories...songs that when you take the time to listen a few times and let them soak in, you are rewarded with the pictures and scenes that Mark paints in his songs.

Its not my favourite MK album and I would have liked to see more of a mix of songs, some more upbeat songs with those trademark and well known guitar licks, but if you take the time, it delivers, as Knopfler regularly does, clever lyrics and stories in a depth that most pop/rock songs never reach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploring new directions but the MK signature remains, 18 Sep 2007
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (Audio CD)
Although his solo albums have enjoyed fine reviews some people still expect Knopfler, after thirty years in the business, to sound like Dire Straits. And that's always surprised me. As much as I love classics such as `Sultans of Swing' and `Telegraph Road', those days are gone and it's nice to hear his writing explore new perspectives.

Kill to Get Crimson's general mood has Celtic tendencies, so don't be surprised if you hear the odd fiddle, flute or accordion amidst the instrumentation. But if you think that might put you off, don't - many of Knopfler's trademarks remain. Although there is no blazing `Speedway at Nazareth' rock soundtrack here, there's lots of exquisite guitar work, which, thanks to the smaller band ensemble, allows Knopfler's work to shine through with greater prominence. Dire Straits fans will relish `Punish the Monkey' and `We Can Get Wild' more than the rest of the album, however, it's the diversity of the album that impresses most.

Knopfler's writing is particularly strong with insightful, intelligent lyrics throughout that when, combined with his genial baritone voice and the right musical setting, have a quasi-novelist sensibility. Here, you'll find wonderful narratives about painting and poetry, character sketches, and even a simple love song (`True Love Will Never Fade'), that plays, as Scott Holter rightly said, `like an anthology of written works, each personification crisp in definition, every story exquisitely told'.

For those still desperately looking for more Sultans of Swing thrills, this isn't going to set their world on fire. The album's profundity is where the greatest rewards lie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album ever, 17 Nov 2007
By 
J. Herman "Arnèz" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (Audio CD)
This is the best album by Mark Knopfler so far!! The album is even better than Sailing to Philadelphia! Mark can create a mystic and unic atmosphere. He has his own style. You can easily recognise his sound from other guitarists.
Don't judge too early, give it some time! when you listened to it three times, real fans should be convinced! Way to go, Mark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delicate Touch, 2 Dec 2007
This review is from: Kill To Get Crimson (Audio CD)
You can't go anywhere else on the planet to hear such delicate artistry from the guitar. This is a very folky album from Mark, with tracks that are filled with a subtle touch that only MK can deliver. The CD is a grower and has been produced with a soft touch that showcases a real purity of guitar tone that I personally adore. There is no-one else I know of that can produe so much from the guitar with so few notes. I'm looking forward to the live show next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill To Get Crimson
Kill To Get Crimson by Mark Knopfler (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews