Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally Original
I'm unable to classify Robert Wyatt - it's jazzy, poppy, mellow and all sung with those wonderful vocals. With contributions from first class musicians like Brian Eno & Gilad Atzmon, the music floats and shimmers, but never gets dull and never gets repetitive. The sparse lyrics are intruiging.

A true original.
Published on 23 Oct 2007 by The Soft Machine Operator

versus
14 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical Englishness meets sun-drenched Latino workouts
Robert Wyatt has always been a bit of an oddity. Born English but always a globetrotter, he was the singing drummer for late sixties prog-rockers Soft Machine. After falling out of a window and rendering himself paraplegic, he concentrated on a politically-orientated solo career, gaining particular praise for his melancholy cover of Elvis Costello's Falklands War anthem,...
Published on 3 Oct 2007 by C. O'Brien


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally Original, 23 Oct 2007
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comicopera (Audio CD)
I'm unable to classify Robert Wyatt - it's jazzy, poppy, mellow and all sung with those wonderful vocals. With contributions from first class musicians like Brian Eno & Gilad Atzmon, the music floats and shimmers, but never gets dull and never gets repetitive. The sparse lyrics are intruiging.

A true original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mixed (not patchy), wacky and brilliant, 26 Jan 2012
By 
enthusiast "enthusiast" (sussex, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Comicopera (Audio CD)
Some reviewers here don't get this CD and OK it is not at all commercial. But it is brilliant. It is an album of real variety and doesn't hold together in the way that most alternative albums do but nearly every song is effective and more than one or two are seriously powerful. The pairing of A Beautiful War and Out Of The Blue about two thirds of the way through is devastating and represents a most powerful and imaginative musical political comment on the wars on Iraq and Afghanistan and on being on the receiving end of war in general. All very vivid and fresh with not a cliche in sight. This music is refreshingly real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the one thing you can really be sure with a new wyatt album is it's going to be great, 6 Oct 2007
This review is from: Comicopera (Audio CD)
and this is no exception! i was sad to see that some-one had posted a 3-star review before it's been released, so i thought i'd write telling people not to panic

i'm listening to this album as i write, and it's nearly over and i can honestly say it's been very enjoyable. any-one who's listened to robert's music will know it quite hard to talk about as the music is so original and different...but you should certainly expect the unexpected, as with most wyatt albums!

To get to the point thought, certainly an album worth buying if your a robert wyatt fan, a welcome refreshment to the commercial annoyance's i'm used to hearing when i turn on the radio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical Englishness meets sun-drenched Latino workouts, 3 Oct 2007
By 
C. O'Brien (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comicopera (Audio CD)
Robert Wyatt has always been a bit of an oddity. Born English but always a globetrotter, he was the singing drummer for late sixties prog-rockers Soft Machine. After falling out of a window and rendering himself paraplegic, he concentrated on a politically-orientated solo career, gaining particular praise for his melancholy cover of Elvis Costello's Falklands War anthem, Shipbuilding.

Comicopera is his first album for Arctic Monkeys label Domino, and it's a strange, sprawling affair. Split into three "acts" named "Lost in Noise", "A Beautiful Peace" and "Away With the Fairies", it contains music as weird as you'd expect from this long-time maverick.

Some of the best moments are whimsically English: the delightful trumpet-and-bass led AWOL tells a Syd Barrett-esque kind of story in whirling 6/8 time ("the tick and the tock of the damnable clock....waving at trains that no longer run"). The engagingly amateurish A Beautiful War and the wheezy Mob Rule, though they last barely over two minutes each, have ample time to cast their weird little spells. Other songs involve contributions from his wife Alfreda Benge, notable imagineer Brian Eno, his ex-Roxy Music cohort Phil Manzanera and from Paul Weller.

Act 3 contains several fairly endless Latin-flavoured wigouts that may provide a bit of sunshine but ultimately tend towards the tedious - especially the seven-and-a-half-minute Cancion de Julieta and the desperately dull percussion-led Pastafari.

Wyatt himself says the album is about "human foibles" - and that's probably the best way to describe its musical content. Odd but interesting.

first published at subba-cultcha.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmm, 21 Oct 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comicopera (Audio CD)
Bit of a parson's egg this I think. Here and there some inventive and original lyrics; a voice that ranges from bland and incomprehesible to occasionally rich and subtle; moments of surprising and engaging musicality and much endless tedious meandering. I didn't hate it - but it won't be making very frequent excursions out of the CD cabinet, I'm afraid. I have always liked the "idea" of Robert Wyatt a lot more than the actual stuff he produces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good one, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Comicopera (Audio CD)
co-mic opera , variaions on a wyatt, more sounds to move you, and now the word is spread (un)thanks to them that do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rambling man !, 11 Dec 2007
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Comicopera (Audio CD)
Much as I like Robert Wyatt as a man for his political beliefs and struggle to overcome adversity his music oevre leaves me somewhat underwhelmed.
The lispy..or should that be lithpy weak warbling voice takes some getting used to but despite the impressive production team behind him,the whole edifice is like an allotment shed rather than the substantial house of music it should be. Rambling,discordant,fractured and forever going down blind alleys.
My downloaded album was filed in the bin after a few takes because I knew I'd never listen to it again and I couldn't think of anyone I knew who would appreciate it.
Cruel I know but appropriate in the circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comicopera
Comicopera by Robert Wyatt (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews