Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 January 2016
This is a rather surreal, magical, comedy, horror film. I know that seems a rather strange thing to say; the opening involves a man calmly putting the phone down and shooting a member of the undead (or "returners", as he calls them) in the head and then carrying on with his call.

------(some small) spoilers-------

The film (seems to) tell the story of Francesco Dellamorte (Everett), a watchman of the cemetery (although everyone else calls him the "engineer") in the small Italian town of Buffalora. There, for reasons never quite explained, the dead come back to life after a few days. Dellamorte's job is to dispense with the troublesome wanderers, which he does in a calm, undramatic, style. Just a man doing his job....at least to begin with...I won't give away the whole story - I hate reviews that do that - however, there is a (recurring) "love" story and a smart, comedic, tone throughout. The camera work involves some great "creepy cemetry" shots and there is a fair bit of, non-exploitative, gore (we are dealing with the undead, after all), however, it still has a feeling, somehow, of a magical, darkly comical, fairy tale, but, no, we are not in Tim Burton territory!

Everett is outstanding as the stoical, sardonic, hero(?). He brings a wonderful, credible, mix of no nonsense action man, romance and weariness to the lead. I wish he had done more work like this, although maybe there IS no more work like this!?

The most enjoyable character for me, however, is his loyal side-kick Gnaghi (as Everett says in the film; "poor Gnaghi, on his ID card it says; "distinctive physical marks: All""), who manages to develop real depth and pathos in his role with a vocabulary that seems to consist of nothing more than the word; "Nyah" (I think). Although he does get one line of dialogue at the very end. He steals the show.

Is the whole thing meant to be a dream? A dark fairy tale, of sorts? No idea, to be honest. But it captivated me. (I went looking for an explanation afterwards and found the one in the link below....who knows.....)

I'm sure this film will not be for everyone (what film is?) but this one gets my vote for originality, style, fun and sense of strangeness, without being too "arty" (ah! I nearly got to the end without using that word! Sorry)

Recommended.

http://cinematologist.blogspot.co.uk/2009/03/dellamorte-dellamore-1994-explained.html
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
A beginners guide to avoiding a zombie apocalypse. Johnny Walker is a fine co star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
This is a little surreal but is a very clever and interesting film. Lead and supporting character are all well depicted and the black humour is always in the background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
A Dreadful film but if you are a collector of these old titles a must !! Great if you have a vintage Horror collection!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Judging from the reviews and the price of a used DVD, this movie is a border line cult classic. It is a must see for any Zombie movie fan. The movie is Italian, however this movie, in spite of the reviews, is not to horror movies what Trinity is to Westerns. The movie has a two or three classic scenes which has placed it in this status. Outside of those scenes, the movie is strictly B grade horror, non cult classic. Cemetery man kills zombies in a very nonchalant fashion after the dead become re-animated and sometimes knock on his door. Zombies are killed in the true classic fashion (head shot only).

Cemetery man has a mute side kick who looks like Curly Joe, except is a lot dumber. Like Stan (Southpark) he gets violently ill near a pretty girl. Plot Spoiler? The cult classic scene is when the mute side kick has the head of his zombie girlfriend mounted inside his broken TV set. For some reason she can talk and other zombies are mute. There is nudity as Cemetery man makes love to a woman on her husband's grave, who then becomes re-animated. The bodies of these women are all 10's. They are Italy's answer to Denise Richards.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
THIS MOVIE WAS OK, BUT I WOULD NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE AGAIN, I'M NOT GOING TO THROW IT AWAY, LIKE THE COVER. HAVING SEX IN A CEMETARY IS NOT A TURN ON.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Invite a few friends around,have a good drink,then sit back and enjoy....Absolutely love this movie to bits.Definitely NOT your average Zombie movie :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
Dellamorte Dellamore is one of those films that the director Michele Soavi is best known for. And not without a reason, since this is a film that is delightfully unique and strange. Rubert Everett is Francesco Dellamorte, an undertaker who works at a cemetary where people just won't stay dead. Togerher with his assistant Gnaghi he is doomed to kill the dead while trying to find the woman of his dreams... Dellamorte Dellamore aka The Cemetary Man is a different kind of a zombie film. Soavi has created a world that is absurd, grotesque and filled with dark humor. One of the best - if not THE best - italian horror films from the 90's.

Shameless has made an excellent job bringing this film on DVD, with lots of neat extras, excellent image quality and optional italian audio. If you're looking to buy this film, the Shameless DVD release is definitely the way to go!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
Cemetery Man from Italian director Michele soavi was quite a unique zombie film, I don't think that there's ever been a film like this before. This was the first movie of his that I actually got to see. Since, I have seen "The Church" and "Stagefright", but I still haven't seen "The Sect" (aka The Devil's Daughter). Soavi has wonderful vision and cinematic pacing. You can definitely see Argento's influence on him and I think he has the talent to be even better than Dario, but unfortunately it wasn't meant to be. The story's about Francesco Dellamorte (played by Rupert Everett) who is a caretaker at a small cemetery in which it's newly deceased occupants sometimes come back to life as `returners'. Dellamorte must kill these zombies off when they come back, and stop them from spreading their disease of rotting flesh and nastiness throughout the land. Is it the start of an invasion, a plague maybe? "Who knows, and in the end who cares....I'm just doing my job" as Francesco likes to say. It was also based on a popular Italian comic book Dylan Dog.

There are many reasons why this is such a brilliant film, you've got zombies, hot women, comedy, murderous rampages, dead boy scouts, and finding the edge of the universe...this movie has it all. No movie that I have ever seen has had such random and simply to-die-for content. What's really satisfying about this movie is the fact that when you first watch it, you think it's just another zombie flick, riddled with one-liners and skull-popping head shots...but after a few minutes, you realize that you've stumbled across something much more. You begin to realize that the zombie story is simply a backdrop for something much larger.

First off, the camera work is truly masterful. There are many nice shots that are seemingly out of place in this type of flick, but it helps at to the atmosphere which this movie has buckets off. It helps add to the overall spooky European feel to the cemetery. Soavi put a lot of emotion into this film and it goes against the traditional zombie theme, which focuses on stopping the living dead, but rather concerns itself with how one can conquer life. The "returners" are just obstacles in Francesco's nightmarish world. Little reminders of his fears and troubles. He cannot escape his problem even when he tries. He must conquer his own life, before moving on. Does he??? I won't tell. This movie will really make you think and you will probably have to watch it a few times before its sinks in. Besides all the gore and nudity we also have some black humor moments especially with Francisco's mentally handicapped assistant played by François Hadji-Lazaro who ends up marrying a decapitated head. It was both weird and wonderful but it's also an acquired taste. I highly recommend this to Italian horror fans ENJOY!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)